We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra Effort Scores 4* in otherwise 3* Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2014

A shout out to Derrick the GM at the Best Western for a great save. Our reservation for hotel and theater started off hitting a speed bump. Two of three rooms we reserved through a third-party were wrong. Derrick found us trudging up the stairs of the Best Western and promised to 'fix' the miscommunication. He also offered us an upgrade to a nice king-size room. Another shout-out for the coordinator of the morning breakfast (whose name we never got) for placing fresh flowers on our table and sharing some local stories. Things to suggest... towels were just this side of sand paper, bathroom amenities (soap etc..) were 2*. Additional nice features... fresh chocolate chip cookies, comfortable bed and good a/c.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms highly recommended. Ask for 216
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LevGonick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 559 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel every time we visit NOTL. It is a small hotel off the main route into NOTL and close to town (but a long walk). It is quiet, clean, well run and with very nice staff. Our room was a double queen which was a little small but still comfortable. The beds were very comfortable. The room included a refrigerator which was useful. Compared to other hotels that include breakfast, the breakfast here was somewhat minimal (cold cereal, yogurt, fruit and waffles). No scrambled eggs and bacon/sausage on the breakfast bar. But that is the only small fault. We typically ride bicycles from this location all over town and to the many wineries around NOTL. There are several good restaurants within a short walk/ride. We always enjoy our stay here, can recommend it and will certainly come back on our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BaltimoreSkiBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear Bob; thank you for continually choosing to stay with us when vising Niagara, we really appreciate your loyatly. We are glad to provide such friendly service, clean rooms, and a convenient location for biking and exploring Niagara. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

The hotel is very well located, right off Niagara Stone road, not far from all the main attractions. It is fairly small and has a very intimate B&B feel. The building itself is surrounded by the parking lot. We recommend getting a second floor room, so not to be exposed to the cars coming and going. Although, they do not seem to have an elevator.

We stayed in room 202, which was a basic room with two double beds. The room was a quite small with a small window. The beds were not moveable. Overall the décor was a bit dated, but no major complaints.

Breakfast was good, but nothing fancy – your regular continental fare.

Room Tip: We recommend getting a second floor room, so not to be exposed to the cars coming and going
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E-Taimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

It was clean, but the rooms were small, and the location was good. The breakfast is average. There is a small variety of foods offered. We ate at the restaurant across the street the next day, which was much better.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel really takes it service to the next level. From the impressive Dog (Pet) policy, to the friendly breakfast staff. I am only disappointed we did not have more time to enjoy the hotel! The welcome package, with the Dog's name and the treats was very appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Wayne Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear Wayne, thank you for such compliments! We do love having guest bring their dogs and it's nice to hear that the extra touches we do are so appreicated. We're sorry you could not stay longer as well so you'll have to come back to Niagara soon!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Hotel is nice and clean, although bathrooms are quite small. Overall, hotel is on the small side but good for a few nights stay. Location is good, but you do need a car to get around. Definitely would stay here again. Staff very friendly and helpful. Free breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CNS431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Excellent customer service from all the employees made us feel very welcome.The restaurant had the best food in town. We have been to other hotels including a Vintage Hotel but the service was not as good. Room was very nice and clean, slept like a log bed was so comfortable. Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Steve, on behalf of my team thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was and we appreciate your compliments. I'm glad you had an enjoyable stay and such a comfortable sleep. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,390 reviews
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
493 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,099 reviews
6.4 mi away
South Landing Inn
South Landing Inn
#1 of 1 in Queenston
84 reviews
1.0 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Colonel Butler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Colonel Butler Inn

Address: 278 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $94 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Colonel Butler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Colonel Butler Inn offers an atmosphere of comfort and friendly service with affordable rates for visiting Niagara on the Lake. Accommodations are tastefully appointed, spacious and are well suited for couples, families, and groups. Rates always included our enhanced continental breakfast, parking, and wireless internet access. Plus, the hotel offers a convenient location for visting the town's numerous wineries, outstanding restaurants, wonderful shopping, and the renowned Shaw Festival theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Colonel Butler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colonel Butler Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Best Western Niagara-On-The-Lake
Niagara-On-The-Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing