We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located with a 15 minute walk to the main high street of Niagara-on-the-lake. It's a small 2-storey hotel with a friendly welcome. The rooms were standard rooms with 2 double beds and a TV with cable channels. The rooms were clean and quiet with an air-conditioning unit which worked well though a little noisy. Breakfast was buffet style with a waffle-making machine and a toaster. The only cooked food was boiled eggs. There were a selection of breads and juices. The breakfast room was very hot with limited seating and poorly ventilated which spoilt the experience a bit. Parking was ample and free.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Levelheaded32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 549 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in July while visiting the Shaw Festival. We found it to be a clean but average hotel room featurewise with no particular high or low points. It was a short drive from the festival theaters in a quiet location with a free breakfast and close to a number of restaurants. The price seemed high but I think was reasonable in comparison with its competitors in the area. This was the second time we've stayed here and would plan to do so again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed recently at the Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, Niagara-on-the-Lake. Excellent small hotel. Great reception from front desk employees on arrival. Breakfast was excellent. Homemade fruit compote was the best topping for waffles we have had in a long time. Bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoAnne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

our stay at this best western was our first best western stay the hotel was easy to find and look very good from the outside the staff is very friendly and helpful is suggesting places to see and some free wine tasting coupons the room was very clean and comfortable the breakfast was very good basically an all you can eat buffett limited selection the safe keeping was very secure everything was done in front of you and received your key promptly the res rooster across the street is a good place for dinner did not try thr lunch as we were on a wine tour

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed for only one night and cut our stay short, the rooms are in great need of upgrading if they are going to charge rates like that!! The only thing that made me feel kind of ok about being ripped off was that we would be able to have breakfast there until we went down for breakfast and were not able to get in as the dining area was over full as it was!! We left and payed for breakfast some where else.
We will not be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. Please be assured that our rates are competitive for Niagara on the Lake, especially when you factor in breakfast, wireless internet, and parking all included within the rate. I apologize for you not being about to enjoy our breakfast. If we had known we would have offered a tray so that you could have our breakfast either on our patio or in your guest room. If you would like to discuss your stay further, please contact me at derrick@colonelbutlerinn.com or 905-468-3251.

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This area is entirely overpriced, so the hotel is following suit although cheaper than staying in the downtown square of Niagara-on-the-Lake. A perk is free WiFi and continental breakfast with free parking. Other than that, the rooms are nothing special and dated with small windows. Surprisingly, the A/C units in the rooms are modern and easy to figure out. I could not find a mini fridge in the room. We stayed for one night only, so I cannnot comment on housekeeping. The property is generally clean, simple, and almost bare bones. There is no concierge or bellstaff - just the front desk. The front desk clerk was very nice but messed up our room assignment twice before getting it right. However, she was very apologetic each time and we were not upset about it.
This hotel is not handicapped accessible as there is no elevator.

Room Tip: Ask for room on first floor if you have a lot of luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel's free wifi and complimentary breakfast. Being a smaller hotel, our Front Desk staff act as bellstaff and concierge and the staff are knowledgable and more than happy to help book dinner reservations or other activities. One correction I do have to mention is that the building is handicapped accessible as there is a wheelchair ramp to the lobby door and although we do not have an elevator we can gaurantee rooms on our main floor for those that require it.

We hope you stay with us again in the future!

Derrick Medcalf
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My wife and I and another couple stayed here recently and enjoyed it very much. The staff at check in were lovely and very attentive to our needs. We came here for a night away and to check out the wineries and they helped us choose some great places. The hotel is older but the rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable. Close to the main strip and to anywhere in Niagara on the lake really. Definitely recommended this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,381 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,748 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,551 reviews
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
493 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Colonel Butler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Colonel Butler Inn

Address: 278 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $97 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Colonel Butler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Colonel Butler Inn offers an atmosphere of comfort and friendly service with affordable rates for visiting Niagara on the Lake. Accommodations are tastefully appointed, spacious and are well suited for couples, families, and groups. Rates always included our enhanced continental breakfast, parking, and wireless internet access. Plus, the hotel offers a convenient location for visting the town's numerous wineries, outstanding restaurants, wonderful shopping, and the renowned Shaw Festival theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Colonel Butler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colonel Butler Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Best Western Niagara-On-The-Lake
Niagara-On-The-Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing