We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverbend Inn and Vineyard
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This was our first visit to this beautiful property and we were delighted with the warm hospitality, professional staff and well appointed quiet room. We definitely want to return in the warmer weather to enjoy the patio and views of the vineyards and river. The complimentary continental breakfast was more than we expected and was delivered to our room right on time. Although the address is Niagara Pkwy the driveway is on John St and not well marked on a snowy day. No elevator can be a challenge so you might want to ask for a ground floor room. Ours has a lovely gas fireplace to keep you cozy on a Christmas morning.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank DWGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverbendinn, Manager at Riverbend Inn and Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

How nice that your first visit to the Riverbend Inn was over Christmas. We are pleased to hear that you so enjoyed your time with us. Glad you had the chance to take advantage of the cozy gas fireplace – a well liked feature that all of our guestrooms share.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the nicer weather, for a totally new experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
There are newer reviews for Riverbend Inn and Vineyard
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 461 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

I was never one of those travel deal seekers. Sure, when we had our dates for our annual sojourn to Isla Mujeres, I would shop around and try to get the best flight deal. But the dates that we travelled always took top priority as well as staying in a place we knew in a neighbourhood we were familiar with on the island. My sister-in-law on the other hand is a travel deal guru and this how it came to be that we were whisked away to Ireland, a couple of springs ago. In truth, we didn’t even know that we wanted to go to Ireland! But it was touted as being one of those once in a lifetime deals and so it was. Since that time, I too have subscribed to the Travel Zoo weekly newsletter with hopes that one day the stars will align and we will take that dream vacation to Prague, the Azores or Scotland. In the mean time though, Travel Zoo proved to be serendipitous when we were planning a short vacation to Niagara on the Lake. My husband actually did the booking and so I am not as familiar with the details as he, but as I understand it, we got a 2 night stay where each night was less than the other properties that we were investigating AND morning breakfasts, vineyard tours, a gift certificate towards an evening meal in the dining room and a departure gift of two bottles of wine. For a modest fee, he upgraded us to a superior room and ensured that we enjoyed a full hot breakfast as opposed to the basic one. Here is one little travel tidbit that I have learned with Travel Zoo-their upgrades all represent the same great value as their basic offers, so consider them. In Ireland we changed our arrival city from Dublin to Shannon, went from a midsize to a full size car and switched from manual to automatic shift. These affordable add ons, made a lovely vacation into an extraordinary one.

Still, when we book a deal on line we are skeptical that there is going to be some fine print that we didn’t scrutinize and we try to protect ourselves from disappointment. When we drove up to the Riverbend Inn that afternoon, we knew that we had nothing to fear. Our home for the next few days was a historic mansion with a fascinating history.The late afternoon sun was pouring through the terrace doors as we arrived to see our lovely room. With a fireplace in the corner and a gorgeous view of vineyards next door, we were well pleased. We poured out a bottle of fine wine and lingered in the warm sun. Wi fi was available on the terrace, so we were content to get caught up on the world and life at home.

We saw directly below us that there was a verandah where friends were meeting for a glass of wine and small plates and we made a note of it for the next evening. In the mean time, we had made arrangements to visit old friends at the Old Stone Road Grille that evening.We spied some chairs at the edge of the rows of grapes and concluded that we would not leave the area without spending some time perched there. Our beautifully appointed room and adjoining bathroom were luxurious and that evening after an incredible dinner, we slept like babies. Had we stayed longer or the weather had turned out to be not as fair, I could have imagined myself reading and sipping tea in the number of cozy sitting areas that dotted the inn. We had beautiful views of sunset the next evening.

The dining room and terrace that we had spied the evening before was equally charming and the food was exceptional. The chef “draws fresh inspiration from each passing season while using local specialties. Enjoy farm to table freshness from our herb and vegetable garden located just outside our kitchen doors.” Indeed, it was all true. Our full breakfast was a bacon, cheddar and brussel sprout omelet. My husband was so thrilled with his basic bacon and egg breakfast that he ordered exactly the same thing, two days in a row.

Later that evening after a day of nibbling and sipping, we were tuckered out and wanted just a quick bite before retiring to catch the football game on TV. The mussels of course were not local but they tasted as they might have been with enhancements of local wine and herbs. Our special indulgence was the slow roasted bbq pork sliders. The mild yet pleasantly salty meat was made sublime when the fat melted with it on our tongues.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kathryne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverbendinn, Manager at Riverbend Inn and Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words. It is wonderful to hear that you were so pleased with all aspects of your stay. We do hope to welcome you back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We have been visiting the Riverbend Inn periodically for the past 3 years
Sometimes staying overnight or just a quick visit to enjoy the dining experience.at their 4 diamond rated facility. ...
A truly lovely retreat away from our normal city life.
A beautiful facility in an idyllic vineyard-type setting. Peaceful and relaxing. A treat to return to. Especially after spending some time in quaint little N-O-L itself. Wandering through the Victorian Shoppes, Or attending a Shaw presentation..
Winter or Summer - always consistently great..
Super rooms (limited in number but not in size / quality / appointments). Plus a nice little Bar area and lovely Dining Room - with a menu consistent with the quality one would expect from the Riverbend.
And their inclusive "side deals" - as in wine tastings and dinner discounts are always appreciated.
Have found the Staff attentive - from the front Desk to the back (Dining)
Not inexpensive. But very competitive with other similar quality locations in the N-O-L area.

I have used the Riverbend as a performance prize for 2 of my business associates this past year. .
Both had 2 night stays and both (including their wives) had nothing but the best of comments following their stays there..

Thumbs up to the Riverbend!!!!! Can't wait to get back there.myself
.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverbendinn, General Manager at Riverbend Inn and Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

So happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at the inn . We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about your experience. We really do value our guests and often feel like they become a part of the Riverbend family. Look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We arrived at the Inn at 5pm and the receptionist was Very friendly and Helpful... The room was Very Nice and the Gas fireplace made the difference.... everything was clean..... Room service was Great and the staff was wonderful..... Breakfast and dinner at the Inn was Awesome!!!! Food was Worth the Money..... Very TASTY!!! We would visit again and tell everyone about this place.....OH! The Wine tasting was GREAT!!!!

Room Tip: I would choose the upper floor... Less noise with wood floors... Overall Very Good
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverbendinn, Manager at Riverbend Inn and Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

We are delighted you chose the Riverbend Inn to celebrate your 10th Anniversary and do appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. How nice to hear that you were so pleased with all aspects of your stay. We will be sure to share your comments with the team. Look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I arrived there on a Sunday for a 2 night getaway to Niagara-on-the Lake. We arrived at 1:15 pm, knowing that check-in time was 4:00, but hoped for the best. The receptionist coldly told us that check-in time was 4:00. We acknowledged that, but asked if there was a chance to get in early. She stated it's not likely since our room was still occupied. Knowing checkout time is 11:00, we stated that and she said there was nothing she could do. We didn't pursue the issue further, since her attitude did not project concern or helpfulness.

We departed and returned about 3:15, and spoke to a different receptionist who was quite friendly and immediately checked on our room. She politely informed us it was not ready, but she would try to expedite. We walked around the beautiful grounds, came back to the lobby about 3:50, and at 3:59 were told that our room was ready. So it was a timely check-in.

The room was very well appointed and much larger that we had anticipated. That, along with the grounds and vineyards, made the physical layout very appealing.

The free internet was not password protected, and whether it was volume overload or some other reason, connection was sporadic and pages were freezing to the point where it was unusable at peak times. Since it was fine early in the morning, we assume it was a capacity issue.

Breakfast was included, and we were very pleased with the quality and selection. We also had dinner there and would say it was good, but not outstanding.

The final issue we had revolved around breakfast the second morning. Upon check-in we informed them that we needed to depart early and asked if we could get coffee and/or a snack before breakfast began on Tuesday. The receptionist told us she would check and let us know. When we checked back she informed us that the manager told her there was no way since staff would not be there at 6:30, our scheduled departure. The following day I asked again, suggesting that perhaps a take out bag could be prepared the evening before. She again offered to check, and later informed us that it could be done. We were pleasantly surprised upon check-out to find two bags for us, each with croissants, muffins, juice, cheese and fruit. Very nicely done!

Overall, the stay was nice. With better attention to details, as discussed above, it could have been outstanding.

Room Tip: Our Premium Room with 2 Queen beds was very nice.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverbendinn, Manager at Riverbend Inn and Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

We are delighted you were pleased with your accommodations and the lovely grounds and vineyards. It is however disappointing to hear of your initial encounter at the front desk. Please know that your comments will be addressed with this team member. We want our guests to feel welcomed when they arrive regardless of who is greeting them or under what conditions. Glad to hear your return later in the day was welcoming and accommodating.

Our breakfast service in the dining room begins at 8 am, so it would realistically not have been possible to open it in time for your 6:30 am departure. We are however glad to hear that the food and beverage manager’s suggestion to offer a continental bagged breakfast was so well received and appreciated.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to see you back soon !

Riverbend Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My sister and I had a wonderful, much needed get away. We found a package deal through Get My Perks, for three days and two nights that included a huge breakfast each morning, $25 towards a delicious dinner and three free wine tastings! The regular price would have been $500 without the extras, and we got it for $300. We upgraded our room to one with two queen sized beds for an extra $50. The beds were very comfortable and the five feather pillows were so luxurious. There were candies on our pillows every night and the bath robes were also a treat. All of the staff were friendly and helpful.
We even got a parting gift of a bottle of Riverbend wine when we left! We can’t wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuntPeggy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

I must say this was a mixed bag. My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights while we explored the wine region at Niagara on the Lake. The building and grounds are beautiful, no arguments there. The rooms are charming and contain everything you could possibly want, bar usable wifi (it is available but signals were too weak on the third floor). The deck chairs overlooking the vineyard out on the lawn are a great place for an after dinner bottle of wine. Unfortunately the staff left a bit to be desired. We went to the counter to check in and were ignored by 2 staff at reception till one told us that the other woman would assist us shortly. The most disappointing aspect was the restaurant. We initially went down for a early lunch as we had slept in at 11am to be told to come back at 11:30am which was absolutely fine and understandable. At approximately 11:40am we went back down to try again and were told that the chef was unavailable till after 12pm. Not really good enough, if we were told that initially we could have made our way into town to go elsewhere. We weren't even offered a seat and a drink to wait. Unfortunately we were both disappointed by this, hence the average score.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Davo2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
1.0 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,532 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,363 reviews
1.1 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
486 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,037 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbend Inn and Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbend Inn and Vineyard

Address: 16104 Niagara River Pky, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#11 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $176 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverbend Inn and Vineyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverbend Inn ; located outside one of the prettiest towns in Canada, along one of the most scenic roads anywhere in the world, stands a Georgian mansion surrounded by 17 acres of vineyards, manicured lawns and gardens, and only minutes from the old town of Niagara-on-the-Lake. Recently restored, all will enjoy the countryside from our bar and restaurant, vineyard patio or settle into one of our individually appointed rooms reflecting our commitment to the finer things in life. Drop by and enjoy a glass of our own Riverbend wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Riverbend Inn and Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverbend Inn And Vineyard Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing