We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint B&B with friendly host and a great breakfast”
Review of Green Oaks B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Green Oaks B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2009

This B&B is well run with clean, well equipped rooms (with private bathrooms), yet dressed up authentically as you would expect a pottery-barn home to look. The owner was very friendly and considerate to our needs, and her breakfast's are amazing! She introduced us to the wide world of Maple syrup. The B&B is a stone's throw from an excellent bakery/restaurant where you can get an excellent lunch, a 'pub' like restaurant, and a couple of stores. The town of Niagara-on-the-Lake itself is about 11km away, so don't expect to just walk into town. However, this place is excellent to base yourself from when making a wine tour through the country, or of-course when going to visit the falls.

The rooms are equipped with TV and airconditioners, as well as central heating radiators. However, when we were there the weather was quite chilly, and we noted that in the winter the rooms must cold. The rooms have an attached private bathroom, quite spacious, with in our case a shower.
Wifi is available throughout the property, with an internet computer downstairs. Brochures of the local area are provided, as are wine-flight tasting vouchers to try at some of the various wineries around the area. We can highly recommend Hillebrand, where the staff are very knowledgeable and happy to advice on what wines you may enjoy.
Be warned, if you are very allegic to cats, the owner keeps two in her home. I myself am allergic, but as she keeps the place extremely clean, I had absolutely no problem staying here.

This place is great for a break away. It isn't something for a romantic honeymoon or something as grandeous as that, its more basic and honest and in that way has its own special charm.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johno.franklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 115 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2009

This was the first time my husband and I stayed in a B&B; what a great experience! The food was great and Trish was a very gracious host. She had a lot of information on things to do in town and as a bonus, her place is within walking distance of a wonderful bakery. Trish's breakfasts were also fabulous!!! Everything was fresh, even the eggs from her hens! To top it off, before we left Trish's to get on the road and travel to Toronto, she helped us get directions online and print them from her computer.

Definitely choose to stay here if you're in the Niagara area.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

We only had a short amount of time to enjoy this delightful area, but we were so fortunate to have found Trish and her hidden gem! We can't say enough about our experience - the homemade/gourmet breakfasts are top on our list, along with the close proximity to exceptional and beautiful wineries. Two of our favorites were Angel's Gate and Vineland Estates. In town, the views of the lake are fantastic! We loved our walks on the quaint streets, both day and night, of Niagara On the Lake. We also enjoyed a great dinner at the Ginger Restaurant. The short stay was made even more perfect when we met Michael Olson, who has just opened a bakery/luncheon/winery behind the Green Oaks Inn. Visit all of them - you will be enchanted!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

This B&B is relatively "young" compared to the others in the area, but will certainly be around for years to come. Trish has a wealth of experience in the hospitality industry and already serves on the board for local B&B owners. We know this from one of the many discussions she took to have with us.

We loved our comfortable room and really enjoyed relaxing on the front porch enjoying the warm Ontario summer. Attracted to this B&B by the promise of a gourmet breakfast we were not disappointed. I even got to enjoy the first eggs from her very own hens.

Niagara Falls is only about 20 minutes away and NOTL is maybe only 15. A great location with a convenience store within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank luckychris101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2008

We enjoyed our stay so much at this B&B in Niagara. Everything was wonderful. The breakfast was special and home made and delicious, though I must admit, it was difficult to get out of those incredibly comfortable beds. I think I had the best sleep in my life at the Green Oaks! The house is so cozy, and Trish, our host, so welcoming, that even if you have never experienced a B&B before, you can't help but feel at ease and at home. Location wise, it was perfect. Almost centered between the beautiful Niagara on the Lake town and the scenic Niagara Falls. As a wine lover, over looking a vineyard was very interesting. It was a beautiful destination for my family to visit and we would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KanataSmitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2008

When we arrived here, we were a little taken back by the lack of curb appeal. The porch was great for sitting but needs some TLC in regards to furniture/cushions/appeal to the guests. The rooms were comfortable; breakfasts were tasty - Trish is a great bread maker! The availability of the internet for guests is a plus as well.

Few comments - should not serve breakfast barefooted; muffins or breads to go should be packaged in plastic wrap or baggies; provide typewritten directions to the falls or other attractions - this would be a great help to visitors.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank srminnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2008

My b/f and I stayed at the Green Oaks B&B for 1 night and it was wonderful. At first we weren't sure how much we would like staying at a B&B but Trish made us feel right at home. We were the only couple staying at the B&B that night so Trish gave us a choice of whatever room we wanted. It was really cool that she gave us a choice to upgrade to a nicer room (and at no extra charge) than the one we had reserved. The bed was comfortable, the decor and bathroom were nicely decorated and we had a great view from our window. I also liked that the B&B had a computer for the visitors to use very convienant. For breakfast woke up to great smelling breads and coffee. Trish puts on a great spread and she told us that most of the ingredients are freshly grown from her garden. We had great conversation and she gave us lots of tips for our trip. All in all our first B&B experience was great and I look forward to visiting Niagara on the lake and staying at the Green Oaks Inn.....can't wait!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
2.1 mi away
Chalet Bed and Breakfast
Chalet Bed and Breakfast
#30 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Woodbourne Inn
Woodbourne Inn
#16 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
139 reviews
6.8 mi away
Antique Slumber B&B
Antique Slumber B&B
#35 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
As You Like It B&B
As You Like It B&B
#58 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
70 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Red Coat
The Red Coat
#1 of 2 in Queenston
139 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cape House Bed and Breakfast
Cape House Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Oaks B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Oaks B&B

Address: 1376 York Road | St David's, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $122 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Oaks B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you to Niagara-on-the-Lake and to our bed and breakfast. We sit on the edge of Ravine Winery (walk out my back yard into the vineyards and follow them to the restaurant/deli and winery). Also in the area Chateau Des Charmes winery and/Coyote Run Winery. Both are just a km away - just a few of the many wineries the region has to offer. Niagara Falls is a 15 minute drive. Enjoy the Gardens, or do as we do have a coffee/wine on the porch and watch the cyclists go by. We are located on a popular cycling route.We would love to welcome you with your pet however we have 2 cats that think they run the place. Lets talk about it before you bring your pets. For those with allergies, my cats are not allowed in the guest rooms, one is an outside one, the other well she just likes that I run a bed and breakfast. Smoking is not allowed in the house but please feel free to smoke on the porch or in the gardens. Please just remember to use ashtrays. We are a short drive (10 minutes) to Niagara Falls (and all the attractions - Maid of the Mist, Buttery Fly Avery) and to Old Town with the great shopping and the Shaw Theatre. Wine tours can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Green Oaks B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing