We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2days in wine country”
Review of Green Oaks B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Green Oaks B&B
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
1 review
“2days in wine country”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Not sure what to expect not having been to a B&B before. Trish made everything easy for us, helping to plan a wine tour route and helping with restaurant reservations. We stayed over Canada Day and had to contend with a Tragically Hip concert that was adding 20,000 people to a small town core. Trish found us dinner reservations at the Old Winery just when we thought it might be required to travel outside of the area. The B&B is located out of the town center, bordering on the Ravine winery. Nice features include the Maple Room (With its own private hallway), a nice porch to enjoy a glass of wine at the end of the day, and a breakfast that was second to none. Trish was very helpful in planning around my unfortunate nut allergy. Suggest taking advantage of the chauffeured wine tour as other guests raved about it.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Green Oaks B&B, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thanks for staying it was a pleasure having you here. Wine on the porch is my favorite time of the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
65
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2012

You know when you drive in this will be special, her girls (as she calls them) come running to meet you. Trish has chickens (the girls)that she collects the eggs for breakfast. The beds were wonderful as was the breakfast and her history lesson. IT was just lovely, the only thing I can say.

Room Tip: We had the willow
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish b, Owner at Green Oaks B&B, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Peter, Thanks for staying with me. It was great to meet you, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We chose Green Oaks based on the close proximity to the winery where we were getting married, as well as other positive guest reviews. We were so pleased to discover that all of the other great reviews of the Green Oaks were totally accurate, from the warm inviting rooms to the friendly & hospitable hostess (Trish). As it was the night before we eloped, we were hoping that our room would have a romantic element about it-which it did-complete with a cozy king-sized bed, plush bath robes and wine glasses. Not to mention the fresh and delicious breakfast that we were served in the morning accompanied by great coffee and soft music. We felt we couldn't have made a better choice of B&B for our special occasion!

Room Tip: The Willow Room was perfectly romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Great no-fuss B&B, complete with resident chickens & Kira the house cat, who greets each new guest at the door. Trish is an excellent hostess, well-informed about the area with lots of tips about local attractions. Has all kind of info (and coupons for) the local wineries. If she ever decides to get out of the B&B business, she should open a restaurant, as her breakfasts are not to be missed! We especially recommend the Eggs Benedict, to die for! All vegetables come from her garden, she makes homemade jam as well as all the scones, breads, etc that she serves. Her chickens supply all the eggs, too.

Rooms are clean & comfy (we loved the Willows Room), with great updated bathrooms. Grab a cup of coffee and head out to the front porch to enjoy the morning air. As another traveler noted, the B&B is a little outside of the downtown area, but if you plan to go to the Falls and the Welland Canal, her place is very central and you can avoid all the traffic congestion downtown. There are wineries on every corner, and even one you can walk to from her back yard!

Room Tip: Willow Room suited us, beautiful King-size bed and nice bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltded1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Good value place to stay, amenable host and yummy breakfasts. Our 2 small children enjoyed feeding the chickens and the garden was is big enough for them to run around around. I only wish that there had been a kettle in the bedroom though there is a tea/coffee machine in the lounge. The host was even happy to let us use the internet connection in the hallway.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co.galway
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Green oaks b&b was amazing the food, warm welcome, the scenery and trish the lady who ran the b&b was so good to us. We had to get a taxi from niagara to green oaks which was a couple of miles outside niagara on the lake. But next morning she left us in to niagara on the lake for a few hours to look around and collected us again and left us back into niagara to meet our bus at no cost which was so good of her and saved a taxi fare plus we got to see niagara on the lake which is well worth a visit. If ever we go back would stay at the green oaks i would give it 10 out 10 for everthing.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mba56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort-erie
2 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Boyfriend and I went to the Green Oaks Inn for the weekend and found it hard to leave the room. We stayed in the Willow room. The bed as well as the room was so soft and inviting with lush pillows and robes to wrap ourseleves in. The shower lights in the bathroom were a very romantic addition to the already elegant room. The service was amazing, friendly, and welcoming. And the selection of dvds was very handy and made it a more relaxfull stay in the bedroom. I WILL go back again. It was a weekend of absolute tranquility

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
2.6 mi away
South Landing Inn
South Landing Inn
#1 of 1 in Queenston
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Woodbourne Inn
Woodbourne Inn
#13 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
123 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chalet Bed and Breakfast
Chalet Bed and Breakfast
#40 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Red Coat
The Red Coat
#1 of 2 in Queenston
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
American Loyalist Peter Secord Inn c.1782
American Loyalist Peter Secord I...
#111 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
58 reviews
2.7 mi away
On the 6 Bed and Breakfast
On the 6 Bed and Breakfast
#29 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Oaks B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Oaks B&B

Property: Green Oaks B&B
Address: 1376 York Road | St David's, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Oaks B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you to Niagara-on-the-Lake and to our bed and breakfast. We sit on the edge of Ravine Winery (walk out my back yard into the vineyards and follow them to the restaurant/deli and winery). Also in the area Chateau Des Charmes winery and/Coyote Run Winery. Both are just a km away - just a few of the many wineries the region has to offer. Niagara Falls is a 15 minute drive. Enjoy the Gardens, or do as we do have a coffee/wine on the porch and watch the cyclists go by. We are located on a popular cycling route.We would love to welcome you with your pet however we have 2 cats that think they run the place. Lets talk about it before you bring your pets. For those with allergies, my cats are not allowed in the guest rooms, one is an outside one, the other well she just likes that I run a bed and breakfast. Smoking is not allowed in the house but please feel free to smoke on the porch or in the gardens. Please just remember to use ashtrays. We are a short drive (10 minutes) to Niagara Falls (and all the attractions - Maid of the Mist, Buttery Fly Avery) and to Old Town with the great shopping and the Shaw Theatre. Wine tours can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Green Oaks B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing