We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Week end this year”
Review of Via Veneto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Via Veneto
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Week end this year”
Reviewed May 13, 2009

It was a great weekend one because it was our anniversery, two because we stayed in a beautiful Itaian home, hosted by two very warm and inviting people. They were very helpful before our trip in the planning of where to eat...things to see...The breakfast was so plentiful and tasteful that we omiited lunch. It is in a nice quite area with a little bakery (that my husband discovered ) across the street. We took our bikes and had wondrful rides down back streets that you never notice.. We are both looking forward to our next visit in July.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathrynhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    15
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
164
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2009

The place is dainty and charming, very warm environment. The hosts are wonderful and serve the most delicious breakfasts!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimikush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maple
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2009

This was our first Bed & Breakfast,,But not knowing what to expect, we were simply "WOW", Right from the moment of booking, ,Maria made us feel so at ease,, When we arrived, right away we noticed the nicely manicured grounds.. We had chose the Verona suite,, when we saw the Canapé bed, with the crisp Linen sheets, and everything so immaculately clean,, We were so very happy and greatful that we had made the right choice. But, it wasn't until the amazing breakast cooked by a retired professional chef',, which so happens to be Maria's husband ,, that we knew that not only were we going to be back again and again, but we were going to definitely referring the "Via Veneto " to our families and friends, so that they may experience the same "WOW",,Thank you and see you soon

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toniMaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2009

My wife and I spent a 2 night romantic get-away to celebrate our 15th anniversary and we could not have been happier with our decision to stay at the Via Veneto. The room we had was very clean and beautifully decorated. The bed was also more comfortable than our own back home. The B&B is located about a 10 minute walk from the Old Town so there is no need to drive your car. Maria, our host, was also very helpful in giving us ideas for places to visit during our stay.

Our attraction to Via Veneto was from the reviews we read about the wonderful breakfasts served. Oh boy were those reviewes spot on. Maria's husband, Joe, who is a retired professional chef made us the most incredible breakfast you can imagine. It started out with cold items, such as fresh fruits, yogurt with homemade sauces, italian ham, cheeses, breads. This was followed by hot items, such as italian sausage, potatoes, and the main dish: "the eggs". The eggs were definately the highlight of the breakfast. The first day was a ham, mushroom and spinach omelette and the second day we had egg florentine. This was followed by dessert. Simply divine. The table was overflowing with food. We had to hurry up and hit the road for home right after breakfast on the second morning and Maria helped pack a goody bag of all the leftovers we couldn't eat.

During breakfast we had great conversation with Maria and Joe who shared their life experiences with us. I was amazed at their life journey and the sacrifices they've made to get where they are today. They are amazing people and they have one gem of a B&B on NOTL.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dayswarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Ny
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

We just needed a quiet getaway and were so happy we chose Via Veneto. You will never find a cleaner bed and breakfast. So tastefully decorated - "less is more." This place is pure class. The bed was so comfortable and the sheets are so nice. Maria and Joe are wonderful hosts. The breakfast was nothing less than outstanding and our conversation was delightful. Treat yourself to the best!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Via Veneto during our weekend trip to Niagara on the Lake (NOTL). The house itself is quite small, but it has been newly renovated and everything is clean and modern.

The location of Via Veneto is excellent; it is close enough to the Old Historic Town that it is possible to leave the car parked and walk to the Town (about 5 blocks away). Of course, like most other B&Bs in NOTL, it is about a 10 minute drive away from numerous wineries.

We stayed in the Amaryllis Room, which is one of two bedrooms at the front of the house (the other is the Sunflower Room). The Oleander Room is next to the Amaryllis Room, but faces the back of the house. The Amaryllis Room was clean, comfortable, and well appointed with its four-poster bed and dark wood furniture. The bathroom had a shower stall, which suited our needs just fine.

The breakfast was enormous. A cold buffet started things off (breads, muffins, fruit, cold cuts, cheese, juice, tea/coffee). This was followed by the hot breakfast (omlette, hash brown, peppers), and dessert (fruit flan with strawberries). Needless to say, we were stuffed by the time the meal was done!

Overall, we found this B&B was comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Liked — Delicious breakfast, and newly renovated accommodations.
  • Disliked — The air got a bit hot and stale at night; we had to open a window to get some fresh air circulating.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laiyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Via Veneto for three nights during the summer of 2007. We had a very good experience.

The host and hostess were very friendly. We didn't feel as if we were invading someone's home, but rather were treated courteously and professionally. (The couple who run the Via Veneto live elsewhere, but arrive early each day to prepare breakfast and clean, etc.) The rooms were nicely decorated and immaculate. There were no problems showering, and the beds were quite comfortable. The breakfasts were terrific - well beyond what you'd normally expect - as they were cooked by the hostess' husband, who is a professional chef. They offered a wide selection of fresh seasonal items, and were happy to accommodate dietary restrictions.

Parking was no issue. However, the house is a good ten minutes' walk to the downtown strip. We didn't mind, but it's something to be aware of. On the other hand, the neighborhood was extremely quiet. Others have mentioned noise from the other guests; we didn't notice any, and I'm fairly fussy about these things. Granted, there is always a risk that your neighbors will be rude and boisterous, but I can't imagine that this is a large risk, or more of a risk than in any other B&B.

If you're looking for a quiet, clean, comfortable, no-hassle place to stay with a terrific breakfast, Via Veneto fits the bill.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ottawa_Couple_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
#78 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
#31 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antique Slumber B&B
Antique Slumber B&B
#33 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Historic Lyons House
Historic Lyons House
#39 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast
John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Brea...
#44 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Via Veneto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Via Veneto

Property: Via Veneto
Address: 215 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Via Veneto 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Via Veneto - New Bed & Breakfast in Niagara on the Lake - Old Town. 5-7 min walk to Queen St. Simple and elegant rooms with private ensuites and Egyptian cotton bedding. Breakfast prepare by profesional chef - we are famous for our breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Via Veneto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing