We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverbend Inn and Vineyard
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed May 13, 2008

After hearing good things about The Riverbend Inn we booked with another couple for a short get away. I have to say all four of us were pretty disappointed. All of our dinners were a let down. My husband's in particular was very bad. Scallops that had not been cleaned properly.....full of sand. Pretty bad!!! Its a shame because the property is quite nice but the food is really just run of the mill, perhaps even worse. There are so many other nice places to dine in the area. Another thing we noticed, the entire time we were there not one staff person asked if everything was okay, if there was anything they could get/do for us. Even upon checkout, normally they ask if your visit was good but nope, not here!!! Just didn't seem like anyone cared or was interested.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the food
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank torontocharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    111
    43
    23
    14
See reviews for
31
317
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markham
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2008

We stumbled upon this location during a recent trip to Niagara on the lake. The location is outside of the main core of the town with an onsite vineyard so it was nice and quiet. The rooms were spacious and well appointed an the food was excellent. There was a lovely lounge to relax in front of the fire place. Overall a nice relaxing location and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelcritic-ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finger Lakes, NYS
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2007

For 9 years my husband and I have travelled to Niagara-on-the Lake and have stayed at Vintage Inn properties. This year, we decided to stay some place different, and are thrilled that we selected the Riverbend Inn. Beautiful, spacious, clean guestrooms and a friendly staff. We will always rebook the Riverbend Inn on all of our future mini-vacations to Niagara-on-the-Lake.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2007

The Inn itself is just gorgeous and the rooms are tastefully decorated and quite large. We enjoyed the nice intimate setting of a small Inn rather then one of the larger hotels in Niagara-on-the-Lake. The hosts and staff were just wonderful and so friendly and accommodating. The food is excellent and some people noted the service to be slow, but this is not a large move-them-in and move-them-out kind of place, relax and take in the surroundings. The property is spectacular with their own vineyard so you can have wine from the grapes grown right outside your door. With the Niagara Parkway trail right across the street it is convenient to go for a bike or walk. Highly recommend this wonderful Inn!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave_and_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2007

We stayed at this inn for 2 nights in September. We stayed there as part of a visit to Niagara Falls, preferring a quieter location away from the neon lights of Niagara Falls. The inn and grounds are lovely, quiet and peaceful. Our room was huge with a lovely view to the gardens. The staff was friendly and helpful. I think the prices for the rooms are a bit high but they seem competitive with comparable inns in the area. The restaurant is pricey, especially the regular (versus the lounge) menu. You can only order from the lounge menu in the lounge (not the main dining room) which seemed a bit snooty for my taste. The quality of the food from the lounge menu was mixed, but some items were delicious (try the smoked chicken sandwich). We had excellent service from the restaurant staff. The drive to Niagara Falls was beautiful and not a problem although we were visiting in September when there were fewer tourists. It might be a problem during the peak season. Overall, I would recommend the Riverbend Inn.

Stayed September 2004
Helpful?
Thank MiMi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2007

Just returned from an overnight stay at Riverbend Inn. Room very comfortable and roomy...beds great. Staff exceptionally friendly and breakfast really nice.
Would stay again....beautiful grounds and all very well maintained.

  • Liked — Quality of accomodation and surrounding areas
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

SLOW service! Appetizer (scallops) off lounge menu was EXTREMELY SALTY! Tilapia off menu was SALTY and served over overpriced tomato chunks and a few peas with a fancy name. Beef tips were nothing great, served with potatoes with a fancy name were french fries with sea salt. Go to a local bar and pay half the price instead. Also- if sitting outside- be prepared for a sewage smell. HORRIBLE $100 WASTED! We should have complained more- but only one waiter available. UGH! Bypass this place!

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank IzzyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
1.1 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
1.3 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
1.0 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbend Inn and Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbend Inn and Vineyard

Property: Riverbend Inn and Vineyard
Address: 16104 Niagara River Pky, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#11 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverbend Inn and Vineyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverbend Inn ; located outside one of the prettiest towns in Canada, along one of the most scenic roads anywhere in the world, stands a Georgian mansion surrounded by 17 acres of vineyards, manicured lawns and gardens, and only minutes from the old town of Niagara-on-the-Lake. Recently restored, all will enjoy the countryside from our bar and restaurant, vineyard patio or settle into one of our individually appointed rooms reflecting our commitment to the finer things in life. Drop by and enjoy a glass of our own Riverbend wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Riverbend Inn and Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverbend Inn And Vineyard Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing