We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Trails!”

Niagara Parks Garden Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$106.38*
and up
Niagara-on-the-Lake Wine-Tasting Tour with Gourmet Lunch or Dinner
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Trails!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

So picturesque and plenty to choose from. So peaceful and quiet. It is in such a pretty area. There are some nice challenging hiking areas especially by the gorge.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank suew9823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    69
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weekend away for two”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Beautiful scenery. Very relaxing and fun to get out and wonder around. Enjoyed it very much. Will return again

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
655 reviews
235 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 620 helpful votes
“Terrific scenic path along the river”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Unlike most reviewers, we did not bike -- it was winter, and we had dogs! But the path is in a great spot, scenic, quiet, the river on one side (look across to the USA) and a residential neighborhood or wineries or Ft. George on the other side. Good for walking, not just biking.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank EagleEyeBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great break from the tourist hell of Niagara Falls”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I was stuck at a conference in Niagara Falls and needed to get out and see something real and natural, so I rented a bike and rode to NOTL and back on a very pleasant Saturday in mid-November. It was a wonderful break from the tourist hell that Niagara Falls is.

It is about 25 km each way (I didn't go north towards Fort Erie) and fairly easy riding if you are a regular rider - pretty flat except for the one big ride down the escarpment and then back up at Queenston Heights. There are lots of places to stop along the way for scenic views, but frankly most of time there are trees and forest beside you and you don't have views very much of the time.

The most unusual and unexpected stop was at a Buddhist Monastery just as you leave NF, that was very pleasant and serene and quite beautiful. I also had a very nice stop at Queenston Hieghts at the Brock Monument - about half way between NF and NOTL. You can also stop at the Butterfly Garden and other gardens, as well as wineries when you get closer to NOTL.

Another good idea is that you can leave NF early and spend time on the tourist walk before the crowds start to come and enjoy it before heading out.

There is a separate bike path almost the whole way though you have to cross the highway a couple of times. I did not see the path leaving Queenston Heights and took the road down, which really wasn't a problem, but coming back up I managed to find the path up so I didn't have to use the road, which would not have been fun. It really wasn't that big a deal to ride back up either, even after a sample of ice wine from a winery near the bottom.

I rented a hybrid bike from ZOOM Leisure bikes - they delivered and picked it up at my Hotel - it was a good enough bike, but it is never the same as riding your own.

There are a few places to use washrooms if you need, like at Queenston Heights or the wineries. There was very little car traffic, and they are respectful of my bike when I was on the road, but it was mid November and there would probably be much more traffic at other times of the year, both on the trail and on the roads.

There are a couple of nice parks along the river and lake in NOTL and they have very good gelato there for a snack.

So it is a great way to see the country side and get some fresh air and get out of NF for a day. However, it is not a stunning nature ride in the wilderness. But if a pleasant day of riding is your thing, it is a great way to send the day and tour around.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank CalgaryTaxGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petersburg
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful butterflies”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The conservatory is beautiful place with the variety of different butterflies. They flight in the tropical plants, eating fresh fruit, land on your shoulder. You can see, while they are in the cocoon.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Niagara Parks Garden Trail also viewed

 

Been to Niagara Parks Garden Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing