We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mid-Price Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Being tired of B&Bs, we decided to try the Colonel Butler Inn at Niagara on the Lake and found the location and amenities very good. The breakfast in particular was quite elaborate for what was termed continental with eggs and fresh fruit from local gardens. The beds were SUPERB. There is a fitness room and free internet. Very good staff too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank nomit244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for giving the Colonel Butler a try! I'm glad our convenient location suited your needs so well and that you had such a great sleep on our comfortable beds. Yes, our complimentary breakfast is definitely a big hit with guests especially with our variety of fruit, yogurt, fresh baked muffins, and make-your-own Belgium waffles. We hope we have turned you into returning guests and if there is anything we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to let us know!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 576 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed with our granddaughter at this hotel for 3 nights and although the bed was comfortable it was not adequate for 2 adults. The pillows were rather stiff. On the other hand, the breakfast was included and was great and the location excellent with adequate parking. The staff was absolutely outstanding with helpful hints about where to eat and how to get from one place to another.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank rozor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Four college friends booked four nights at this hotel to attend the Shaw festival. We loved the facility, the location, and the staff so much that we extended our stay to seven nights. Everyone was so helpful and the rooms were so clean that we we loved the place. There is a wonderful front porch where we wiled away the afternoons playing bridge. A wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: No elevator so if you have trouble with stairs, book the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Nancy, thank you for such high praise referring our team as the 'friendliest staff in the world'! The staff and I are so glad it was such a great stay and it was pleasure chatting with you and your friends over your week-long visit. From all of us at the Colonel Butler, we look forward to seeing you again.

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We spent two days at the Colonel Butler Inn and left very happy. The rooms were clean although not overly spacious. The location was a little way out of town, but walkable.
The staff were excellent and couldn't be more helpful.
Our only complaint is we would have liked a room safe.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msh260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! Please know that although our guest rooms do not have safety deposit boxes we do have them at the front office for guests to use, I apologize if you were not made aware of this during your visit. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and hopefully you are able to join us again!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was my 4th stay at the Colonel Butler BW Inn. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The room was spotless, with everything in good working order. It is also convenient to the Old Town and the surrounding countryside. My only quibble is that in our room the TV was not all that convenient to watch from the couch or the bed. Overall -- a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank John W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear John, Thank you for your continued loyalty, it is always nice to have guests come back. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we will see you again!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 wonderful nights at the Colonel Butler for our 10th anniversary. We'd never been to the area and were nervous booking based solely on reviews, but I'm so pleased we picked this hotel. It was very clean, the room was comfortable and the staff was very accommodating. We enjoyed the full breakfast every morning. It's a short walk to downtown, a bit less than a mile, but its such a beautiful area that we took our time admiring the view and it was nice to walk off a bit of the Nina's Gelato we indulged in most nights. The money we saved by not staying at one of the boutique hotels allowed us to enjoy our trip even more. This hotel was perfect and we're already planning another visit four our 15th. We will absolutely start at the Colonel Butler again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Kris, we appreciate you choosing the Colonel Butler Inn for celebrating your 10th anniversary and we're thrilled that it was such a pleasant one! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and comfortable beds, and the scenic walk to the town's main street. If there is any way we can help plan your next visit for your 15th wedding anniversary, please don't hesitate to let us know!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the BW Colonel Butler Inn while vacationing in the Niagara area. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located very close to wineries and within walking distance of downtown Niagara on the Lake. We found the room very comfortable and quiet. We will definitely choose this hotel again the next time we stay in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janewpg145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,415 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
962 reviews
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,824 reviews
6.4 mi away
South Landing Inn
South Landing Inn
#1 of 1 in Queenston
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Colonel Butler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Colonel Butler Inn

Address: 278 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $95 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Colonel Butler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Colonel Butler Inn offers an atmosphere of comfort and friendly service with affordable rates for visiting Niagara on the Lake. Accommodations are tastefully appointed, spacious and are well suited for couples, families, and groups. Rates always included our enhanced continental breakfast, parking, and wireless internet access. Plus, the hotel offers a convenient location for visting the town's numerous wineries, outstanding restaurants, wonderful shopping, and the renowned Shaw Festival theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Colonel Butler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colonel Butler Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Best Western Niagara-On-The-Lake
Niagara-On-The-Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing