We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Weekend!! Norma and Art”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Schoolmaster's House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed two nights at The Schoolmaster's Bed and Breakfast in The Porters Room and had a wonderful time.The hosts Diane and Allan were very friendly and most accommodating.They were most helpful in recommending activities,theatre productions and restaurants.We enjoyed delicious gourmet breakfasts served in their lovely appointed dining room.They have a large garden with many beautiful tall perennials in full bloom!!We took advantage of the natural setting and spent several hours enjoying wine and cheese as we read our novels!!We would certainly stay at The Schoolmaster's House again and most certainly recommend it !!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur_D360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 160 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

We has a wonderful weekend at the Schoolmaster's House Bed and Breakfast in Niagra-on-the-Lake. Great location with nicely appointed rooms and garden. Friendly and very knowledgable hosts Diane and Alan. Breakfast was outstanding. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew0821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Diane and Alan made our experience extra special. Shared historical facts, recommendation for lunch (golf club - fabulous!) and wineries. Detailed touches in the decor and gourmet breakfast were very much appreciated. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Very friendly hosts, nicely decorated rooms, great location, very good breakfast and lovely garden. We really enjoyed our stay at the Schoolmasters House and would recommend it to anyone who would want to visit the Niagara Peninsula. The B&B is located just 2 blocks from the lovely city centre of Niagara-on-the-lake and close to some of the best wineries of North America. Even the Niagara falls are just a 20 minute drive away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saswin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this quaint B&B with our teenaged daughters (Porter Suite). Well appointed, clean, comfortable rooms, outstanding breakfast and convenient location. Ample parking and the owners, Diane and Alan are very friendly, hospitable and informative. Great value.

Room Tip: The Porter Suite is ideal for anyone travelling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed in this small family owned B&B August 4-5. It has well appointed and recently updated, comfortable rooms, outstanding breakfast and nice location. Parking is ample and the new owners are warm, friendly, hospitable and informative. They are life-long residents of NOTL and take obvious great pride in the quality of their B&B.

Room Tip: Can only speak to the Garden View room. It is quite nice, comfortable, great shower and has outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Diane and Alan were so friendly and informative. With their help we were able to see all we wanted to and more. Diane recommended we go to the golf club for lunch. The view and food were wonderful. She was very knowledgable about the wineries. We so enjoyed all the space we had in our room. Would be great for a family.The furnishings were very interesting and well thought out .Enjoyed hearing about her future plans for the house. I didn't think the first breakfast could be topped but the frittata and butter tarts the second morning were out of this world. We hope we will be able to stay again next year. Book early as you won't want to miss this place. It is an easy walk into town.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms here. All very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnyemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
1.5 mi away
Riverbend Inn and Vineyard
Riverbend Inn and Vineyard
#12 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Historic Wilson-Guy House
Historic Wilson-Guy House
#38 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
62 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Red Coat
The Red Coat
#1 of 2 in Queenston
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Antique Slumber B&B
Antique Slumber B&B
#29 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
#15 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#60 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoolmaster's House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoolmaster's House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 307 Mississagua St, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $113 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Schoolmaster's House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Schoolmaster's House, circa 1818. As former tutoring home for Empire Loyalist families in the 1880's, we are ideally situated at the heart of Niagara on the Lake Wine country. Just a short stroll from the theaters, shops and fine dining of Canada's prettiest Town. Our B&B has been exquisitely and faithfully restored, one of the early nineteenth century Niagara on the Lake Bed and Breakfasts. This is the ideal home away from home from which to begin and to finish your day. Enchanting bed accommodations ensure you'll wake well rested and feeling refreshed prior to venturing forth to walk, hike, bike or drive our scenic parkways, vineyards, tree-lined boulevards and lake front parks. Jason and Elsie Mae are the new proud owners of this heritage Ontario home. They invite you to explore their Niagara on the Lake B&B and to spend time with them during the theater season. This Historic Niagara on the Lake bed and breakfast contributes to the wonderful character and unique flavour in the Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Schoolmaster's House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing