We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The room comfortable with reasonably good lighting. I often find the lighting in hotel rooms has little to do with the desk area where I need good lighting in order to read. The continental breakfast was reasonable. The hotel was quiet so that my sleep was undisturbed. The desk clerk was hepful in ordering a cab for me and letting me know how far away my destination and preferred brand of gasoline station was from the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 567 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a lovely hotel and close to restaurants, shopping, theatres and anything else you may be looking for. The staff is extremely cordial and very well informed about the local area. I loved my stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel was lovely. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast offered was great. We relied on the hotel staff for local information and tour bookings. They were were very helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

They seem to have a culture of excellent service at this property. I had all kinds of questions when I arrived, they were all answered to my perfect satisfaction and done so with a smile!

The hotel is situated about 30 minutes walk from the Shaw theatre, I'd say 15 to downtown. An easy walk during the day but VERY poorly lit at night. Again, nothing to do with the hotel but be aware before you book. Or bring a flash light.

Nothing bad to say about the rooms except the carpet is a little older and could use a really good cleaning. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, pretty, tasteful, clean. The entire property is older but nicely taken care of. There is a lovely little balcony and patio you can relax on.

Breakfast was simple but nicely presented and definitely of good quality. You can make your own waffles which is always fun!

I wouldn't recommend the restaurant next door if you can avoid it. Slow (albeit pleasant service), sub par food and they messed up my very simple order.

I had some trouble getting a cab to the Shaw theatre (be aware it's SO hard to get a cab apparently...the very nice, very late cab driver told me they just don't want to go all the way there from St-Catherine's. When this happened, P**** at the front desk was SO so helpful.

I did wish the staff knew more about the local bus service. I ended up walking to the Fort George parking lot after checkout to get to my shuttle to the falls.

This is a good spot from which to explore the area. If you're not the shopping type (which I'm not...so while the town is lovely, there's not much to do), eSkoot and zoom bikes are around the corner. You don't have to drive through the downtown 'bustle' is you have a car. The hotel has bike racks right by the entrance where I could park my bike.

All in all, it was a good experience. I was extremely happy with the hotel and the wonderful staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianathecookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Diana, We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay! You are right in that we do have a culture of service, we take pride in being knowledgable and helping guests have an enjoyable stay. Please know that now that we are slowing down from our busy season we will be doing a deep clean in our rooms including the carpets.

I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience at the restaurant next door. I have passed on your comments to their mananger and what you experience with their food and service is not common place there.

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and we hope to see you again!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

As long time visitors to the Niagara area that usually stay right in Niagara Falls but this trip we decided to stay in Niagara-on-the-Lake to visit several wineries. We came across a cute Best Western there. Must be one of the areas well kept gems. It was beautiful from the outside. Upon arriving in the very clean we'll decorated lobby I was a little shocked to see a male employee sitting in the back office with both his feet resting upon the desk leaning back in his chair. I proceeded to check in where the front desk person was very friendly and knowledgeable of the area( young, dark hair in a bun). At first I thought the place was unprofessional until speaking with this young lady. The room was extremely clean and well put together. Breakfast in the morning with waffles which two young ladies were glad to help me with was wonderful. Very friendly staff all around. Just a note for the future, first impressions count and I'm glad the other staff made up for the gentleman I first saw on entering the property!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivian066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff was fantastic ... very friendly and helpful. The hotel is not very large and that was a plus since we felt more at home. Our room was excellent with a corner fireplace. The only thing we would have changed about it was the location of the television. It was in a cabinet and, although the television could be pulled out, it was difficult to view from either the bed or the living room area of the suite. We would definitely return to this hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the main floor since there isn't an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and for such high compliments for the staff! I am glad to hear you felt at home here as that is what we want for our guests. Being the quaint size we are, it does allow us to connect with guests more than a larger hotel. We look forward to your next visit!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was exactly what you expect of a Best Western, clean tidy room and bathroom. It is expensive for what it is but I told that is because of the location. No elevators so make sure you ask for a ground floor room if stairs are a problem.

Staff were very friendly and the complimentary breakfast was elevated by the fresh peaches and honey that one of the staff had made - they were amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucyLil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Lucy, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Our breakfast attendant, Lida, loves bringing in peaches each summer from her farm and they are definitely a big hit with guests! And as you say, since we do not have an elevator we can always secure guests on our main floor when they make a reservation. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,404 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
956 reviews
1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
497 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,789 reviews
6.4 mi away
South Landing Inn
South Landing Inn
#1 of 1 in Queenston
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Colonel Butler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Colonel Butler Inn

Address: 278 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $94 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Colonel Butler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Colonel Butler Inn offers an atmosphere of comfort and friendly service with affordable rates for visiting Niagara on the Lake. Accommodations are tastefully appointed, spacious and are well suited for couples, families, and groups. Rates always included our enhanced continental breakfast, parking, and wireless internet access. Plus, the hotel offers a convenient location for visting the town's numerous wineries, outstanding restaurants, wonderful shopping, and the renowned Shaw Festival theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Colonel Butler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colonel Butler Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Best Western Niagara-On-The-Lake
Niagara-On-The-Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing