We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible host, very bossy, does not care (Gail)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible host, very bossy, does not care (Gail)”
Reviewed September 3, 2010

As soon as we got there, we were told all the horrible rules in the house like paying to get a drink and it was 40 degrees outside. Bed had a huge lump in the middle and there was no space to walk around in the room. Picture on the web were deceiving. I lay on the bed and mis-alligned my spine. Hosts left without telling us where and how we can reach them. We left after 5 minutes of being there. They charged us full price and left a nasty message in my voicemail. The worst B&B ever.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mare20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manican, Owner at Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
We truly regret that this person did not enjoy their experience. We take pride in our hospitality and work to very high standards. Each and every guest is important to us. Hopfully they found a place that met their expectations.

You are encouraged to read the previous review from "bflips" who also stayed with us that same night.

Or read the review by "PeterErie_PA" who stayed in the same room a couple of nights earlier.

Just book with us and see for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    30
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
112
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
home
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2010

This circa 1820's home has a location that is close to everything, has parking, relaxing spaces, great beds & delicious breakfast. Dietary restriction don't faze Gail. Dave & Gail are both hospitable & helpful with suggestions & info for the area. Considering the age of the home it is quite spacious & the bathrooms are very modern.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bflips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Good spot. Very clean and great location. May be good value for NOTL but $180 per night is on the high side. Yes, all is relative, and NOTL is Oz; prices are high in Oz, it would appear.

Back to Apple Tree. Landlords are delightful and breakfasts are excellent. Romance is just around the corner and everywhere there's a reminder that you are sharing the place with ghosts of centuries past. By NOTL rates, this is a very competitively priced place to rest.

The 2010 Shaw festival was a complete disappointment. Ideal Husband, mediocre; John Bull's Other Island, good; The Women, medicore; Doctors Dilemma, mediocre; Serious Money, awful; and Half Hour, excellent. Acting was the most disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mortakye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2010

If you are looking for a convenient, lovely, historic B&B with delicious breakfasts, delightful hosts, and a good value, this fits the bill. We vacation in Niagara-on-the-Lake every summer to bike on the trails along the Niagara River, visit wineries, see plays at the Shaw Festival, look for antiques and enjoy the restaurants, people and local community. We highly recommend this B&B to others who appreciate a 1820 home with lots of original charm, cozy rooms, and hosts who offer you all the comforts of home.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A2kgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada East
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Charming heritage house, fabulous food and gracious hospitality made our stay at Apple Tree Historic B & B a true holiday. The room was delightful and comfortable, and the whole experience was delightful. Thanks so much for making a long weekend feel like a longer holiday.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doyncha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Tx
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

My husband and I looked online for hours trying to make the best decission on a B&B in Niagara on the Lake. We read several reviews, recent ones and all positive about Apple Tree so we decided to book a nite. We are very thankful we decided to stay there!
The inkeepers, Gail and Dave were warm, welcoming and helpful. Gail's background in interrior design is very evident as this B&B is rich with detail and comfort. Our bed was very comfortable, the linens were of high quality and pretty. There were two other couples staying at the B&B the same nite. The walls appear insulated well enough to not hear their private conversation which is nice as I have been in B&Bs before where you could hear your neighbor.
Our room had a terrific jetted tub in the private bathroom. This was wonderful for a leasurely soak after a long day on our feet. We liked the location of this B&B as it is not on the main road thus quiet. It is a simple and beautiful walk to the main street to shop, dine or simply stroll along and enjoy the lovely flowers.
Our breakfast the next morning was gourmet as promised!
We will be returning for sure!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AintAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We had never stayed at a B&B before, and this was a great experience for our first one! Gail and Dave were great hosts, really friendly and they take the time to get to know their guests. Breakfast was unique and delicious. They gave us good recommendations on the places to eat and things to do. They are located close to everything. I hope we eventually go back and stay with them again:)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Historic Wilson-Guy House
Historic Wilson-Guy House
#60 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
#78 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antique Slumber B&B
Antique Slumber B&B
#33 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#3 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Papillon
Le Papillon
#76 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grace House Bed and Breakfast
Grace House Bed and Breakfast
#69 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast

Property: Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast
Address: 263 Regent St, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best location. In the heart of Old Towne Niagara-on-the-Lake this charming home is a two minute walk to theatre, restaurants, & shopping. Free parking in our driveway. 3 guest rooms, all with private en-suite bathrooms. Beautiful linens cover cozy feather beds. Period antiques grace natural wood floors. A delicious breakfast including fresh fruit, baked goods and a hot entre is cheerfully served at a specially prepared table. A warm welcome and friendly ambiance await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing