We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW, WOW,WOW”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“WOW, WOW,WOW”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

If looking for a B&B when in Niagara on the Lake - do not go past Maria's!! Apart from having great and very well appointed rooms (especially Laura Lynn and Bordeaux) the breakfasts, thanks to Kent's expertise in the kitchen, are fantastic ..... they are a delight and possibly the best breakfasts we have ever enjoyed. I agree with reviewer Jeoff F in regards to the chocolate cookies - I managed to enjoy several. We found the rooms to be spotless and the Laura Lynn with its king size and very comfortable bed was great.

Kent's hospitality can not be faulted, even sitting outside with us to enjoy a glass or two of wine.

Do yourself a favour and spend a couple of nights here and enjoy one of the best B&Bs we have stayed at - as well as a charming town...

Room Tip: Try for the Laura Lynn or Bordeaux, especially if staying for more than two nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCM81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    10
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
249
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Cozy, warm, friendly, a home away from home. Sydney and I had a great time here at MBB. Kent and Nancy were such a delight and very welcoming. Breakfast was superb! Kent was very personable yet professional when it came to serving breakfast. He knows what his guests like in the morning which he delivers with his exquisite meals.

I do have a bit of a warning for you all. Be careful with Kent's soft baked chocolate cookies. They're to die for!!! I'm pretty guilty about practically emptying out the cookie jar before turning in. MBB is a must recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeoff_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend at Maria's! Kent's breakfast's were outstanding, the rooms were very nice and we made wonderful new friends there as well. The attention to detail was greatly appreciated. We're planning to come back again next year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethanyDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
284 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at Maria's as part of our 20th anniversary celebration. Kent and Nancy were terrific hosts and we enjoyed every part of our stay. I asked if we could have a bottle of champagne on ice when we got there and the request was handled with no problems.

We were also greeted with a tray of chocolate-dipped strawberries, other fruits and nuts as a welcome ammenity. We felt very welcome during our entire stay.

Each morning we were treated to a lovely breakfast. Fresh fruit, granola, frittata and similar items were on the menu. Kent's talent in the kitchen really was highlighted.

The B&B also has a nice deck and patio area that is perfect for relaxing after a day of activity. I am so glad we chose to stay here as opposed to the tourist-packed area at Niagara Falls. Niagara-on-the-Lake is located approx. 30 minutes from the Falls, but it is an easy drive. It is also just minutes from Lake Ontario.

Kent and Nancy are also happy to share their insights on what to see and do in the area and have maps if you need them.

I highly recommend staying here if you are ever in the area.

I also feel I must comment on an earlier review regarding "too many rules" at the B&B. Yes, Kent asked that shoes be taken off before heading upstairs. This was not a problem for us since we are used to not wearing shoes in our house. However, we spent three nights there and never saw "piles" of shoes at the bottom of the stairs. After we took off our shoes, we carried them up to our room. No big deal. The reviewer writes like there was a "shoe check" every day. That couldn't be further from the truth. I have no problem with Kent and Nancy trying to keep their property nice for the next guests who will be staying there.

Also, regarding the use of the patio. The reviewer seemed upset that he couldn't have all his friends over to use the patio. As a paying guest, I would be pretty mad if I went out to the patio to relax and there was a large group of non-paying guests hanging around. If you want to have all your friends over, stay at home and have your own get together.

I don't know what other "rules" this person is talking about, but we didn't experience any of them and by the looks of the other 140+ reviews on this site, no one else had a problem with them either.

We really enjoyed our stay at Maria's. Can't recommend it any higher.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bordeaux room and enjoyed it very much. We loved the big bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPR18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

What a great place! We love the settings, our room, amazing patio (new this year) with firepit but first of all the best hosts: Kent and Nancy :) . We felt much better then in our own home.....fabulous breakfasts, fresh fruits, spotless room, privacy, wine on the patio...just a great relaxing time at Maria's B&B. We will be back for sure!!!!! Thank you guys for making our weekend a very special one!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BozKun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had such a great experience at Maria's! Kent is an incredible host and the breakfasts are like dining at a five star resort! It's way more than we expected from a B&B. The small touches always mean the most - fresh baked cookies, chocolates on the pillows, hand written notes to thank us for staying with them, chocolate dipped fruit on our last night (really - it was our good fortune!). This is the place to stay in NOTL! We are already trying to plan a return trip! We were well taken care of at Maria's. Thanks again, your May 9-12 King room guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationtime5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I'm going against the grain by rating this an average B&B after everyone else has left wonderful reviews. I've taken a lot of time to think about our stay since we were there last year, thinking that my opinion would go up as time went by. Well, it hasn't, so I'm finally going to share my opinion.

We loved this B&B. The owners are very kind, the breakfasts are out of this world, and the room was great. Why does it only get an average rating? Because of all of the rules that we were afraid of breaking while we were there.

Shoes are not to be worn on the second floor. I understand that this is their home, but we've never had that rule in any of the many B&Bs we've stayed in over the years. It was odd to see piles of shoes at the foot of the stairs each day. We forgot and wore our shoes upstairs one day and had to run the shoes back to the bottom of the stairs when we remembered.

If we had friends over to sit out on the patio, we were warned that we can't take up all of the outside space when there are other guests who might want use it. Therefore, we felt guilty about using most of the space and cut our visits shorter than we normally would have. FYI, we never saw another guest out on the patio during our entire stay.

There were other rules, but those are the ones that bothered us.

The owner also pointed out that they're on TripAdvisor and they would appreciate a postive review. That's another reason why I've taken so long in posting this, since I knew it wouldn't be a glowing review. I'm sorry, but I have to honest - that's why I love TA and use it for all of our vacation planning.

We had a lovely time there, but it would have been a fantastic time without all of the rules.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent G, Owner at Maria's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
In response to Julie’s recent review of her stay at our B&B last July Nancy and I would like to provide a brief response.

We are disappointed and a bit surprised to learn almost a year later, that Julie’s experience at our B&B was less then “fantastic” and are obviously disappointed in the less then excellent rating that she gave us. And while we would always prefer our guests bring to our attention any concerns prior to leaving so that we may have the opportunity to address them or at least come to an understanding, there are many points of her review that we appreciate her pointing out. We take pride in the quality of our service and the presentation of our home. Many of our guests are first time B&B’ers who aren’t sure about B&B etiquette and any requests we make of our guests, are for the safety and shared enjoyment of our home by all our guests, now and in the future.

Specifically, with respect to the comment about the outdoor space, it is worth noting that Julie and her husband invited a large group of friends over to our property to tour the house and enjoy an afternoon drink on our patio. While we are thrilled that others were interested in seeing our space, and that Julie thought to show it to them, past practice has normally been to make a request of the home owner before doing so. We spent time with the group, joining them for a drink and talking to them about their plans for Niagara-on-the-Lake. Another reason why her comments have come as a bit of a surprise.

Finally, it is helpful for all to bring attention to the fact that we do ask our guests to remove their shoes when walking on the carpeted areas of our home. Shoes are welcome on the tile and hardwood, but to help with keeping carpeting clean, we asked Julie and her husband to remove their motorcycle boots prior to going upstairs and into their bedroom – not a rule, but we think a reasonable request for the ongoing care of our home.

We thank Julie for her praise of our home and hospitality and hope that these comments help to provide another perspective for consideration for future guests.


Kent and Nancy Gore
Hosts - Maria's B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.7 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#5 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfast
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfa...
#10 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Explorer House Bed & Breakfast
Explorer House Bed & Breakfast
#13 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Historic Lyons House
Historic Lyons House
#36 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Maria's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 545 Mississauga St | Box 1735, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maria's Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Old World charm and elegance in this Niagara Bed and Breakfast conveniently located in Old TownThree spacious and tastefully furnished B&B guest suites designed for long stays and special occasions, with king beds, sitting areas, gas fireplaces, private en-suite bathrooms with Jacuzzi or whirlpool tubs, plush his and hers robes, mini-bar fridges, cable television, DVD players, CD players, telephones, wireless internet and a carafe of distilled ice water. All bathrooms feature marble floors and granite countertops. Free WiFi and on-site parking. After a good night's sleep in the luxurious bed you will enjoy a complimentary gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Maria's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing