We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green Oaks is a perfect location”
Review of Green Oaks B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Green Oaks B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was our first visit to Canada and the setting at Green Oaks was so peaceful after having stayed in the Toronto region. The chickens in the yard, the winery at the rear and the lovely restored house with its porch was just the place for us to relax at in-between our touring of the Niagara region. Trish was so friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were just superb with the fresh produce from the garden. The fresh eggs were soooo good. The bed was enormous and the room very tastefully decorated. Do hope that we manage to visit again one day - all the way from 'Bonnie Scotland'. Thanks Trish for a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronaFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 116 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our quick stop over at Green Oaks was a delightful one. Trish, the owner, was incredibly informative before our stay and just a treat during our stay. The room was clean and well decorated. The property is in a great location. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Trish:

Thank you for an amazing stay. I loved the country setting with big spaces and clean air.
We have stayed in many B&B's. We have never eaten that good. The eggs come from your farm, how great is that? The muffins were fresh and hot, but the food was unique and really good.

Our bed was comfortable, the bathroom and room was spotless. The living area was spacious and comfortable to hang out in. And you were a riot. The stories were fun. Did you really ride a bike from Canada to San Fran?

The house is a work in progress, but it is large and very nice. The rooms and bathrooms are all updated. We will come back.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms. Ask for a room with a King Bed. The other room has a smaller bed, but it is sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Prior to staying at Green Oaks, my husband and I had never stayed at a B and B and had never been to the Niagara region. We were attending a wedding at a winery, and this Green Oaks is very close to wineries in the region. Trish was very welcoming and helpful. She offered us much helpful advice and suggestions during our stay. Our stay at Green Oaks really did feel like a home away from home. The home has been restored to reflect much of the original charm of the property. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were FABULOUS! She has her own chickens and garden on the property so all of the food is fresh. I would highly recommend staying here. Great experience and great value!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish b, Owner at Green Oaks B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you for staying with me, glad you enjoyed yourself. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This was a wonderful experience for both myself, and my fiancee! The owner of Green Oaks, Trish, was extremely accommodating with our travel arrangements, food allergies and was willing to provide assistance even after checkout.
In all, we received treatment far superior to any hotel, with a home made, fresh "country breakfast" that will keep you satisfied through until dinner!
Our room was clean and relaxing and all in a charming environment, all within a few meters of a well known vineyard.

Room Tip: It's important to explain your needs to the owner (i.e. dietary allergies) to receive the fulles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My family and I love Green Oaks. This was our fourth visit all together, and definitely isn't our last. The location is perfect, the house itself is so cozy and elegant, Trish is amazing and does everything to make sure her guests are happy (such as making breakfasts especially for my mom to suit her many food restrictions), and "the girls" could entertain me, and whichever friend I bring along, for hours. I love Trish's breakfasts! From the muffins to the orange juice to the jam to the eggs benedict/ Belgium waffles/ or whatever else she makes, and it's all fresh, which is amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

It has been my pleasure to see you and your family each year. Thank you for making Green Oaks your family getaway each year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Not sure what to expect not having been to a B&B before. Trish made everything easy for us, helping to plan a wine tour route and helping with restaurant reservations. We stayed over Canada Day and had to contend with a Tragically Hip concert that was adding 20,000 people to a small town core. Trish found us dinner reservations at the Old Winery just when we thought it might be required to travel outside of the area. The B&B is located out of the town center, bordering on the Ravine winery. Nice features include the Maple Room (With its own private hallway), a nice porch to enjoy a glass of wine at the end of the day, and a breakfast that was second to none. Trish was very helpful in planning around my unfortunate nut allergy. Suggest taking advantage of the chauffeured wine tour as other guests raved about it.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thanks for staying it was a pleasure having you here. Wine on the porch is my favorite time of the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Woodbourne Inn
Woodbourne Inn
#15 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
140 reviews
2.3 mi away
As You Like It B&B
As You Like It B&B
#53 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
70 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chalet Bed and Breakfast
Chalet Bed and Breakfast
#30 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Red Coat
The Red Coat
#1 of 2 in Queenston
142 reviews
6.8 mi away
Antique Slumber B&B
Antique Slumber B&B
#31 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
277 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cape House Bed and Breakfast
Cape House Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Oaks B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Oaks B&B

Address: 1376 York Road | St David's, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $121 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Oaks B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you to Niagara-on-the-Lake and to our bed and breakfast. We sit on the edge of Ravine Winery (walk out my back yard into the vineyards and follow them to the restaurant/deli and winery). Also in the area Chateau Des Charmes winery and/Coyote Run Winery. Both are just a km away - just a few of the many wineries the region has to offer. Niagara Falls is a 15 minute drive. Enjoy the Gardens, or do as we do have a coffee/wine on the porch and watch the cyclists go by. We are located on a popular cycling route.We would love to welcome you with your pet however we have 2 cats that think they run the place. Lets talk about it before you bring your pets. For those with allergies, my cats are not allowed in the guest rooms, one is an outside one, the other well she just likes that I run a bed and breakfast. Smoking is not allowed in the house but please feel free to smoke on the porch or in the gardens. Please just remember to use ashtrays. We are a short drive (10 minutes) to Niagara Falls (and all the attractions - Maid of the Mist, Buttery Fly Avery) and to Old Town with the great shopping and the Shaw Theatre. Wine tours can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Green Oaks B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing