We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great B&B, but too many rules”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I'm going against the grain by rating this an average B&B after everyone else has left wonderful reviews. I've taken a lot of time to think about our stay since we were there last year, thinking that my opinion would go up as time went by. Well, it hasn't, so I'm finally going to share my opinion.

We loved this B&B. The owners are very kind, the breakfasts are out of this world, and the room was great. Why does it only get an average rating? Because of all of the rules that we were afraid of breaking while we were there.

Shoes are not to be worn on the second floor. I understand that this is their home, but we've never had that rule in any of the many B&Bs we've stayed in over the years. It was odd to see piles of shoes at the foot of the stairs each day. We forgot and wore our shoes upstairs one day and had to run the shoes back to the bottom of the stairs when we remembered.

If we had friends over to sit out on the patio, we were warned that we can't take up all of the outside space when there are other guests who might want use it. Therefore, we felt guilty about using most of the space and cut our visits shorter than we normally would have. FYI, we never saw another guest out on the patio during our entire stay.

There were other rules, but those are the ones that bothered us.

The owner also pointed out that they're on TripAdvisor and they would appreciate a postive review. That's another reason why I've taken so long in posting this, since I knew it wouldn't be a glowing review. I'm sorry, but I have to honest - that's why I love TA and use it for all of our vacation planning.

We had a lovely time there, but it would have been a fantastic time without all of the rules.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent G, Owner at Maria's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

In response to Julie’s recent review of her stay at our B&B last July Nancy and I would like to provide a brief response.

We are disappointed and a bit surprised to learn almost a year later, that Julie’s experience at our B&B was less then “fantastic” and are obviously disappointed in the less then excellent rating that she gave us. And while we would always prefer our guests bring to our attention any concerns prior to leaving so that we may have the opportunity to address them or at least come to an understanding, there are many points of her review that we appreciate her pointing out. We take pride in the quality of our service and the presentation of our home. Many of our guests are first time B&B’ers who aren’t sure about B&B etiquette and any requests we make of our guests, are for the safety and shared enjoyment of our home by all our guests, now and in the future.

Specifically, with respect to the comment about the outdoor space, it is worth noting that Julie and her husband invited a large group of friends over to our property to tour the house and enjoy an afternoon drink on our patio. While we are thrilled that others were interested in seeing our space, and that Julie thought to show it to them, past practice has normally been to make a request of the home owner before doing so. We spent time with the group, joining them for a drink and talking to them about their plans for Niagara-on-the-Lake. Another reason why her comments have come as a bit of a surprise.

Finally, it is helpful for all to bring attention to the fact that we do ask our guests to remove their shoes when walking on the carpeted areas of our home. Shoes are welcome on the tile and hardwood, but to help with keeping carpeting clean, we asked Julie and her husband to remove their motorcycle boots prior to going upstairs and into their bedroom – not a rule, but we think a reasonable request for the ongoing care of our home.

We thank Julie for her praise of our home and hospitality and hope that these comments help to provide another perspective for consideration for future guests.


Kent and Nancy Gore
Hosts - Maria's B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Maria's Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 339 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have never stayed in a B&B before and now that I've stayed a Maria's B&B I don't know if I can EVER stay anywhere else when we go to Niagara on the lake again. My boyfriend and I always stay at the Vintage hotels (which is right down the street from Maria's B&B) and they are very nice but pricier and no where near as amazing as this place. Excellent location, extremely friendly owners (that make the best brekfasts!!!), very very clean and a warm home away from home feel. Honestly, the pictures on line DO NOT DO IT JUSTICE. Kent and Nancy truly have to be the best B&B owners in the world. Two thumbs up!!!!!!

Room Tip: no pool on site but fire pit!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed in the Bordeaux Suite the night of April 19th and had an absolutely fantastic time. The room and house are large and very nicely furnished and decorated. We just couldn't get over how large the room was and how nice the amenities. A gas fireplace (with remote!), balcony, Jacuzzi tub, dual sinks in the *enormous* bathroom, walk-in closet, refrigerator, French press for coffee, flat screen TV with DVD player and cable, and of course the amazingly comfortable king size bed. Our stay in the room was absolutely perfect and there was not a thing we would've changed. The house was full that night, but not a peep was audible from anyone else when we were in our room. It was a frigid night with heavy winds and dusting of snow, but we were cozy all night with the fire burning softly. It's really hard to express just how blown away we were by the house and the suite and how much we both wished we could just move in for good!

Breakfast was completely wonderful... Mixed fruit with lavender sugar (Kent, please correct me if this is wrong), homemade croissants (*everything* is homemade) with strawberry rhubarb jam (again, Kent, please correct me), frittata with goat cheese, peppers, and spicy sausage, a slice of locally-raised ham, and lastly green beans with lemon. Kent is a retired executive chef of over 25 years, and his experience shows. The dining room is within view of the kitchen, so it's a really nice treat to watch him masterfully prepare each item while enjoying the meal with the house's fellow guests.

This was my first time staying in a B&B with a modern design and furnishings, and it in no way detracted from the "B&B experience", but instead in some ways actually made it feel *more* like we were guests in someone's home, since most people I know have homes with modern decor and none live in Victorian decorated houses. Also, on the topic of feeling like a guest in someone's home, our host requested we remove our shoes before going upstairs. I was surprised for a moment, but immediately thereafter I appreciated the protocol, and I now realize it in fact helped to reinforce the idea of being in someone's home.

Kent was a truly wonderful host. He was kind, helpful, and hospitable. He was also completely accommodating with our very late check in (8:00 as opposed to 4:00) and showed absolutely *no* signs of being inconvenienced or bothered. We had some car trouble and were unable to go out to dinner until 11:00 that night (Olde Angel Inn, very good!), which was quite taxing after being left tired by a 4-hour drive to Niagara-on-the-Lake that afternoon. Far from being troubled, our host sought to comfort us and we arrived back in our room around 1:30 am to a plate of chocolate covered strawberries and other delicious treats. How perfect! He really evidenced a servant heart and made us feel so welcome and cared for.

Our only regret is that our schedules kept us from staying longer!

It's a popular destination, and with good reason!

Room Tip: The Bordeaux Suite was fantastic. Book this room if you can.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank engineeringhujijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We traveled to Niagara-on-the-Lake for the first time March 29-31, 2013. We chose to stay at Maria's based on trip advisor reviews and our expectations were exceeded. Before our trip, Kent was very helpful in recommending restaurants and wineries in the area. Once we arrived at Maria's, we were warmly welcomed by Kent who showed us to our room (Tree Top). The room was very modern and even included fresh lemon water, supplies to make tea and coffee in the room and freshly baked cookies. On night 2, we were treated to chocolate-covered strawberries and apricots. Breakfast was great--both mornings we had multi-course meals complete with homemade scones and hot-cross buns and we had great conversations with the other B&B guests. Kent and Nancy pay attention to the small details to make sure you feel welcomed and we greatly appreciated their hospitality--we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSBestwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was by far, our best B&B experience, not only because of the fabulous breakfasts each morning, but because of the details at this B&B. Kent was wonderful, he was very nice, warm and friendly. They accommodated us even though they were intending to be closed that weekend. This was a 4 star hotel stay with the coziness of a B&B. The rooms are modern, clean and had all these beautiful details that you keep on discovering. Plus we were allowed to choose since we were the only ones there. The room we stayed in was so comfortable, the service was great, food was execellent, property was kept so clean and beautiful. We highly recommended this place!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Over the years, we've stayed at many B&Bs in Niagara on the Lake, but Maria's B&B was by far our best experiences. The property was stunning - very cozy and beautifully decorated. Kent, Nancy and Finnegan truly made our experience memorable. With home made cookies on arrival, chocolate-dipped strawberries and apricots after dinner, and lemon and ice water in our room, Kent's many years as a chef in high end hotels clearly shines through. His warmth and attention to detail made us feel incredibly welcome, and Kent's willingness to share his experiences as a triathlete was inpsiring as we set off for some cycling in the beautiful countryside. We have already recommended Maria's to friends, and look forward to our return trip in June. After a two day, 200km bike ride, Maria's B&B will be the perfect way to celebrate both the ride and our 10-year wedding anniversary!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bordeau Room but all rooms look lovely. We are staying in another room on our next...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

What a fabulous overnight stay! The entire house is absolutely stunning, and our room was spacious, elegant and extremely comfortable. The fireplace was perfect. Kent was a delightful, knowledgeable host. Our "healthy" breakfast request exceeded our expectations. It was absoulutely delicious! A plate of freshly baked cookies and chocolate dipped fruit awaiting us after dinner was a very classy touch. Attention to detail is outstanding. A real gem in Niagara...a must stay!

Room Tip: We saw all 3 guest rooms, and they are all beautiful!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunflower1865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
435 reviews
0.9 mi away
In Elegance Bed and Breakfast
In Elegance Bed and Breakfast
#19 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Explorer House Bed & Breakfast
Explorer House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape House Bed and Breakfast
Cape House Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
342 reviews
0.8 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#7 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 545 Mississauga St | Box 1735, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $158 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maria's Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Old World charm and elegance in this Niagara Bed and Breakfast conveniently located in Old TownThree spacious and tastefully furnished B&B guest suites designed for long stays and special occasions, with king beds, sitting areas, gas fireplaces, private en-suite bathrooms with Jacuzzi or whirlpool tubs, plush his and hers robes, mini-bar fridges, cable television, DVD players, CD players, telephones, wireless internet and a carafe of distilled ice water. All bathrooms feature marble floors and granite countertops. Free WiFi and on-site parking. After a good night's sleep in the luxurious bed you will enjoy a complimentary gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Maria's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing