We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Weekend = Perfection”
Review of Cecile's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cecile's House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I returned to Cecile's house for our annual spring date weekend. As soon as we were greeted by Chris we felt so excited to be back and relaxed immediately. The rooms are beautifully decorated and have all of the amenities no matter the season you visit. Soft music plays in the background setting the atmosphere for a cozy experience. Chris is always ready to assist to your questions of places to visit and eat in the town. I never can express enough with the mention of breakfasts served at Cecile's House. Chef Chris sets out the most delicious breakfasts, pastries, clafoutis with fresh fruit and so much more. One of our favourites is the delicious chocolate bread served with fresh coffee and warm milk froth. Cecile's House is situated in the most perfect location, close to the shops, shows and restaurants. Whether you wish to see a show, golf, shop, bike or walk, there is no more lovely home to enjoy your get away than Cecile's House. It is simply perfection.

Room Tip: Advise Chris of your time of your arrival. He is always ready with a warm welcome and will guide you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 440 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

My girlfriend and I had an amazing stay at Cecile's house. Chris was an awesome host and the B&B itself was such a great experience. Everything in the house was very beautiful, all the rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Chris made us a fantastic breakfast in the morning, we were especially excited about this because the women at his gift shop dropped us a little hint that he is a renowned chef in France. He definitely lived up to this with his delicious pastries, breakfast items, and coffee.

Beyond that, Chris gave us some great recommendations on where to eat dinner as well. We ended up going to Niagara-on-the-Lake Golf Club Restaurant which was a fantastic recommendation. I got the trio of filet mignons wrapped in bacon (wow), she got the Roasted Mushroom Linguini, and we split the crab cakes. The whole meal was absolutely perfect and we couldn't have asked for a better recommendation.

We also went to the Angel Inn for drinks. This place was awesome too and the staff is super friendly. Would highly recommend if you love a fun, loud, friendly place to grab a drink or a bite.

If you have the chance to stay at Cecile's house, do it. You absolutely won't regret it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Master Suite and it was HUGE! If you have your choice of rooms, this one is worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zachary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

After a long drive from Ottawa we arrived at Cecile's House. Wonderful house, a welcoming host and a magical town. The breakfast was so delicious I wanted two of everything. Thanks Chris for your hospitality and making two Aussies feel so welcome.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Stevanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed in Cecile house only one night, we had French room and it was beautiful and very clean like whole house. House is located on small quiet street just few minutes away from downtown, it is very convenient location. Sleeping was very good and what a treat in the Morning. Breakfast was amazing, we had everything what we could ask for. We are definitely planing to come back. Thanks Chris for making our stay so pleasant.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Milos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We got the Cecile's House pamphlet at Cecile's shop and decided to check it out. What a gem. Chris, the host, is amazing and has turned an old NOTL home into a Paris B&B. From the greeting we received on Friday evening until we left Sunday, Chris made sure all our needs and wants were taken care of. We woke up every morning to the aroma of fresh baked croissants, scones, apple strudel, banana bread and a nice oven baked speciality! The rooms are spacious and you are left with the feeling of home. It was one of the best and relaxing weekends we have spent away in a very long time. The location is great - walking distance to anywhere. Don't miss out on staying here, book early as I hear it books up fast - and we now know why. Thanks again to Chris for making our weekend away that much more special. We will be back.

Room Tip: Master Suite is perfect as it's the largest of the 3 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We just had time for one night at Cecile's House and for sure it was too short! The whole house and all the interieur is perfectly harmonized. The breakfast is an event for itself - with a french highlight! And of utmost importance for us was the great cooperation of Chris because of our late arrival! We just can highly recommend this very special b&b for everybody who wants to spend some time in the area of Niagara!

Room Tip: The Country Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuchsi1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband and I stopped at Cecile's House for one night on our way up to Toronto. We stayed in the French Room which was very cosy, however it did get quiet hot in the middle of the night. We ate dinner just around the corner on Queen Street and thoroughly enjoyed the french breakfast the next morning. The homemade croissants and apple turnovers were delicious! We will definitely stay here again if we can get a reservation. Chris is very nice and clearly has an eye for detail, because everything from the decor to the french breakfast was perfect!!

Room Tip: The French Room is a great deal if you don't mind walking down the hall to your private bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
5.1 mi away
A La Gallarie Bed and Breakfast
A La Gallarie Bed and Breakfast
#154 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
15 reviews
0.8 mi away
Darlington House Bed and Breakfast
Darlington House Bed and Breakfa...
#21 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
207 reviews
0.8 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfast
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfa...
#9 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
412 reviews
7.2 mi away
Woodbourne Inn
Woodbourne Inn
#16 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
139 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast
The Butler House Historic Bed an...
#3 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cecile's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cecile's House

Address: 156 Gate Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $90 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A year ago after 17 years of operations I have made the decision to close Cecile’s House. My last day of operation will be June 30th 2017 Thanks to all Chris ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing