We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming, and beautiful place to spend a weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2011

My mother and I had the most wonderful weekend staying at the Apple Tree B&B. Gail and Dave were so gracious and accommodating even when we had to change our arrival time. The decor of the Apple Tree was absolutely lovely. It is obvious Gail and Dave put great care into every detail of their home for their guests. We enjoyed sitting in the cozy living room at night. Gail always has soft music playing and tea, cocoa, etc. available to enjoy. Our room, the Macintosh was just beautiful, the beds were So comfortable, and the bathrooms were wonderful! The breakfasts were absolutely delicious. We really enjoyed our time around the breakfast table! It was really delightful chatting with Gail and the other guests! The location is perfect to walk around and enjoy the beautiful town of Niagara on the Lake. Gail was very helpful with suggestions for great places to eat! We can't wait to return to the Apple Tree for our girls weekend next year!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 157 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

Location is great, breakfast food was tasty but many negatives make this one of the worst B&B experiences we have had. Bedroom (Granny Smith) was claustriphobically tiny - I could touch all walls from the bed - and hot (one small window over a roof). though the bathroom was very nice (whirlpool tub).Owners were not there to greet us upon arrival - and I do not fault them - but it would have been nice to have been informed by email prior to this. Instead, taped to the door was the keycode to enter and rules of the house - no shoes in the bedroom to preserve the antiques!!!! This seemed very weird and offputting and I never would have stayed here had I known that. This is after all a hotel, not your private home. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful but Gail was odd - she moved my scone off my plate (!) to put my entree on it (rather than asking me if I could move it), described the dish as involving good ham 'with no crap in it', and then described witnessing a lamb being born at a nearby farm, including gory details of the sort you mother teaches you are not appropriate at the table. We left right after breakfast and she insisted on hugging us both good bye as if we were old friends - I had just met her at breakfast! We frequent B & B's often and enjoy eccentricities, but this one was a little too weird for me. I would not recommend.

Room Tip: Avoid Granny Smith - too small for comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buffal0gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manican, Owner at Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

This guest (I do not include the partner because I doubt they want to be associated with this negative review) was over an hour late for check in time as clearly outlined in their reservation confirmation. There is ample opportunity to request a suitable arrival time outside of the standard check-in policy and they ignored the option. Although the room is not huge we would not be able to license a room as small as she describes it. In reality this B&B is not a hotel. It is a private home where guests can pay for the priviledge to stay and enjoy the house and hospitality provided by the host. Including the occasional heart warming story one of which is about the birth of a baby lamb. Our one house rule is that we do not permit street shoes in the bedroom. This makes it better for the quiet enjoyment for all guests and it does help to protect the 190 year old pine floor boards. The host is preparing and serving the food so it is entirely likely that she will touch your scone at some point. We strive for a high standard in food quality and we think you might be happy to know when there is no additives or preservatives. And who can't appreciate a hug from a friendly and cheerful host??? Over our 8 years here we have gathered a following of literally hundreds of returning customers that enjoy the home and appreciate character and hospitality of the hosts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We had a lovely time at Apple tree! The hospitality was fantastic, Gail and Dave made us feel right at home. They were kind enough to give us excellent restaurant, winery & shopping recommendations, along with winery passes. The breakfast was wonderful each morning and the BB was located close to everything Niagara on the lake has to offer. Overall, we had a great time and I would highly recommend staying at the Apple Tree to others.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Gail and Dave were excellent hosts. The home was built circa 1820 and was very charming. Gail was so helpful and gave us excellent reccomendations of places to go and sites to see. We took her up on most of them and loved it...it made our time there just as we hoped for! Finally, her breakfest the next morning was amazing....We've stayed at other B&B's but this by far was our best experience!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Granny Smith room. Although small, it was perfect for the two of us and we loved t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

In heart of downtown. Very short walk to restaurants, stores etc. The B&B retains the historic character of the area but with all modern amenities. There are 3 beautifully furnished bedrooms available with comfortable beds, up-to-date bathrooms and air conditioning. Guests are welcome to use the downstairs living room to relax or they can enjoy the backyard. Gail & Dave make it your home away from home. They are both very friendly and accomodating hosts and know lots about the local area. We stayed for 2 nights and both mornings we were served delicious breakfasts which included local fruit, freshly baked scones and a home-made main course. Thanks to Dave we were able to have fresh brewed coffee for us to drink earlier. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are hoping to return next year.

Room Tip: The front room was the largest. All were comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Stayed 2 nights at this lovely and well kept B & B. Easily within walking distance of the theaters, shops, historic sites and lake, this was a "no-brainer" choice.

The owners provided lovely breakfast and conversation, and we'd be happy to visit and stay again at the Apple Tree.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCrankyBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We had a great time at the AppleTree B&B! Right in town, and so close to the wineries in NOTL. We hope to return again someday :)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_Ambrusko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
Antique Slumber B&B
Antique Slumber B&B
#32 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#10 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfast
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfa...
#9 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
412 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast

Address: 263 Regent St, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $125 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best location. In the heart of Old Towne Niagara-on-the-Lake this charming home is a two minute walk to theatre, restaurants, & shopping. Free parking in our driveway. 3 guest rooms, all with private en-suite bathrooms. Beautiful linens cover cozy feather beds. Period antiques grace natural wood floors. A delicious breakfast including fresh fruit, baked goods and a hot entre is cheerfully served at a specially prepared table. A warm welcome and friendly ambiance await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing