We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Us!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2008

This was our fourth time staying at the Hilton Garden Inn in Niagara-on-the-Lake and as usual we were impressed. For us, this is the perfect hotel, located right off the QEW with a gas station and food court easily accesible across the street. We arrived at 12:00pm and our rooms were ready for us. The hotel lobby, hallways, common areas, and room was immaculate and clean. The front desk staff were friendly and professional as was every staff member we encountered. Hotel parking was ample and convienient. The hotel fitness center and pool were sparkling clean and filled with plenty of equipment. In four stays at this hotel we have never encountered anyone using the fitness center or pool which made it seem very private. We have never dined at the hotel's restaurant or purchased anything from the "pantry" but appreciate their convenience if we chose to utilize them. The Niagara-on-the-Lake community is full of beautiful and pricey hotels. This hotel meets the standard of some of the more expensive hotels in the region we have stayed at but is a much better value. The hotel is just a short 15-20 minute drive to the town on Niagara-on-the-Lake.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tempesttost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,350 - 1,356 of 1,417 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2008

RECOMMENDED: New (at time of writing) Hilton Garden Inn is just off the main highway but far enough for no road noise. Property in good condition, rooms large, bedding extremely comfortable (VSS bedding system), good bathrooms and amentities. Limited fast food choices across from hotel otherwise no nearby restaurants. This std issue hotel is a good choice for visiting the Niagra on the Lake or just stopping off the highway. Niagra Falls is a mere 15 minutes away. Overall good choice.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank roadwarrior30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

We spent 3 days at the start of June at this hotel. We were slightly disappointed that it wasn't within walking distance of Niagara on the Lake, and that it was next to the QEW. Saying that, the hotel was really nice, check in quick, and the bonus was that they served home made cookies about 5.30!!

The rooms were very large and the beds extremely comfortable. As said in previous reviews, there was a fridge and microwave in the room, a toaster might have been helpful!!

We had a look at the gym and pool but didn't get round to trying them out. The bar area and restaurant is just off the reception, I think it would have been better if they had been cornered off, as they look like they've been added as an afterthought to the reception area.

The only downside was I went to do some laundry, and it was $2.50 each to wash and dry, and you had to buy the liquid from reception.

We went over the the food place over the road, and I day had a sandwich, which was the largest sandwich I had ever had for about £3!!

We thought the food in Niagara on the Lake was not that reasonable, and the quality not as good as other areas, but there's not a great deal of competition. We tried Zees, but that was quite expensive, it cost for 2 main courses, 1 wine and 1 beer cost about £40!! It was really nice and the restaurant was lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

A very nice clean Hotel. A little out of the way from the town of Niagara (NOTL) The king size room was just that, very large and spacious.
Only drawback is our room was above the outside dining patio. The hotel staff should close this at night. We were awakened at 2:00 AM by people that had had a little too much to drink spending time on the patio. It felt like they were in our room!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2008

As a Christmas gift, my daughter planned a weekend getaway for her & I to Niagara on the Lake. She originally booked The Prince of Wales Hotel with tickets to a play. Upon discovering that the POW hotel was non-smoking (I am a smoker), we changed the reservations to the Hilton Garden Inn.

The hotel is a bit on the outskirts of Niagara on the Lake. I actually thought we had taken a wrong turn as we passed farms and fields. It took about 15 minutes from the center of Niagara on the Lake to get to the Hilton Garden Inn.

The hotel is relatively new and quite inviting. The staff welcomed us at 2pm, ahead of scheduled check in time, with no problem. The staff was pleasant and courteous at all times. A nice touch was an enormous plate of fresh cookies at the reception desk. Yum! Free newspapers were available at several locations in the facility.

Our room was on the first floor. Although the sign on the outside of the door indicated no smoking, I was assured after checking, that it was in fact a smoking room. There were signs inside indicating no smoking as well and there was no ashtray in sight. The room had 2 very comfortable queen size beds, a large TV, dorm size fridge, microwave and coffee set up. The closet had plenty of hangers, an iron and ironing board. The bathroom was clean and bright with an assortment of toiletries, neatly presented on the vanity. The tub/shower combo had a curved shower rod which gave you quite a bit more room inside the shower. A large desk/work station held the phone and instructions for computer use. Our room overlooked the parking lot so I cannot say much about the view.

We ate dinner at the restaurant in the lobby. I had a calamari appetizer that could have fed 4 people. Huge and delicious! My daughter had the French onion soup and loved it. We both ordered the rib plate and were not too happy. I'm sure it's a personal preference but, they use a dry rub which seemed to make the ribs very dry. We went back again Sunday morning for the breakfast buffet. That was delicious! They had made to order eggs, pancakes, Belgian waffles you made yourself, bacon, sausage, home fries, assorted breads etc. Too much to name. Well worth the $12.95 per person.

The hotel also has an indoor pool and fitness room which we didn't even get a chance to look at.

I highly recommend this hotel if traveling to Niagara on the Lake.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tkubi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

Booked this hotel as was not able to get into Niagara-on-the-Lake, however was not disappointed by the hotel. The facilities was great for touring and location, just off the QEW was great for getting around. A 15 minute drive into NOTL was not to onerous, and getting the the Niagara Parkway was relatively easy.

Rooms were clean and comfortable, and above the usual expectations from hotel chains.

Breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pencefn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2007

My mom and sister and I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn for two nights (Friday/Saturday). The room rate was reasonable, and a welcome option to the overpriced hotels right in the heart of NOTL. The drive from the hotel to NOTL was about 10 minutes, and we were pleased to be also be able to drive into Niagara Falls in about 10 minutes. Good central location if you plan to visit both. For just $6 per person, we were able to add the breakfast buffet. The waffles were great, eggs were made to order -- overall very good value. The rooms were clean and modern, beds were comfortable, lots of room for the 3 of us. There was a fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room. We were given complimentary water bottles upon arrival. The front lobby had a fireplace and a comfortable sitting area. Parking was free (nice change from the Falls). Located directly across from Tim Hortons, Wendys and other fast food restaurants. Staff at front desk and in restaurant were pleasant. Two outdoor patio areas were welcomed by the smoker in our group.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianne444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.9 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
501 reviews
7.9 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,824 reviews
7.5 mi away
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn
#9 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
962 reviews
8.1 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,604 reviews
8.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake

Address: 500 York Road, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#11 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $98 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five storey hotel nestled in park like sating and less than 15 minutes either from Niagara Falls or Niagara-on-the-Lake features 118 spacious guestroom: 43 King rooms, 63 Queen rooms with two QQ beds, 11 Deluxe Jacuzzi Suites, which includes plenty of amenities such as: The Sweet Dreams Bed Experience, Luxurious linens and duvets and the remarkable Garden Sleep System adjustable bed, fridge, microwave and coffeemaker, 37” LCD High Definition Digital flat screen TV with on-demand movies and video games, complimentary wired & wireless high-speed Internet access, Ergonomic Herman Miller Mirra Chair, Secure PrinterON remote printing, two dual line telephone and MP3clock radio and iron/ironing board. Complimentary 24 hours Business Centre, Complimentary “to go” morning Coffee or Tea. We also offer a 24 hour Pavilion Pantry for snacks and microwavable meals, coin laundry service and complimentary parking and Electric vehicle charging station FREE of charge to our guest.Recreation Facility: Fitness centre with the latest in equipment by PRECOR, indoor heated pool and invigorated whirlpool and outdoor patio. For your dining pleasure The Great North American Grill – Restaurant, which offer Mediterranean & American cuisine and featuring made to order eggs and other delicious items, a hearty lunch and dinner specialties daily prepared by our talented Chef. Prime Rib Special every Friday & Saturday night. We can accommodate in our Garden View Ballroom conferences, dinner parties or weddings up to 220 persons with outdoor Gazebo for Wedding Ceremonies.Welcome to the HILTON GARDEN INN, Niagara-on-the-Lake and great Canadian Wine Region, Art Galleries, Golf & Journey back in time-relive the War of 1812 , “the Prettiest Town in Canada” please come and Witness History. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-On-The-Lake Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Hilton Niagara-On-The-Lake
Niagara-On-The-Lake Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing