We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Gail and Dave were excellent hosts. The home was built circa 1820 and was very charming. Gail was so helpful and gave us excellent reccomendations of places to go and sites to see. We took her up on most of them and loved it...it made our time there just as we hoped for! Finally, her breakfest the next morning was amazing....We've stayed at other B&B's but this by far was our best experience!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Granny Smith room. Although small, it was perfect for the two of us and we loved t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 157 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2011

In heart of downtown. Very short walk to restaurants, stores etc. The B&B retains the historic character of the area but with all modern amenities. There are 3 beautifully furnished bedrooms available with comfortable beds, up-to-date bathrooms and air conditioning. Guests are welcome to use the downstairs living room to relax or they can enjoy the backyard. Gail & Dave make it your home away from home. They are both very friendly and accomodating hosts and know lots about the local area. We stayed for 2 nights and both mornings we were served delicious breakfasts which included local fruit, freshly baked scones and a home-made main course. Thanks to Dave we were able to have fresh brewed coffee for us to drink earlier. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are hoping to return next year.

Room Tip: The front room was the largest. All were comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Stayed 2 nights at this lovely and well kept B & B. Easily within walking distance of the theaters, shops, historic sites and lake, this was a "no-brainer" choice.

The owners provided lovely breakfast and conversation, and we'd be happy to visit and stay again at the Apple Tree.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCrankyBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We had a great time at the AppleTree B&B! Right in town, and so close to the wineries in NOTL. We hope to return again someday :)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_Ambrusko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Gail and David provide a warm welcome from the moment you walk in their door. Take your shoes off and stay a while is what you get with smiles and good humored whit and truly, that's all you want to do!!! Their home is beautiful and the bedroom was cozy and warm even in the midst of winter! A warm blazing FIRE awaited us every morning along with a full-on health conscious yet gourmet (how'd ya do that?) breakfast! Sit and talk with these people - They are the kind of folks you want to get to know and return the hospitality if they are ever in your neck of the woods!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Truely a gem! Don't miss the opportunity to stay in this historic home (built in 1820) and enjoy the amazing hospitality of Gail and Dave. Choice bedding, lush linens, charming decor and a delicious breakfast are only some of the things that make this B&B great! Spent 4hrs conversing with the hosts after breakfast, making us feel like old friends sharing memories and laughter.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlairArmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

If you want to be right in town, this is a great little spot---not overly spacious, but just right for a night or two. Very Victorian and very cozy spot for a kick-off to the Christmas season! Gail and David will make reliable suggestions for where to eat, shop, bargains, etc. Right up the street from the Angel Inn. Home tour was on, so we could walk to many of the houses. Easy drive to wineries, Queenston and the Falls if you wish.
Highly recommended if you want a quiet get-away and privacy.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tumbleweed50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
Antique Slumber B&B
Antique Slumber B&B
#32 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#10 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfast
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfa...
#9 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
412 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast

Address: 263 Regent St, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $125 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best location. In the heart of Old Towne Niagara-on-the-Lake this charming home is a two minute walk to theatre, restaurants, & shopping. Free parking in our driveway. 3 guest rooms, all with private en-suite bathrooms. Beautiful linens cover cozy feather beds. Period antiques grace natural wood floors. A delicious breakfast including fresh fruit, baked goods and a hot entre is cheerfully served at a specially prepared table. A warm welcome and friendly ambiance await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing