We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Simcoe Manor

Simcoe Manor
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Simcoe Manor
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Me and my partner came to stay here at the simcoe manor on the 4th September 2012 and we leave on the 10th. Right from getting to the manor John the owner made us feel very welcome and was very helpful. When we arrived our flight was delayed and we were a couple of hours late getting to manor, we hadn't eaten and there was nowhere near to go for food, John drove us at 11:30pm to go and find some food. We thought This was very kind of him as most hotels would make you wait till breakfast. All throughout our stay John has been extremely helpful advising us on good places to visit and helping with booking Our transportation to visit torronto city.

The Manor itself is out of this world the grounds and the house are extremely beautiful and I've never stayed anywhere like this before. The rooms are very luxurious we stayed in the Henley suite which has a private bathroom and sauna. The beds are made daily and clean towels are provided, the entire house is spotlessly clean. Breakfasts are excellent something different every morning all made fresh by johns partner Allison and there employee Tanya. Who are both extremely helpful and very friendly. Our stay has been wonderful and I would highly recommend coming here, if I was ever to come back to Niagara on the lake again I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaJarrett26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    8
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
92
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have never written a bad review before -- but seeing others' comments, we realize our experience was not unusual - so here goes: The room was nice (Green Room) and spacious and clean. The town is lovely, the theater was fabulous, beautiful countryside. The pool at the B&B was quite dirty as was the pool furniture and apparently, judging from others' comments, it has been this way for years.
Alison, one of the proprietors, was extremely kind and sweet. However, John, the other proprietor, was anything but sweet. It started with his insistence that I listen as he yelled driving instructions over the phone when we called to simply let him know we would be a few minutes later than our original arrival time. During our stay, he had a condescending tone and attitude about where we ate, what we ate, that we didn't know what a good restaurant was, that our theater choice was ill-considered and "would be depressing" even though he had not seen the play as of yet, and that my husband was being ridiculous to heed his doctor's advice to stay away from grapefruit while on certain medications. For some reason, John made several negative comparisons between American and Canadian foods. We are not defensive about America or American foods, but why did he need to make such points repeatedly?
One night, I had a extremely painful migraine headache and was not able to make it to breakfast. My husband went downstairs to make our excuses and John made it quite clear in his tone that he was not pleased but would "figure out something." Alison sweetly brought up a breakfast tray and showed concern for my well being and offered to bring my husband a tray also so he could stay with me. While my husband waited for the other tray, he unintentionally overheard John emphatically tell Alison that he would not allow a tray upstairs the next morning.
When we did make it to breakfast the next morning, the negative comparisons continued. We do believe he means well, and likely fancies himself quite the friendly gregarious expert host. Trouble is, what he thinks is gregarious, actually many times comes across as unwelcoming, condescending, and offensive.
We have been to many bed and breakfasts, stayed in many places in Canada and Europe - we live in NYC, we know what good food is, we are aware of good theater and know how to recognize hospitable behavior. We've never experienced this from a proprietor before. We will not return.

Room Tip: In hot weather, the Green Room does not get very cool despite central air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCcouple50s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Went for the weekend with 3 other couples, occupying all but one room -- but the couple in the Henley Bedroom (with whom we shared breakfast) didn't seem to mind us! Rooms are extremely clean and very comfortable; a small refrigerator on each floor gave us a place to chill our beverages for our group's post-theatre gatherings (for which we all imposed upon the couple with the Burgundy suite, which has a spacious sitting room). Having wine glasses available was a nice feature.

OUTSTANDING breakfasts served at 9 AM in the elegant dining room: fresh fruit (mixed fruit and yogurt one day, grapefruit the other), varied baked goods, and what "main courses!:" Eggs Benedict one day; the next, waffles with fresh peach compote and a side of Canadian bacon -- all presented beautifully.

John is an extremely pleasant and accommodating host. Perhaps a bit loquacious, but we certainly were made to feel welcome and he was extremely helpful.

Our group plans to return -- no need for us to look into any other B&Bs now that we've found this one!

(One "minus" -- the pool, which we didn't have time to use anyway, did not look as inviting as it appears in the photos. Certainly swimmable, but perhaps the hot summer made it difficult to keep the water as clear as some might like.)

Can't see how anyone would be disappointed by a stay at Simcoe Manor...

Room Tip: Green, Mauve, and Burgundy Suites are on the second floor; Simcoe Suite and Henley Bedroom are &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had a great stay in the Mauve room recently, it is spacious with many windows. John is a perfect host with a wealth of local knowledge and recommendations. The breakfast is a great event noting one has to be prepared for a fixed time sitdown with other guests at a large table. We likened it to the meals in "Room with a view", it was great fun.

Many thanks.

Room Tip: We liked the Mauve Room, corner with 7 windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2012

It's been about 15 years since my sisters and I were in Niagara-on-the-Lake. We stayed at the Simcoe Manor mid-week for two nights. What a wonderful experience! The property is beautiful and well maintained. It's in a great location, within walking distance of everything. Our host was gracious and witty, a world traveler with lots of interesting stories and a wealth of knowledge about restaurants, wineries and everything in between. A most enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: My sisters and I shared the basement accommodations, which are really large with three separate beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Simcoe Manor! Spectacular breakfasts that accommodated dietary needs; charming rooms, and that great deck on which to relax in between shows at the Shaw Festival! John is a gracious host who knows all the plays, restaurants and wineries intimately, and happily dispenses assistance and information. We couldn't recommend it more highly.

Room Tip: Pick any room - all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Another visit at Simcoe Manor was a wonderful start to a week's road trip ... this B&B ... really an Inn ... is about as good as it gets. Charm, comfort, excellent food and luxurious accommodations all with a gracious host. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Mauve Room is very good! Washer & Dryer in your suite ... rare. Breakfast was delicious and ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoostTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Historic Wilson-Guy House
Historic Wilson-Guy House
#60 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antique Slumber B&B
Antique Slumber B&B
#33 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Historic Pacific
The Historic Pacific
#133 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Annette Twining House
Annette Twining House
#84 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#3 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
526 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Byron House
The Byron House
#4 of 19 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simcoe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simcoe Manor

Property: Simcoe Manor
Address: 242 Simcoe St, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious, friendly accommodation just 50 yds. off the main street in the "Old Town" of Niagara on the Lake with all its attractions. Spacious, elegantly decorated suites with the charm and grace typical of Old Niagara yet with all the modern conveniences (A/C, Jacuzzis, fireplaces etc.).Gourmet breakfasts amidst rich mahogany and crystal. Relax on the verandah or poolside or enjoy the view of our gardens, stately pines and creek. A short walk to theatres, shopping, restaurants, golf and the rivermouth. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing