We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious hosts and lovely location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Loyalist Peter Secord Inn c.1782

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
American Loyalist Peter Secord Inn c.1782
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gracious hosts and lovely location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We booked a 3 day stay at this beautiful inn, based on the reviews found on this site. We were not disappointed. In fact, we were impressed with every aspect of our get-away. Harry and Cole are the epitome of graciousness. They are attentive and thoughtful, and take great care in catering to the needs of their guests. If you have an appreciation for history, specifically the restoration of historical dwellings, you will be astounded by the loving work that has gone into this house. It is situated on a busy street, yet the thick walls keep out most of the traffic noise. Rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed, with comfortable bed and sitting areas. A generous and delicious breakfast is served in the dining room, and the food keeps on coming! Our hosts provided us with plenty of information and recommendations for things to do and see in the area, and were eager to supply information based on our individual needs. Thank you, Cole and Harry - your home provided us with the restful time away that we were looking for, and we hope to come back again and again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndreasThiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our week cycling around the Greater Niagara Circle Route. Our younger daughter was learning more about the War of 1812 on this trip. Peter Secord was the uncle of Laura Secord's husband and the first United Empire Loyalist to move up from the states after the American revolution.

Harry Murdoch (he and his wife Colette are the owners) is hugely knowledgeable about history and just talking with him adds a great deal to the experience. Harry grew up in this house, and moved away and then bought the house back, and he and Cole spent several years renovating and restoring it - ask to look at the photograph album documenting the restoration.

We are excited that they are currently renovating the basement, to provide a family size bedroom that will accommodate more than two people.

What else to say? Do ask for complementary tasting vouchers - Ravine Winery is a must visit place for lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ecologyprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is one of my favourIte B &B's.
It is about 15 minutes from the Shaw festival in Niagara on the Lake and well situated if the wineries are the point of your visit.
The owners are totally delightful. They ask about any food allergies or preferences as well as any special needs or likes for the room .... Such as extra pillows or blankets.
The bedrooms are lovely and have everything that I like: two bedside lamps, excellent quality bedlinen, enough seating so no one need sit on the bed!
The whole house is a treat. It is immaculate throughout. The living room and inviting and has interesting books and a photo album of the restoration (lovingly and meticulously done by the owners- Harry and Collette!
Niagara on the Lake is a very lovely town but it is full of tourists. The restaurants, in my opinion, are mostly mediocre and overpriced. St. David's is a perfect solution to avoiding that.
There are several very good restaurants including the Old Firehall which is within two blocks of the B&B.
And, speaking of food, the breakfasts at the B&B are phenomenal.
Collette is a fantastic cook. Her breakfasts are all homemade with great ingredients. You will not get frozen continental type breakfasts - not in this household! Fresh fruits, yogurts, muffins,
scones, a hot plate such as omelet(changes every day),juice, delicious coffee. You will want to go back just for the breakfast!
You can have complete privacy here, or y can start a conversation with Harry or Collette and they will be happy to share some time with you.

This is the first choice of a B&B for me!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OntarioEnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

First time staying at Peter Secord House and certainly look forward to visiting again. Room was excellent as was the wonderful breakfast each day. Hosts can not do enough to make your stay the best it can be, from inquiring about allegies to places you would like to visit. Harry knowledge of the history of the area is interesting and informative,we could have spent more time conversing with them. We felt like old friends at the end of our weekend. We have been spreading the word since to friends visiting the Niagara area. We certainly would visit again

Room Tip: either room would be fine, both quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a superb bed and breakfast. We have never stayed at a better one. The house is beautiful and the guest accommodation is spacious, private and very comfortable. The breakfasts on both days we stayed were plentiful and beautifully prepared and served. They included wonderful local fruits and vegetables. The hosts paid great attention to their guests' needs and were sensitive to possible allergies or preferences.
This is a wonderful place from which to explore this fascinating historical and very pretty area. The hosts are knowledgeable about the local history, wineries and restaurants and could not be more helpful or friendly.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter which room you choose, they are both very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DragonOntario_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We just returned from our third stay at the American Loyalist Peter Secord Inn and can't wait for our next trip to the region and our fourth stay there. Collette and Harry are wonderful hosts who make you feel as though you are old friends who've stopped by. Their knowledge of the area is excellent, as are the breakfasts and the rooms. Talking with Harry about the history of the area is a treat that is not to be missed. We recommend this gem of a B & B to anyone who is planning a trip to the area.

John & Margaret Hnat

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnHnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

From the moment you step inside the American Loyalist Peter Secord Inn you are transported back in time to 1782. Yet there is so much more to this beautifully restored home.
Harry and Collette are amazing hosts who are friends by the time you leave. The food is amazing and the rooms are spotless and quite comfortable.
This was our second visit and it was just as wonderful as the first.
We feel that it's the best Bed & Breakfast we have ever stayed in!!!!

Room Tip: Both rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dollyfife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Green Oaks B&B
Green Oaks B&B
#61 of 182 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
3.0 mi away
A La Gallarie Bed and Breakfast
A La Gallarie Bed and Breakfast
#169 of 182 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
7.3 mi away
Brock Hollow B&B
Brock Hollow B&B
#88 of 182 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Woodbourne Inn
Woodbourne Inn
#18 of 182 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
6.9 mi away
St. Andrews House Bed & Breakfast
St. Andrews House Bed & Breakfas...
#79 of 182 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
6.9 mi away
Paris House Bed & Breakfast
Paris House Bed & Breakfast
#123 of 182 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Loyalist Peter Secord Inn c.1782? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Loyalist Peter Secord Inn c.1782

Property: American Loyalist Peter Secord Inn c.1782
Address: 215 Four Mile Creek Rd | St. Davids, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario LOS 1PO, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — American Loyalist Peter Secord Inn c.1782 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HRS, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your American Loyalist Peter Secord Inn c.1782 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing