We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than I was expecting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I only stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake for one night while attending the Shaw Festival and I would definitely return. The hotel was very easy to locate and super close to the Highway, but not close enough to be disturbed by the noise from the road.

Very clean, rooms are super large. I stayed in room 212 which is pretty much right off the elevator, but I was never once disturbed by the noise in the hallway. The beds were so comfortable, I didn't want to get up. The room contained everything you would want in a hotel room, including a Keruig coffee system. They were pretty stingy with the condiments given for the coffee station in room, but it was free so can't really complain to hard about that. There was also coffee to be had in the lobby, as well as a restaurant that stays open until at least 10 pm.

Likewise there is a full-service breakfast buffet in the morning for an additional $12.95 where the chef also does made to order dishes.

Big thumbs up for the complimentary in-room wi-fi. For whatever I rate I am paying at a hotel, it always annoys me to have to pay for wi-fi on top of that.

Check-in and check-out were so easy. I have never had such a smooth check-in and check-out at any hotel I have ever stayed in.

The one downside I had, is more of a downside with most hotels in general. While there were a lot of plugs in the room, there was no variety as to what type of plugs there were. I would like to see a USB plug in one room. It already sucks to have to travel with multiple chords when travelling, but to also have to travel with all of the various plugs is an even bigger pain.

*side note* I have also never been to any hotel in North America where they didn't supply a bible in the room. I didn't need one, but I am so used to seeing one in the bed side drawer that not seeing one made stood out for me.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

985 - 991 of 1,423 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here one night while my son was at an event in Niagara-on-the-Lake. A fair bit away from NOTL, but not excessive. Hotel is nice, kids loved the pool, rooms were clean and spacious. We had the package that included the breakfast which worked out to about $10 each for breakfast. The breakfast offered a wide variety and we hit it lucky as there was no line up. There were only 2 wait staff the day we were there (Saturday morning) and they were run off their feet. Food could have been a bit higher quality but as it was included, I won't complain.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libbyloujibjibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Second time to stay at HGI- Niagra on the Lake. As usual for Hilton Garden Inn's- staff friendly, well organized- from making reservation to checking out, no problems. Property well maintained,common areas neat and comfortable. Room was clean and inviting- bathroom spotless!, first area I check when entering room. Housekeeping staff friendly and dedicated to making travelers comfortable. Keurig coffee maker in room- EXCELLENT! Our room was close to elevator and vending, heard no noise from either. Easy driving to NOTL and Shaw Theater

Room Tip: address special requests @ time of making reservation ie: room on first floor, room close to elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel during our trip to Niagara-On-The-Lake. The room was clean and comfortable. The front desk personnel were very friendly and we had no problems checking in. We had a drink at the bar after we returned from dinner before going to our room, and the bartender was very friendly. For breakfast we had freshly cooked eggs, potatoes, and bacon; which was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Hotel staff did the best they could to check us in early at 1pm but the room had not been cleaned so we went off into town. Now here's the thing with this hotel, you don't come to NOTL to spent your time in the hotel. You come here for a good nights sleep after the wine tours or other off property activity so I'll focus on that. The rates here are expensive for the week and very expensive on the weekends. If you're expecting a free breakfast forget it (I would have preferred a free continental). At over $12 per person I would have expected more but this is a tourist area so be prepared for that. Coffee and tea are free and Tim Horton's is right across the street. Our bed supposedly adjusted for comfort but after several attempts to 'firm' the mattress I ended up on a hill, my wife in a valley so it's obviously not working properly. Kurig machine in room and heart-shaped tub were nice. Overall impression though is that we should have gotten more for the money, especially as it's about 1/2 Hr. from downtown out near the highway...

Room Tip: Rooms facing the rear of the property were quite but be prepared for the 'bird cannons' whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2FrumLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were so happy to stay here! Rooms were perfect main floor overlooking the forest OMG! Quiet and roomy adjustable beds even wow! A Kuerig coffeemaker and I was in heaven! Considering we were only sleeping there a night I would book a trip back to NOTL and stay here for awhile, the restaurant is amazing a great buffet with a super chef that if they lose him it will be a tragic loss to this facility I would highly recommend staying here to anyone

Room Tip: Main floor easy access for persons with any type of walking disabilities also the view♥♥♥
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ichn2Travl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very nice hotel. have stayed here before and will stay again. Very quick check in by friendly staff. Public area very nice. Room spacious, comfortable and very clean. Coffee maker, microwave and fridge available in room. Bed very comfortable. Great nights sleep no noise from inside or outside hotel. Bathroom has lovely products, great shower and again very clean. Not in down town Niagara on the Lake probably about 10/12 mins drive. But very convenient for Niagara Falls, wineries etc. Did not use restaurant or have breakfast so cannot comment. Service area within walking distance with lots of fast food restaurants, including Tim Hortons for breakfast if you just want something light. Great hotel would recommend.
.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.9 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
503 reviews
7.5 mi away
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn
#9 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
577 reviews
7.9 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,609 reviews
7.9 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
965 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake

Address: 500 York Road, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#11 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $100 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five storey hotel nestled in park like sating and less than 15 minutes either from Niagara Falls or Niagara-on-the-Lake features 118 spacious guestroom: 43 King rooms, 63 Queen rooms with two QQ beds, 11 Deluxe Jacuzzi Suites, which includes plenty of amenities such as: The Sweet Dreams Bed Experience, Luxurious linens and duvets and the remarkable Garden Sleep System adjustable bed, fridge, microwave and coffeemaker, 37” LCD High Definition Digital flat screen TV with on-demand movies and video games, complimentary wired & wireless high-speed Internet access, Ergonomic Herman Miller Mirra Chair, Secure PrinterON remote printing, two dual line telephone and MP3clock radio and iron/ironing board. Complimentary 24 hours Business Centre, Complimentary “to go” morning Coffee or Tea. We also offer a 24 hour Pavilion Pantry for snacks and microwavable meals, coin laundry service and complimentary parking and Electric vehicle charging station FREE of charge to our guest.Recreation Facility: Fitness centre with the latest in equipment by PRECOR, indoor heated pool and invigorated whirlpool and outdoor patio. For your dining pleasure The Great North American Grill – Restaurant, which offer Mediterranean & American cuisine and featuring made to order eggs and other delicious items, a hearty lunch and dinner specialties daily prepared by our talented Chef. Prime Rib Special every Friday & Saturday night. We can accommodate in our Garden View Ballroom conferences, dinner parties or weddings up to 220 persons with outdoor Gazebo for Wedding Ceremonies.Welcome to the HILTON GARDEN INN, Niagara-on-the-Lake and great Canadian Wine Region, Art Galleries, Golf & Journey back in time-relive the War of 1812 , “the Prettiest Town in Canada” please come and Witness History. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-On-The-Lake Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Hilton Niagara-On-The-Lake
Niagara-On-The-Lake Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing