We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical Christmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cecile's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cecile's House
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical Christmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2010

I recently stayed at this B&B with my partner just before xmas. We were visting family and wanted a night away. I wanted to book the hotel from London and was able to dothis easily enough by emailing Chris, the owner. He replied promptly and even sent an confirming email shortly before the day we were due to arrive.

I was very impressed upon arrival by the home, which was immacuately decorated for the holidays. We werer the only guests but givent eh time of year I did not see this as unusual. We were shown all of the rooms each having it's own character. We were given an upgrade at no extra charge.

In the evening we were able to bring back a bottle of local wine and open it by the fireplace in the livingroom. We sat by the open fire in peace, enjoying a local bottle. There are provisions for such a thing, including glasses and corkscrew in the main hall for guests to use.

I can not say enough how wonderful was the breakfast. Chris also does all the cooking and made a wonderful breakfast of French specialties and a few continental elements. We both ate more than we needed in an attempt to try each of the delicious offerings.

Whislt not so much a foactor for us, for those who are looking for accomodation which is central to the main town, this is a good choice. Short of giving a step by step account of my stay, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cecile's and would pass on teh highest of recommendations.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonViajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    9
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
47
289
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2009

Cecile's House is a charming bed and breakfast. Chris the owner is very personable, helpful and exactly discreet enough to give you the feeling that you are in your own home but have the services of someone great if needed. The rooms are just as pictured on the website, tastefully decorated, very clean and homey feeling. We stayed in the Country Room with its own bath...the bathroom is small and very reminiscent of some european bathrooms we have experienced. However everything you need is there. We had a peek at the French Room one day when it was vacant during our stay. It is adorable and has its own bath located in the hallway. We did not get to see the Masters Suite but I am sure it is quite lovely. Breakfast was a treat and was delicious.....freshly baked croissants and Chris' clafoutis which is an egg dish and absolutely outstanding plus many other items. Niagara on the Lake is a wonderful sleepy town with shopping. good food and of course the wineries....love that Ice Wine ! We would definitely return to Cecile's House when we return to Niagara on the Lake.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

Truth be known, Cercile's House is where I escape (often as possible, in all seasons) for some days of complete pleasure. The rooms are carefully prepared for comfort, with luxurious beds and thoughtful attention to detail -- comfy bath robes, hair dryer, extra toothpast, spring water, a drawer full of chocolates! I can watch late movies on my own slim screen TV, enjoy books from the library shelves, read the morning paper with cafe au lait at my private breakfast table. Chris makes his own croissants, and the most delicious clafoutis. There is a most elegant little bar for wine, and discrete seating areas for my late guests... Now really, is this divine? Yes!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gardenmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

This was our first B&B experience and it exceeded our expectations. If you like old homes and antiques this is for you. Chris thought of everything from items in the room to the great breakfast. at individual tables,however after a few minutes all three tables were chatting. I am already planning for next year,

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rescuev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

This is our 3rd visit to Cecile's House and we have begun to make this a much anticipated annual trip. Chris is a gracious host and his home is beautiful and relaxing. This B&B is ideally situated, on a quiet street yet steps away from the fabulous shops and restaurants of Niagara-On-The-Lake. Chris' breakfasts are legendary! Every morning among the variety of breakfast treats, there are freshly baked scones, chocolate bread and clafoutis. The smells waft up to the rooms early in the morning, encouraging all to get to breakfast as quickly as possible! The house is beautifully appointed, and the rooms are very comfortable. We have stayed in the other rooms but now select the Master Suite so that we have a bit more space and can spread out our luggage and clothes. It is well worth the few extra dollars. It is bittersweet to write this review as the place is already very popular and booked solidly mostly every week. However, we wanted to give accolades where they are due.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2009

This was our fourth stay at Cecile's house which proves that this is a premier Bed and Breakfast. Chris Martineau is a wonderful host and gives 100% in his efforts to ensure our comfort during our stay. The breakfasts he serves are "top-notch". I would highly recommend this B&B for any travelers staying in Niagara-on-the-Lake.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Weezer3803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2009

Chris is a French-trained chef who has worked in Europe, New York and Montreal, and it is Niagara-on-the-Lake's good fortune that he has decided to live there and welcome guests to his charming home. The breakfasts are worth getting out of bed for, especially his made-from-scratch croissant and scones. If you are lucky, you might catch sight of his two lovable pugs. The rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable and he is always ready with suggestions for day trips, reviews of restaurants & wineries and updates on the latest Shaw Theatre productions. We feel really lucky to have discovered this little piece of heaven.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chesternimitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
0.4 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#5 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast
The Butler House Historic Bed an...
#1 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cecile's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cecile's House

Property: Cecile's House
Address: 156 Gate Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned by a French chef and situated on a quiet street in the Heritage district in the heart of historic Niagara-on- the-Lake, Cecile's House Bed & Breakfast has a perfect location. The golf course, Lake Ontario, the famous Oban Inn & Spa, the main street with its shops, restaurants and theaters are just one block away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing