We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silken Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Terrific B&B”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is a terrific choice for a stay on Niagara-on-the-Lake. Don and Melody are outstanding hosts; they are extremely helpful and welcoming. Breakfasts are delicious and the B&B is immaculate.

The B&B is a bit of a walk to the theaters, restaurants and shops, but very doable and the home itself is in a very nice location. Don was extremely helpful in directing us to easy, available (and free) parking near the the theaters, etc.

We had a great stay and I highly recommend Silken Dreams.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DCTravelFan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
204
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Wonderful overnight at Silken Dreams. Absolutely immaculate rooms, lovely decor even a heated bathroom floor! Breakfast was spectacular and Melody and Don made us feel so welcome. Highly recommend this lovely home!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Our third straight year in Niagara on the lake (three nights this year); our second straight with Don and Melody at Silken Dreams. We've now stayed in both of their second floor rooms. Both are big, airy, pretty, comfortable, just right kingsize beds. Both have fabulous over-sized baths with separate tub and shower. They pay attention to details…one I particularly like is the little refrigerate in the hallway between the two second floor rooms…a bottle of water; if you want to put a bottle of NOTL chardonnay in, it's perfect. This year (better weather) I spent one lovely late afternoon reading on their back patio overlooking a well-maintained and pretty garden with a bubbly little pond.

Breakfasts are fabulous…usually pretty unusual…we were the only ones in residence one night; so they asked us what we wanted. Our answer…bacon and eggs. Their initial response…"really?" Then they produced the best bacon and eggs you can imagine complemented by luscious fruit (amazing/every morning); particularly amazing when doused with a little ice wine from the local vineyards and a homemade muffin (they always have some sort of special bread/pastery/muffin offering. One of the other special parts of breakfast is conversation with Don and Melody. They are very nice, helpful and interesting people. This year when we made a summer jaunt to kauia, knowing they had been, I wrote and asked their travel advice…back came a very helpful note…just like the good hints, advice, tips, suggestions in NOTL itself. On that front, we suggest you don't miss the butterflies at the botanical gardens halfway to Niagara. Also a long walk (or bike ride) along the river between NOTL and Niagara is very nice if you want to walk.

And, of course, the theater is splendid…we took in three shows in our two days/three nights and loved every one.

Room Tip: Either of the second floor rooms is great (have not stayed in the first floor one); with a choice we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at Silken Dreams B&B Sept 20th and 21st. Don and Melody made
us feel right at home. Our spacious room was very clean and comfortable.
The bathroom was modern, roomy and very clean also. Melody is a great cook.
The breakfast can only be described as gourmet. The edible flowers
even tasted good. We all felt so comfortable and relaxed that we stayed around
the breakfast table talking with other guests long past breakfast.
We highly recommend Silken Dreams as a wonderful place to stay. A home away
from home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarrenandPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here for only one night on our trip around Canada, but really enjoyed it. The room was clean and comfortable, with a large and comfortable bed, a TV, and a full en-suite bathroom that had a separate shower and a clawfoot tub (and even a heat lamp and floor heating.) The hosts were extremely nice and prepared a delicious breakfast with fruit, banana bread, and an egg omelette in the morning. I would definitely come back if ever given the chance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izzy_yeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Niagara on the Lake is a wonderful place to visit. The town and surrounding winery and fruit orchards provide a lovely environment. To top it off was our delightful stay at the Silkendreams B&B. The rooms were large, very clean and up to date. We stayed 2 nights and had a wonderful full breakfast each morning. The innkeepers, Don and Melody were very pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed our visit very much and look forward to a return some day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKSTOCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay. Super clean, quiet, comfortable bed, large bathroom, within walking distance to the historic district and some wineries. The hosts are extremely polite and discrete. The breakfast is wonderful, fresh from local produce. Wonderful stay, I would most certainly return, and stay here. Thumbs up!

Room Tip: Garden room, first floor with large bathroom, no tub, double head shower instead, very nice, hardwoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald L, Owner at Silken Dreams Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review.. we enjoyed having you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
Darlington House Bed and Breakfast
Darlington House Bed and Breakfa...
#26 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#53 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Town Country Landing B&B
Old Town Country Landing B&B
#59 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Annette Twining House
Annette Twining House
#89 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cedar Gables Bed and Breakfast
Cedar Gables Bed and Breakfast
#85 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
39 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast
Apple Tree Historic Bed and Brea...
#80 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Dreams Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Dreams Bed and Breakfast

Property: Silken Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Address: 46 The Promenade, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy large guest rooms with king size beds, luxurious bathrooms with heated floors. Located in a quiet area of old town, wake up to a gourmet breakfast served using locally grown produce, then savour the delights of the backyard alongside the relaxing waterfall and pond. Every effort will be made by your hosts to make your stay memorable and restful. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing