We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay In Wine Country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Innisfil Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Great Stay In Wine Country”
Reviewed November 27, 2007

My boyfriend is a farmer and this was our first weekend away and his first weekend off in over 6 months. We wanted to get away relax and but still have a good time.

After checking out many properties in the Niagra On The Lake area we decided to choose the Colonel Butler because of the price, wow were we happy we did.

LOCATION: The hotel is just off the main strip, about a 3 min drive I would say a 15min walk. We were here in the off season and it was a cold weekend so we choose to drive but it would be a nice walk in the warmer months. There is a Tim Hortons, a family style restaurant, a Sunoco and a Sports Bar all within feet of the hotel.

CHECKING IN: We had no problem checking in and actually arrived early but thought we'd stop in to see if our room might be ready a little early, they were more then happy to accomidate us and had us up in our room in no time.

THE ROOM: we stayed in a king suite and it was phenominal. The room is HUGE there was a very comfortable King Bed and then almost the size of another full room that has a fireplace, a sitting area and the tv. The bathroom is a little on the small side but who hangs out in their bathroom. They also had a small vanity outside the bathroom which was perfect.

THE SERVICE: everyone at this hotel is so friendly, they went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and when we inquired about restaurants not only did they have lots of personal knowledge on all of them but also had the menues of almost all the restaurants. They offered to make us reservations and when we arrived back at the hotel made it a point to ask how our dinner was. Very, very friendly!

I would highly reccommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to stay in the area the prices are great but importantly the staff are phenominal.

Thanks for making our weekend away a great one!

* If you are doing a wine tour while here I would highly recommend going to Hillebrand and doing the Art of Red Wine Session. For $25 you get a little mini tour, a wine tasting and get to make your own blend of red wine to take home. It is so much fun (and I'm not even a fan of red wine) and definatly something you MUST do!

  • Liked — The room and the staff!
  • Disliked — They closed the breakfast early
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelin_The_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    167
    46
    13
    2
See reviews for
109
243
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2007

Had not planned on staying at this hotel but we were having such a great time in Niagara on the Lake that we decided to add on another night and we were able to get a room here. This is a great hotel to stay in if you are looking for a clean, nicely decorated hotel with really nice people working there. The Manager and the front desk staff and the housekeepers were all so friendly and really wanted to help us to see and do everything that we wanted. When we asked about wineries, they had a map to help us. When we asked about the theatre, they offered to call and see about availability. They made great recommendations for dinner and we had a wonderful meal at the Charles Inn. We usually stay in small boutique hotels but this hotel was great and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — the staff and how clean everything was
  • Disliked — no problems at all
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank madrid54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2007

I used TripAdvisor to book 5 hotels for an 11 day trip of Canada, starting in Niagara on the Lake and ending in Sutton, Quebec. Car or bike is suggested if you stay at the BW Colonel Butler Inn but it is conveniently located for meals, winery visits and away from the traffic associated with Niagara on the Lake in the summer. It is a small establishment, but very clean, with excellent breakfast included in price. Personnel friendly and helpful when questioned. I felt this was an excellent choice for cost and value.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and breakfast.
  • Disliked — Facility is older.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junieSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
203 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2007

we had a pleasant stay here. we came to niagara for a wine tasting weekend. it is in a nice building and the rooms are a good size, clean and nicely decorated. it is in a good location with a tim horton's across the street and a couple of local restaurants i hear are good, the red rooster and the rest.

the hotel is quite close to the main area. we drove and we surprised how close the hotel was to everything. compared to other hotels in the area the price is great. we would stay again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff seemed sometimes confused
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unplainjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 7, 2006

We just stayed at the Best Western in Niagara-on-the-Lake and we loved it! We were there last Wednesday - we got the last room in the hotel and it was great! The room had a queen size bed and a fireplace - for the rate we paid it was a great deal (esp. in this town) only $193.50 with a AAA discount. We loved the breakfast - the waffles are wonderful. The staff are friendly and very welcoming. If you are going to Niagara-on-the-Lake, you must stay at the Best Western.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Best Western for one night on Canada Day/July 4th long weekend. I had not stayed at a Best Western before and was somewhat nervous about what to expect (I’m used to staying at 4* hotels) but I was pleasantly surprised. The atmosphere of this hotel feels more like an Inn than a traditional hotel. The check inn clerk was very friendly and all the paperwork was ready for me. As others have noted, this hotel is not on the ‘main drag’ of NOTL, but is only a 1-2 minute drive from it, which was convenient. We had a room with 2 double beds, which was very clean. I inspected the bathroom and found no hairs. Flat screen TV was nice, too. The hotel includes breakfast which was better than most ‘continental’ breakfasts I have had. They have a waffle iron where you can make your own waffles, as well as the usual cereal, bagels, danishes, and toast. The only thing I was disappointed about was the bike rentals. They have bikes on site which they rent out but I found the rates to be exorbitant – I think it was $12 an hour, which obviously gets pretty expensive for 2 people. All in all, though, a pleasant experience from a picky traveler.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank zzzoe_hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2006

We visit Niagara on the Lake about three times a year. Before going this week-end, we read the trip advisor review and decided to give this Best Western a try. I have no complaints. the people were very friendly, the room was fresh and nicely decorated and breakfast consisted of warm muffins, fresh fruit and a nice assortment of other items. the price was very reasonable for Niagara-on-the-Lake. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank luvtwotrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,281 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,957 reviews
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,636 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
919 reviews
1.0 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Colonel Butler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Colonel Butler Inn

Property: Best Western Colonel Butler Inn
Address: 278 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Colonel Butler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Colonel Butler Inn offers an atmosphere of comfort and friendly service with affordable rates for visiting Niagara on the Lake. Accommodations are tastefully appointed, spacious and are well suited for couples, families, and groups. Rates always included our enhanced continental breakfast, parking, and wireless internet access. Plus, the hotel offers a convenient location for visting the town's numerous wineries, outstanding restaurants, wonderful shopping, and the renowned Shaw Festival theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Best Western, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Colonel Butler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colonel Butler Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Best Western Niagara-On-The-Lake
Niagara-On-The-Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing