We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful B&B with a wonderful host” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cecile's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cecile's House
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
1 review
“A beautiful B&B with a wonderful host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We've stayed at Cecile's House a couple of times and have always enjoyed our stays. Chris's hospitality, his attention to detail and his wonderful breakfasts will keep us coming back. The location is great and it's an easy relaxing walk to the Shaw Festival theaters, shops and the lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John-n-Sue2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    9
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
47
289
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We look forward to our visit each year. We enjoy seeing the changes Chris makes,always classy and in keeping with the age of the home. The gardens are beautiful, breakfast is a delight. The house is close to town, and we enjoy walking to the theatre and shops. We booked for niext year this time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rescuev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Freshly baked French croissants, fresh petits pains au chocolat, wide assortment of teas, wholesome coffee, clafoutis full of fresh fruit, cheese, ham slices, cereals - our French chef and owner of Cécile's House, always sets a very appetizing breakfast to start our day. The bright conversation at the breakfast tables is friendly, usually Americans and Canadians. This B&B is top notch. Count yourself lucky if you are able to get in. Most of Chris' clients are repeats, folks who often book a year in advance. He is continually updating and improving his home, adding three new beautiful paintings this year. To top it, your host is a most congenial fellow.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
167 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

With only 3 rooms Cecile's House is one of the most exclusive B&Bs in the city and most of the rooms are re-booked every year. Decor is impeccable, breakfasts are wonderful, location is great, price is reasonable. If you see a vacancy, take it, but I am booking my room before the public booking.

Room Tip: French room is a bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveBot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

When we visit each July & October for 3 nights each stay we totally relax & leave all the daily stresses of life at home. Our suite is decorated with such eye appeal & so clean. The breakfasts are gourmet & tend to want to eat more than necessary.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Particular523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Cecile's House brightened a rainy weekend! From the moment we stood on the beautifully appointed front porch and were warmly greeted by Chris to our entrance into his tastefully and thoughtfully decorated home, my friends and I knew Cecile's House was a special place. Our experience of the public areas, our accommodations, the daily breakfasts, and convenient location to restaurants, theaters, the lake and shopping absolutely echoes those of the other 5 star reviewers. Proof: I've already booked Cecile's House same time next year. Barbara Azar

Room Tip: Note that French room bathroom, although private, is not located within the bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a delightful stay at Cecile's. The room was lovely, beautiful decor and linens. The bathroom is updated, and has a great shower and bathing accessories.
The breakfast was outstanding. It offered everything one could possibly desire, from a Clafoutis, to Croissants, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, delicious coffee.
Chris, our host, was attentive to every detail, and the breakfast tables were set with linen, and an array of jams, jellies and butter, all beautifully presented.

Kelsey and Wesley Mason

Room Tip: One room is very large with a sitting area. We did not have it, but would consider booking it for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KKM423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.4 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#6 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast
The Butler House Historic Bed an...
#1 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cecile's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cecile's House

Property: Cecile's House
Address: 156 Gate Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned by a French chef and situated on a quiet street in the Heritage district in the heart of historic Niagara-on- the-Lake, Cecile's House Bed & Breakfast has a perfect location. The golf course, Lake Ontario, the famous Oban Inn & Spa, the main street with its shops, restaurants and theaters are just one block away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing