We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay at Simcoe Manor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simcoe Manor

Simcoe Manor
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Simcoe Manor
Pittsburgh
1 review
“Wonderful stay at Simcoe Manor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2007

The location and residence are beautiful, and the hosts couldn't have been more accommodating! All of their recommendations hit the mark. I will definitely go back and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MonaPlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    8
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
92
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2007

A stay at the gracious Simcoe Manor is a time you will long remember after you have left. The accomodations are absolutely gorgeous. The rooms are very spacious and immaculate. The sumptuous breakfasts are one of the highlights. Your hostess' John and Vera will do everything to make you feel welcome and pampered. John has gone out of his way numerous times to find information for us and is always available with advise to ensure our visit is perfect. We have stayed here two years in a row and have our next visit already booked. The location of this gracious manor is only a block off the main street of Niagara which makes is perfect for shopping and exploring the town. If you come to this little piece of paradise known as Niagara be sure to stay at the Simcoe Manor. I assure you it will be one of the best places you have ever visited. Places like Simcoe Manor are a rare find and if you have the chance you should plan a visit to this wonderful place.

  • Liked — The whole atmosphere and hostess were fabulous!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelAndSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2007

My wife & I have stayed at the Simcoe Manor in Niagara-on-the-Lake, both in the summer and winter for the last 4 years. The town offers many attractions and winery tours. In the summer, the Shaw Festival offers an excellent selection of plays.

Our Simcoe Manor experience has always been excellent. We have stayed in several of the 5 rooms and always find them clean, tidy and comfortable. The excellent breakfasts are a great way to start a full day of site-seeing.

The hosts, John & Vera, are very gracious and extremely helpful in offering suggestions for attractions to see, which wineries to visit and quality restaurants.

We will continue to go back to Simcoe Manor

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank latimerPickering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2007

Niagara-on-the-Lake is, in my view, the most charming village in Canada. I have been meeting my son there each summer for several years and we attend a number of plays at the Shaw Festival (theater). I was fortunate to have discovered, for our initial visit, Simcoe Manor, which I consider the most appealing inn in town. Not only is the house exceedingly attractive, the extensive grounds and gardens are lovingly cared for and can be appreciated from a relaxing chair on the wrap-around porch, which contains flowers in abundance. My son and I share a suite, elegantly furnished, with a large, luxurious bathroom (with Jacuzzi and enclosed shower) between our two rooms. Glimpses of the other rooms indicate that each one is uniquely and beautifully decorated, making a stay in any one of them a treat. A delectable breakfast with seasonal fruits, delicious breads and each day a different scrumptious main dish, is cooked by Vera Gartner and served by her husband John in a handsome dining room. The large, formal table, which seats all the guests, sets the stage for lively discussions. John is always exceedingly accommodating, helping us by recommending the best dining possibilities, making reservations and directing us to some of the area's landmarks. Each year we look forward to our reunion with each other, the Gartners and the pleasures of Simcoe Manor.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
Thank MarylandParisienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2007

If you're going to the Shaw Festival, you want to complement that classy theater experience with equally classy lodgings. Simcoe Manor fills the bill, and then some. It's a wonderfully imposing, elegant house with extremely beautiful landscaping (BTW, it's great to have access to a swimming pool). We have stayed in the Burgundy Suite three times -- two rooms with connecting bathroom -- and it's just perfect. In three Thursday-through-Sunday stays at the Simcoe Manor, no breakfast has been less than luxuriously delicious. Vera Gartner (the creator of those fabulous breakfasts) and John Gartner are extraordinarily helpful and gracious hosts, able to answer any and all questions, eager to compare notes on the Festival's productions, etc. A stay at the SImcoe Manor should be a must not only for visitors to the Festival, but for anyone traveling in the vicinity of Niagra-on-the-Lake.

  • Liked — The proprietors; the room; the breakfasts
  • Disliked — No complaints at all.
  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rgpines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2007

My wife and I are avid theatre fans and have visited Niagara on the Lake 2 or 3 times a year for getaway weekends for the last 10 years.

For the last half dozen years or so we have stayed at Simcoe Manor. The location is first rate. It is surrounded by beautiful homes and is within a short walking distance of the theatres and the Main Street. It has a lovely garden and pool area where one can relax on hot afternoons.

Thr Inn is very upscale and far more elegant than your average B&B. The accommodation is comparable to some of the fancier hotels in the area but significantly lower in price.

The proprietors, John and Vera, are very friendly and knowledgeable concerning what events are happening in the area, wine tastings, restaurants that offer the best value etc.

We especially enjoy their sumptuous breakfasts in their grand dining room and conversation with the other guests at the table who are invariably friendly and interesting people.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
Thank TorontoPepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara County, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2007

My husband and I return every year for a weekend at the Simcoe Manor in Niagara-on-the-Lake. We are Shaw Theatre members and love to discuss the plays with John and Vera, the Innkeepers, who also support the Shaw. Location is excellent, just off the main road on a quiet, residential street, the Inn is very clean. Vera's breakfasts, especially the daily offering of her baked goods are a delight. The other guests we have met at breakfast have been a delightful - and discerning - group of visitors.

Bottom line - we have recommended the Inn to friends looking for a memorable stay. The Simcoe Manor is more grand and classy than a typical B&B, but more personal than any local hotel. Perfect for relaxing or activity, John and Vera can help guide new travelers to restaurants, wineries, theatre, and recreation. We have again booked the roomy Burgundy Suite this summer. There are dozens of places to stay in town, but we continue to return to the Simcoe.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
Thank weekendabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
Annette Twining House
Annette Twining House
#84 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Historic Pacific
The Historic Pacific
#115 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scarlet Tunic Bed and Breakfast
Scarlet Tunic Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 18 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arbour View B&B
Arbour View B&B
#121 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Historic Wilson-Guy House
Historic Wilson-Guy House
#56 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast
Apple Tree Historic Bed and Brea...
#67 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simcoe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simcoe Manor

Property: Simcoe Manor
Address: 242 Simcoe St, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious, friendly accommodation just 50 yds. off the main street in the "Old Town" of Niagara on the Lake with all its attractions. Spacious, elegantly decorated suites with the charm and grace typical of Old Niagara yet with all the modern conveniences (A/C, Jacuzzis, fireplaces etc.).Gourmet breakfasts amidst rich mahogany and crystal. Relax on the verandah or poolside or enjoy the view of our gardens, stately pines and creek. A short walk to theatres, shopping, restaurants, golf and the rivermouth. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing