We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, beautiful spot”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Applewood Hollow Bed and Breakfast
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food, beautiful spot”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The property is unbelievably gorgeous, with little accents everywhere making it so charming. Jane is such a nice woman. I felt so peaceful when I visited, and after being fed the most delicious breakfast, I was not ready to leave! Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaeli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
81
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Recently stayed at Jane's B&B for a quick getaway. Not only is the home gorgeous, well appointed and comfy, but breakfast was amazing. Nestled in the heart of wine-country, not too far off the highway and close to all attractions, Applewood is a gem. And...you couldn't ask for a better hostess. Jane has a heart of gold. takes great care of her guests and is integrally connected to all kinds of local outreach which makes supporting her in her humanitarian efforts all the more important.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing. Have skylights, walk out onto deck. Private with all amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlg46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The property is breath-taking (its literally picture perfect), and the rooms are spectacular (open and bright yet cool and cozy), but above everything else, nothing beats the breakfast...best in town, hands down!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Applewood and had the pleasure to enjoy what I considered the most private and beautiful B&B I've ever stayed in (and I have stayed in a few). Jane is one of the warmest and friendliest person, full of advice and recommendation in what places to stay, and makes the most amazing waffles and home made jam. BUT the highlight of this trip is we have two small children and they truly enjoyed the chickens and the gorgeous garden that Jane has. My oldest is still talking about Jane's chickens :-) The atmosphere you will find in this place is quiet, tranquil and serene. We are definitely going to come back.

Room Tip: Both rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were looking for a nice place to stay while going to see the falls. It was a bit far from the falls but we decided we on this place anyways.

We were SO glad we did. Niagra Falls is completely commercialized, not really our thing. Jane's house is in Niagra-on-the-Lake which is a beautiful town with nice shops, restaurants, orchards and wineries. And it's a very pretty 20 minute drive to the falls.

The house is beautiful and Jane is a very gracious host and I cannot stress enough how beautiful and relaxing her property is. The gardens belong in a magazine! There is shade for the summer, and lots of places to sit and enjoy outside time. There are also trails through the woods for you to enjoy (although we had no time). Breakfast was fantastic as well. She used eggs hatched by her own chickens, gathered that morning, to make a quiche. I am not a quiche fan, but I thought this one was fantastic (and so did everyone else).

Jane makes you feel very welcome and is happy to tell you many things to do in the area whether your interests are nature, history or the falls.

Normally, I am fan of variety, but when we come back up to Niagra, I won't even look at another place, we will just book with Jane :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jspin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantow
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this wonderful B&B for 2 nights in June. Not only do the premises deliver everything that the website promised - it was actually nicer than we imagined!

The rooms were very clean; the bedroom loft featured sky lights, and the living room had a walk-out sliding glass door to the deck, and the rooms were decorated with the owner's photographs and artwork . Every morning, we received a fresh cooked, scrumptious, breakfast from Jane, the owner of the property.

What really set this B&B apart from other properties I've stayed at is the passion and enthusiasm Jane brings to her job, and her community. Not only is she an incredible resource for what to do & where to go in the area, but she is also takes a genuine interest in her guests and you get the impression that she truly loves meeting new people.

We left wishing we could stay longer - and there's really no better compliment than that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

What a memorable place! The rich warm colours of this house, complete with the welcoming genuine hosts, and the stunning willow, tulip, and maple tree backdrop make this B and B one of the best places I have ever stayed. The food is excellent - all locally sourced whenever possible. I will never forget visiting the lovely little chickens as well and meeting your cute little puppy Sadie! Thank you so much... this place is a true gem.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms here, the Willow Room and the Sumac Room. Both are very cozy but the sumac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
1.3 mi away
Historic Locust Grove Canada Bed & Breakfast
Historic Locust Grove Canada Bed...
#74 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
27 reviews
2.4 mi away
Old Town Country Landing B&B
Old Town Country Landing B&B
#59 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
26 reviews
2.3 mi away
A Vineyard View Bed and Breakfast
A Vineyard View Bed and Breakfas...
#55 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cobblestone Bed and Breakfast
Cobblestone Bed and Breakfast
#90 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
14 reviews
2.0 mi away
Carbonnel Bed & Breakfast
Carbonnel Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
159 reviews
2.1 mi away
A Lil Bit Of Eden
A Lil Bit Of Eden
#79 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Hollow Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Hollow Bed and Breakfast

Property: Applewood Hollow Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2230 Four Mile Creek Rd, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Applewood Hollow Bed and Breakfast, a custom designed home inspired by our love of music, art and nature.At Applewood Hollow you’ll enjoy the privacy of your own three room suite which opens onto our woodland garden terrace and the forest beyond. In the summer you’ll wake up to the sounds of Baltimore orioles, cardinals, mockingbirds and a wide variety of songbirds as well as the occasional visit from ducks in our fish pond.Only a four minute drive from the old town of Niagara we are conveniently located close to the bike paths and winery route. If you’re artistically inclined feel free to bring your sketch pad along and enjoy our gardens and the woodland scenery. History lovers will have access to a wealth of information from our personal library as well as some of the stories from Palatine Hill, a nearby site that housed one of the first mills in Ontario and the Servos family cemetary which still remains.Experience the beauty of all four seasons at Applewood Hollow! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing