We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parliament Cottage B&B circa 1840
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Thank you to our hostess for a great 2-night stay - we were pampered with warm hospitality, delicious breakfasts, and very helpful and knowledgeable suggestions about the region. We had a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ESEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 209 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Every detail attended to in this elegant but comfortable B&B. Scrumptious and very generously portioned gourmet breakfasts, bottomless cups of coffee or tea, very attentive hostess. Just a quiet and scenic 5 min walk to Queen St - perfect location for us. Isabelle is a wealth of information (restaurant recommendations, e.g.) and she does her utmost to accommodate special requests (dietary or otherwise); do your part by giving her plenty of notice so that she can be prepared - you will be delighted with the results. We have stayed here twice and are reluctant to try anywhere else because we think we've been spoiled! Excellent value for the money - can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a beautifully appointed small B&B within walking distance of the theaters of the Shaw Festival and the quaint main street . The rates are very fair indeed, especially considering that our hostess, Isabelle Parliament, provides an absolutely astonishing gourmet breakfast, with different offerings each morning: fresh fruit, homemade muffins, frittatas, quiches etc., all served family style at her gorgeously appointed table. One day, two couples and I, meeting for the first time, sat around the table chatting merrily for 2 1/2 hours!

I can't recommend this B&B highly enough.

Room Tip: There's a first floor room for those who have trouble with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

On a whim... we decided to take off for a getaway to Niagara-on-the-lake and lucked out by getting a room at Parliament Cottage. Super Cute.. Clean and amazing place plus friendly Isabelle serving a wonderful (and I mean ful) breakfast with fresh local fruit parfait, goat cheese fritata, toast, scones, jelly, sausage & even a chocolate truffle dessert! We were with friends who had never stayed at a B & B before.. so for their first time, they got spoiled and are now converts. I got up later in the morning - and found them sipping fresh coffee out on the patio after touring the pretty garden. We will gladly stay there again and not just because of the free wine tasting gift certificates... but that was a real treat too. We must have gone to 20 wineries in two days!

My Tip for last min. bookings like me
We call on the best places on line, knowing they are likely booked- but then, they will recommend another great place that may have a vacancy! That's how we have done it many times. All the owners know each other and will make the best recommendations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lootlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

It comes with no surprise to us following our pre-booking research readings of the extensive and highly commendable Trip Advisor reviews of The Parliament Cottage B&B that my husband and I’s experiences during our recent stay there met with all the previously reported and numerous ‘plus points’
We were left in no doubt that Parliament Cottage is definitely in the ‘Five Star’ rated B&B category, situated in the most beautiful and pristine town of Niagara-On-The-Lake .
The beautiful cottage and well-manicured gardens are expertly managed and operated by its owner, Isabelle who simply could not do enough for us to make or stay a most pleasant and enjoyable one
We concur with previous reviews that the quality and cleanliness of the accommodation is second to none and, in our opinion, the breakfasts prepared and presented to us by Isabelle was simply ‘fantastique’ and in worthy of a ‘Michelin Star’ rating
For all prospective travellers to ‘NOTL’ we would advise that any opportunity to stay at Parliament Cottage should not be missed

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RALPH822129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you are looking for a welcoming bed and breakfast experience in Niagara-on-the-Lake at a more than reasonable price, you cannot do better than a stay at Parliament Cottage. Isabelle Parliament offers a charming, homelike environment with delicious gourmet breakfasts and a wealth of information about things to do and see. Isabelle's stories about Niagara-on-the-Lake and it's fascinating history are a delight.
Well located just a short, pleasurable walk to downtown and the theaters, the neighborhood is quiet and restful. My friends and I find the rooms clean and extremely comfortable, and the beautifully decorated sitting room and private garden make you feel right at home.
Thank you, Isabelle, for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: For people who have trouble with stairs, Parliament Cottage has a charming and comfortable room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pandora77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I just returned from my fifth visit to NOTL and this charming B&B. Just a short walk from downtown Niagra-on-the-Lake and the Shaw Festival theaters, Parliament Cottage is a great place to stay. It offers all of the amenities and at a very reasonable price. The rooms (and my friends and I have stayed in them all) are clean and comfortable. Isabelle is a wonderful host, knowledgeable and helpful with lots of suggestions for places to eat and things to do. Her gourmet breakfasts are to die for. NOTL is also a great town to visit. In addition to the theaters, there are great wineries, potteries, scenic trails and parks, music and places to eat. I look forward to returning next year!

Room Tip: First floor room is very accessible for those with mobility problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenV2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,390 reviews
7.9 mi away
White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa
White Oaks Conference Resort & S...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5,102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,564 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,099 reviews
0.4 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament Cottage B&B circa 1840? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament Cottage B&B circa 1840

Address: 418 Gate Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $90 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a house with history. Enjoy the charm of yesteryear and the comforts of today. A blend of 19th-century Canadian antiques and modern amenities are throughout the house. The "cottage style" casual elegance of home and garden beckons you to rest, relax, and rejuvenate. Featured on the site "Best Bed and Breakfasts in Ontario" as good value for Niagara on the Lake. Located in Old Town...four short blocks to main street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing