We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Riverbend Inn and Vineyard(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shaw Club Hotel(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Landing(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moffat Inn(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour House Hotel(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince of Wales(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dallavalle(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveler rating
74
12
1
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
12
1
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreif wineryporch roomwest roombeautiful wrap around porchbeautiful piecesgrand homeantique furniturewood burning fireplaceglass of winefelt like royaltyb bfour poster bedprivate bathwarm hospitalityclose to downtownother guestsscones
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 92 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed two days in this lovely antique house and we really enjoyed it. The owner took time to explain us the surroundings and she made us feel like home. It's very well situated and the bike path is just in front of the house. The breakfasts were very good , but we would have preferred to have them earlier.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Suecurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed one overnight to celebrate our 50th birthdays. Eva was extremely helpful, recommending several restaurants and wineries. She was spot-on with those recommendations. Our dinner was fantastic, we liked every piece of advice she gave us. We spent some time out on the veranda, and had the opportunity to chat with another couple in a relaxed setting. The room was nice, the bathroom clean and spacious. The house itself was lovely, old mouldings, pretty gardens.
The breakfast in the morning was delicious and plentiful. I do, however wish it was served earlier than 9 am, as we are early risers.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UpstateLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

The Grand Victorian was the perfect 3-day weekend getaway for us. Start with a home that was built before the American Civil war. Add an owner who has lovingly refurbished it room by room, removing 10 layers of paint from a beautiful wooden staircase railing and all of the fireplaces (and, I'm sure, many other places). Set it all next door to a vineyard that produces wonderful wines (Reif Vineyards) right on the Niagara Parkway, just a couple of miles out of town. Close enough to town to jump on a bike and ride into town on the recreational trail before breakfast and view Niagara on the Lake before the rest of the tourists arrive (so you can take pictures that aren't full of people). Like going back in time -- period furniture inside, wicker furniture on the relaxing front porch, nice grounds (not too fancy, but flowers abound). Knowledgeable, caring hostess who attends to needs. Compared to some of the prices we observed in-town, the Grand Victorian may be one of the best values in the region.

Room Tip: Summer leaves affect a view. Views
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shrubbery11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We stayed here with two other couples in June 2011. Eva was a great hostess, breakfast was fantastic, and we really loved having our wine on the porch with friends. It's quiet and peaceful and the winery is right next door. Doesn't get much better. We will come again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nursejan0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

My husband and I just stayed at the Grand Victorian. It is a beautiful home! Eva and her family are very nice and welcoming, and I loved their cat and dog :) The porch is awesome, beautiful flowers all around and very fragrant!

We stayed in the Jackson Room, very nice. It is on the ground floor, so the only downside to this was the noise upstairs. Heard every footstep! We sleep with a sound machine so it drowned out some of the noise, but in the morning with everyone clunking down the steps for breakfast it was pretty noisy.

We did not use the tennis court, and the swimming pool was empty. Too cold for swimming anyway-but if you are looking fwd to swimming-make sure the pool is in commission before you go!

Location:
About 2.5 miles into Old Town-cutest town ever!! I would have liked to be within walking distance, but the few minutes that it takes to drive there was fine. And in the opposite direction, about a 20 min drive to the Falls.

TIP: If you are driving to the Falls, Eva gave us a great tip on where to park! Turn Right onto Clifton (where all of the museums are) and then Right onto Ellen. There is a parking lot there for $7 all day. Other lots were asking $10 or $15. The $7 rate was around 2-2:30pm but had gone up to $10 by the time we got back to our car a couple of hours later. Or there is metered parking (not a lot), but if you dont want to stress about getting back to the meter Id do an all day lot.

Shopping:
Tons of great shops in Old Town, bakeries, ice cream shops. If you want antiques, I highly recommend Europa Antiques, in a former church. Beautiful pieces of furniture-not the junky stuff that you can find at some antique shops. Pick up a map at one of the stores to find this shop-it is not in town, you'll need to drive. We found a great map at a pharmacy on King Street, but I bet most of the shops offer the same detailed map.

We had a picnic across the street from the Falls in a little park. We picked up made to order sandwiches at Rest To Go Go (part of Stone Road Grille)-water was only $1 and big cookies were only $1-reasonably priced compared to reviews I had read on dining AT the Falls! We did walk to Rest To Go Go from town-but I was in heels...and wouldn't do it again :) It was a good walk!

Niagara-on-the-Lake was truly a special little place. Wineries everywhere. And Eva offers tickets to their winery next door for a complimentary tasting.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank whitney1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews