We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it..”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Applewood Hollow Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed June 14, 2011

This was our first stay at a B & B and it was great. Jane and Brian are wonderful hosts; very friendly and a great knowledge of the area which was helpful in planning out our agendas for the day. The room was lovely and the loft bedroom was awesome. Beautiful gardens all around - very relaxing atmosphere and the breakfasts were delicious!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adhoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Applewood Hollow Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 110 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2011

We went to Applewood Hollow B&B at Niagra-on-the-Lake for the US Memorial Day Weekend, and our expereince was wonderful! We met up with a couple that we originally met on our honeymoon in Jamaica and it was the perfect setting for our reunion. We stayed 3 days and 2 nights. The couple we met up with had been at this B&B before, but it was my husband and I's first time at a B&B. It had 2 loft style bedrooms equiped with a full bathroom, living room, and bedroom upstairs. The sitting area was a perfect place for the 4 of us to drink our wine and play cards. It also had a patio with a patio set for enjoying the beautiful weather outdoors. We shared a kitched which was stocked with coffee, tea, and water. The owner, Jane asked us what time we would like breafast (Nice that it wasn't pre-determined) as I am not a early riser. She had a completly homeaid and farm-fresh breakfast ready for us exactly on time. It was sooo yummy, especially the apple walnut french toast! Jane also gave us recommendations for places to visit while we were there. Her husband also gave wine tours, which we did not know, and had booked one elsewhere beforehand. So if you are interested in the wine tours ask if he is booked up yet, as he was willing to take people to as many as they could fit in versus the traditional tours where you go to 3 or 4 wineries. I would stay at this B&B again, and hope to make it a yearly tradition! Make sure you bring cash or check to pay for the room as she does not accept credit cards.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ksmiles3OD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Our 10th trip to Applewood Hollow, and it's just as amazing now as it was the first time, if not better! Jane provides the most relaxing atmosphere. The breakfasts are wonderful, and the grounds are amazing. See you next year!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We went to Canada last summer looking for a different experience.We were very lucky finding this place. Our holidays were fantastic and our kids will never forget the trip. We received nice details daily, we felt at home....The area is just beautiful. Our kids loved breakfast.. Jane was very nice with us and we enjoyed her music and advises very much.The garden was beautiful and with beautiful flowers and plants.We were invited to collect eggs daily...we wil not forget our week in this dream-house. THANK YOU JANE....Elena,Francisco,Elena and Lucia. W958293392@gmail.com

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REYSANDELPOZO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

My husband and I searched for the perfect place within our budget in NOTL and Applewood Hollow was a quite a find. We traveled to NOTL for our 2nd anniversary and spent 2 nights in this charming B&B. We had never stayed in a B&B before and did not know what to expect. Jane was such a welcoming host. She went above and beyond to provide a great experience for us. In addition to the AMAZING breakfasts that she prepared (all fresh, compliments to her garden and hens right outside her door), she sat down with us and provided all of the information we needed to have a great stay. She gave us recommendations for restaurants, wineries and bike trails. She had a true passion for welcoming people not only into her B&B, but into her town. She is passionate about the area and all of the unique things it has to offer. I would highly recommend Applewood Hollow Bed and Breakfast to anyone planning a trip to NOTL. We are already talking about when we can go back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myrtle85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

My husband & I celebrated our 2nd anniversary in the Niagara Region and spent two nights at this beautiful B&B. Jane is such a sweetheart who quickly responded to my email inquiries ahead of time and was just as warm and friendly when we arrived. She went out of her way to suggest places to eat & things to do in the area, accomodated us with an early breakfast the next morning as we had a tour booked, and even offered us sweatshirts when we thought it might be cold! As for the breakfasts, OMG, they were BEYOND amazing and were by far the best I had during our entire stay in the area. Everything was homemade from the fresh jams, chocolate espresso muffins (*I can't wait to make these!), waffles and fritattas compliments of the hens outside! Our room was wonderful, that we loved the loft with the skylight and a gas fireplace in the corner to take the chill off in the evenings. We didn't realize there wasn't any TV reception when we booked, but there is a TV in the room to watch either VHS movies from the inhouse selection or we noticed a movie store in town to rent DVDs if need be, however we found we didn't miss it at all. The grounds are beautiful that we went for an early morning walk and loved reading thru the photo & history albums Jane had put together about the grounds. It's a quick 7-10 minute drive into the main street of NOTL however we did find that if we went into town for the evening we had to ensure a DD as there doesn't seem to be a taxi service there? but overall we just loved our stay @ Applewood and have already highly recommended it to our friends! Thanks Jane & Brian!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OB12B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

My husband and I had the great pleasure of staying at Applewood Hollow during a weekend in September 2010. Our friends had given us a gift certificate to this lovely place as a wedding gift. We decided to stay an extra night, and we were so glad we did. This B&B was amazing! The hosts were so warm and friendly. The place was clean and comfortable. Sweet dreams were easy to achieve in this quiet, peaceful place. We particularly enjoyed eating the breakfasts made of almost entirely local foods: frittata with fresh herbs and tomatoes from the garden, peach-blueberry crisp with local fruit, zucchini-expresso-chocolate muffins, and more! The most local of foods were the eggs: made fresh by the 6 beautiful chickens that live on the property! The chickens have a little coop in the beautiful garden, but they are also let out to roam free on the property. Those were happy chickens!

The B&B is also very conveniently located. It's just minutes from the town center of NOTL. One evening, my husband and I walked down to the Strewn winery and had a delicious meal, before walking 7 minutes back to the B&B.

We really loved staying at Applewood Hollow and can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agousse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
6.4 mi away
Woodbourne Inn
Woodbourne Inn
#17 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
130 reviews
2.3 mi away
A Vineyard View Bed and Breakfast
A Vineyard View Bed and Breakfas...
#49 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
103 reviews
2.4 mi away
WeatherPine Inn
WeatherPine Inn
#40 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cobblestone Bed and Breakfast
Cobblestone Bed and Breakfast
#98 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
14 reviews
2.1 mi away
1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast
1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast
#74 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
40 reviews
2.4 mi away
Old Town Country Landing B&B
Old Town Country Landing B&B
#58 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Hollow Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Hollow Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2230 Four Mile Creek Rd, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Applewood Hollow Bed and Breakfast, a custom designed home inspired by our love of music, art and nature.At Applewood Hollow you’ll enjoy the privacy of your own three room suite which opens onto our woodland garden terrace and the forest beyond. In the summer you’ll wake up to the sounds of Baltimore orioles, cardinals, mockingbirds and a wide variety of songbirds as well as the occasional visit from ducks in our fish pond.Only a four minute drive from the old town of Niagara we are conveniently located close to the bike paths and winery route. If you’re artistically inclined feel free to bring your sketch pad along and enjoy our gardens and the woodland scenery. History lovers will have access to a wealth of information from our personal library as well as some of the stories from Palatine Hill, a nearby site that housed one of the first mills in Ontario and the Servos family cemetary which still remains.Experience the beauty of all four seasons at Applewood Hollow! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing