We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Williams Gate Bed and Breakfast Private Suites
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 2, 2013

we just had a three night stay here for our 26th anniversary weekend. We've stayed at several bed and breakfasts during our 26 years and this was by far the best. It wasn't just a room, it was an apartment. It was spotless and had all the amenities of home. Anca is a wonderful hostess and a great cook. We had a private breakfast in our own kitchen each morning at the time of our choosing. We parked the car upon arrival and were able to walk to downtown within ten to fifteen minutes. Anca's attention to detail made this a perfect anniversary getaway. We're looking forward to coming back next year and hopefully staying longer. Also, we'll be sure to bring our bikes with us next time. Anca informed us that there is a bike trail that goes throughout town and to the falls.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upstairs one bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 189 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

My family and I just returned from a 4 night stay here. I cannot say enough good things about this place. The owner, Anca, was friendly,helpful, and gracious. She made our stay top notch and was very sweet to my children (ages 11 & 9). I also must add that she is a tremendous cook and spoiled us with the most amazing breakfasts. She obviously takes great pride in her property and the two bedroom suite that we stayed in was exceptionally clean and lacked nothing. Furthermore, The town is peaceful and beautiful, with tons of flowers lining the streets,shops and restaurants. We were able to walk or bike everywhere from this bed and breakfast as it is centrally located to most attractions. I would not hesitate to return!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrissy0176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My family of four stayed here for two nights and loved every minute. Our suite was very comfortable and spacious, with two bedrooms, a sitting room, an eat-in kitchen and a bathroom. Breakfasts were delicious (one morning we had eggs benedict, carrot muffins and yogurt-and-fruit parfaits), and were served right in our suite. Anca, the host, is a master of small touches that make a big difference, from chocolates to videos to a pitcher of filtered water that was waiting in our fridge when we arrived--a welcome surprise on a hot day. She even found our fairy-obsessed daughter the perfect book to read. Williams Gate is a short walk from Niagara-on-the-Lake's main shopping and eating streets, but far enough to help keep things quiet. We hope to be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Beautiful old home with walking distance to downtown Niagara on the Lake. Awesome breakfast and hospitality by Anca. Even though the rooms were meant for 4 people, Anca made an adjustment to let a 5th friend stay with us at her B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2 bedroom Main Floor and both rooms were equally beautiful and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sanpaul1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is the first time at this location and B&B. Both the town and the B&B were excellent. Williams Gate B&B is very warm and friendly. We rented the ground floor suite which consisted of a lounge, kitchen and bathroom plus two double bedrooms. The facility was very clean and homely. The proprietor was warm and friendly and made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts were brought up to our kitchen at a time defined by us and were also excellent. I think it is fair to say that we can find no fault with this B&B and would certainly go back if we were in the area.
As far as Niagara-on-the-Lake is concerned, it is a chocolate box town. Very pretty with some stunning properties as you drive out on Niagara Parkway towards the Falls. The shops are exclusive and expensive but this adds to the delight of the little town.
The proprietors daughter works in one of the ice cream bars so you get a good discount on some very nice ice cream.
All in all a great stay in a very nice town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We took a family vacation, and decided to stay at a B & B for the first time. It was a fantastic experience, in the sense that it felt just like walking into our own home at the end of a busy day of activities. We could kick back and relax in piece and quiet. Anca prepared breakfast for us each morning and we enjoyed it, as it was something different each day and delicious. Williams Gate B & B is nearby almost all venues of activities in the Niagara-on-the-Lake region (the Wineries being the exception). Anca helped us to decide which visit sites to visit and not be disappointed.
I would strongly recommend Williams Gate B & B to any first time visitors to the Niagara-on-the-Lake region, as well as return visitors.
My complements to Anca for a well run establishment. Anyone visiting the Niagara region would not be disappointed!

Nick

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamsGate413, Owner at Williams Gate Bed and Breakfast Private Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

We want to thank you kindly for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review following your stay with us. We really enjoyed meeting you and your lovely family and we are so pleased that your first Bed and Breakfast experience was an enjoyable one. Hopefully, this visit will be the first B&B stay of many more to come, staying with us in Niagara-on-the-Lake, or enjoying different bed and breakfasts around the world. We will be always happy to welcoming you back, as you were most desirable guests for us. Thank you for being so genuinely considerate, respectful and kind and we wish all of you, happiness, good health, peace and joy. Thank you so much for everything!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I must say I am not a huge fan of b&b's but I was so pleasantly surprised with my stay at Williams Gate. I stayed here at christmas time with my family and we had a great time thanks to Anca's wonderful hospitality and beautiful home. The two bedroom suite, although a bit older, was warm, comfortable, and inviting. This suite is great because its almost like you have your own little apartment with a full kitchen, living room, bathroom, tv, fireplace, and a separate entrance. The rooms were spotless and the beds comfortable. My family and I have fairly restrictive diets and yet Anca went out of her way to ensure that our meals were suitable and still delicious. Probably the best breakfast I've had at a hotel/b&b ever! I will definitely be staying at William's Gate again and would recommend it to anyone looking to stay in the Niagara-On-the-Lake area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndSheTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamsGate413, Owner at Williams Gate Bed and Breakfast Private Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review for your stay with us and for being so thoughtful and appreciative. We too enjoyed meeting you and having you as our guests. Like your review, these most of them excellent reviews received so far are keeping us going on this path, and are confirming that we are doing good. We are continuously improving though and strive to do even better, year by year. Since we started the B&B 8 years ago, we worked hard to make things better, we think that we did so far, and we will continue to do so for the years to come. We will be very pleased to welcome you back, anytime your travels will bring you again in Niagara-on-the-Lake. We thank you kindly, once again, and wishing you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.4 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Post House Inn
Post House Inn
#11 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#10 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfast
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfa...
#9 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queen Regent Bed & Breakfast
Queen Regent Bed & Breakfast
#24 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williams Gate Bed and Breakfast Private Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williams Gate Bed and Breakfast Private Suites

Address: 413 Gate Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $129 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Williams Gate Bed and Breakfast Private Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy and comfort at its best, with all the conveniences of a B&B in Old Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake, within walking distance to Main Street. Two private suite accommodations (one or two queen bedrooms), each with its own living room, eat-in kitchenette, bathroom and separate entrance. Full home cooked and baked breakfast served en-suite at guests' leisure; Open all year round, with low season rates and promotions from November to end of April, each year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Williams Gate Bed and Breakfast Private Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing