We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful house built in 1820 ... made for an excellent B&B experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful house built in 1820 ... made for an excellent B&B experience!”
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Adults looking for a wonderful old world charm experience need not look any further!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PostManRingsTwice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    30
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
6
114
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Gail and Dave made our first B&B experience amazing!

Me and my girlfriend had a fantastic stay at the Apple Tree Historic B&B. The moment we got there we were welcomed in. When we arrived Gail gave us a map, and drew out a route to fantastic wineries, and a fantastic gourmet restaurant.

She told us what to avoid, what to see and gave us some coupons for free tastings!
Next time we visit this will be the first place on our list of places to stay!

PS. Some of our favorites wineries were:
- Stonechurch
- Coyote's Run
- Chateau de Charmes
- Konzelman

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2010

This beautiful B&B is a true gem. The meticulously maintained 19th century home in this gorgeous town is a perfect weekend or summer getaway. My partner and I (we are a same-sex couple) have stayed in a lot of B&Bs in the eastern US and Canada, and this was unquestionably one of the top 10. First, the owners Gail and Dave are truly welcoming and warm hosts, with a terrific sense of humour. They are happy to make sure you take every advantage of the many culinary, cultural and outdoors offerings of their part of the world. Second, the house is beautiful. We stayed in the Macintosh room, which was very comfortable and has a newly renovated attached bathroom. Third, the breakfasts were delicious, abundant, and elegantly served. Gail is very creative and talented in the kitchen, and serves fresh local food. Fourth, the location on a quiet street steps away from the main thoroughfare meant that we did not have to drive anywhere. The weather was stunning (sunny with low 20s throughout) so we were outside as much as possible, biking through the many wineries, walking along the river, exploring the charming town's many outdoor cafes and restaurants. Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TorontoVisitorNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights in the Golden Delicious room. Very nice room with electric fireplace and deep jacuzzii tub. The house was bulit in 1820 and since I love old houses I felt right at home. Owners are super sweet and gave us free tasting coupons and restaurant advice. We also had very interesting breakfast conversation.
Location is perfect and we got to hear the clopping of the carriage horses hooves from our room. Very nice stay and would recommend to friends.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ruebrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Just 2 minutes walk from central Niagara on the lake. We stayed in the 'Granny Smith' room and although the smallest in the house, was pretty and well equipped - even had an ipod docking station. Free wi-fi access. Breakfast is served promptly at 9am with one sitting at a beautifully set table. Gail obviously loves preparing food as this comes across in the presentation of her food. Use of outdoor gazebo/seating area, subject to weather. A delightful change from chain hotels.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK_Baseball_Fans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2009

This home is charming and beautifully decorated inside and out. The bed and bath was very luxurious and the breakfast a gourmet treat. We are walkers and the location was excellent. The owners, Gail and Dave went out of their to make our stay the best it could possibly be. Many, many thanks. I give this my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank island2009girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

Our stay at the Appletree was great. The hosts, Gail and Dave, really make you feel comfortable and at home. We stayed in the Granny Smith room, which had one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in (plus a canopy, which was a nice touch). The bathroom was new, large and clean.

The location is perfect for visiting the town, touring vineyards or taking the short drive to the Falls. It's on a quiet quaint street but still only 2 blocks to downtown and less than that to a great Irish pub. Plus we were given coupons for free tastings at some of the local wineries.

But the highlight of staying here was definitely the breakfast. Each day was a three course meal: fresh fruit, pastry/baked good and a hot entrée. The hosts were particularly attentive to my date's food allergy, and the food was out of this world.

We'll definitely be back the next time we're in the area, and I highly recommend this place to anyone headed that way.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coachdonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Historic Wilson-Guy House
Historic Wilson-Guy House
#54 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antique Slumber B&B
Antique Slumber B&B
#33 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#7 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
#78 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
#31 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Papillon
Le Papillon
#73 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast

Property: Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast
Address: 263 Regent St, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best location. In the heart of Old Towne Niagara-on-the-Lake this charming home is a two minute walk to theatre, restaurants, & shopping. Free parking in our driveway. 3 guest rooms, all with private en-suite bathrooms. Beautiful linens cover cozy feather beds. Period antiques grace natural wood floors. A delicious breakfast including fresh fruit, baked goods and a hot entre is cheerfully served at a specially prepared table. A warm welcome and friendly ambiance await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing