We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I will go back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Gables Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victoria Gables Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Canada
1 review
“I will go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

You'd never know Kathy and Don just started running this B&B the end of last year; every detail was thought of. Yes, the room was well dressed with large ensuite (including whirlpool tub). Yes, the house was beautiful. Yes, the backyard and gardens were a pleasure to walk through. BUT, it was the details that made it a step above the rest. It didn't feel comercially or businessy at all. The conversation when I came and left, the home made/grown meals (down to the jams), the warmth ... I felt spoiled, and cared for like I haven't experienced at any other B&B's.

It really is hard to express and properly describe an experience in words, so I say go, try, enjoy and feel the same things I did. You WILL be wonderfully surprised!

Room Tip: All rooms are of equally grand, the only choice is whether you need one bed or two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariouchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
188
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Kathy and Don welcomed me to their warm and inviting home, providing a clean spacious room and wonderful breakfast. I had planned on just grabbing a coffee and heading to my meeting but Kathy and Don offered up my absolute favourite morning european meal of cheeses, breads, meats and muffins and I had to stay and enjoy. Because I was visiting on business I did not have the time to enjoy the many local attractions Kathy and Don told me about - so I will definitely be back for another stay soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eatingandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at this B&B. Their beautiful home is warm and inviting, as are the hosts, Kathy and Don and their adorable dog Hudson. We stayed in the Magnolia Room, which looks exactly like it does on the website and is a beautifully decorated and spacious room, with a fireplace and four poster canopy bed. The bathroom was also large, with a Jacuzzi tub, bathrobes and toiletries. I have high expectations when it comes to cleanliness, and the room and bathroom passed with flying colours, they were spotless. All rooms are upstairs off a large hallway that has a guest station with a Tassimo coffee maker, and various types of coffee and tea, bottled water and delicious homemade cookies available for guests at any time. The breakfast was amazing, and included homemade blueberry muffins, fresh fruit bowls, and a delicious mushroom frittata with homemade sausage patties. Kathy knew we wanted to visit some wineries while we were there, so she planned a wine tasting route for us, giving us complementary tasting passes to a variety of wineries which was fantastic considering that tastings are often around 5-8 dollars per person. Since we were also celebrating Valentine’s day that weekend, when we returned home from dinner, our room was filled with lit candles, decorated with rose petals and had fresh strawberries dipped in chocolate waiting for us. Overall our experience at this B&B was fantastic and we will definitely be returning the next time we plan a weekend in Niagara on the Lake!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahfabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We loved it! This was our first time staying at a B&B. Host, Don and Kathy were very welcoming. They have a very beautiful spacious home. We stayed in the Rose room which was very comfortable, as well as has a beautiful spacious bathroom. Breakfast was amazing, there was fresh homemade berry muffins, tortilla scrambled eggs, bacon, Greek yogurt and so much more. You have to stay to experience it. We did a wine tour which they helped book for us, and they were very helpful in helping us find a restaurant for dinner. Great location! Besides the great hospitality Kathy and Don helped make our stay a very memorable one. We got engaged during our stay. We would highly recommend it.
First timers!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kagawong, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We loved our stay at Victoria Gables!
The B&B is in a fantastic location, within walking distance of all the colourful stores and theatres. Hosts, Don and Kathy greet you with smiles making you feel so welcome! They go out of their way to share their information of local tours, wineries and restaurants. Even their gorgeous dog Hudson greets people in his loving way.

All the rooms are gorgeous with very stylish furniture and lovely ensuite bathrooms, located on the second floor. Each room is very spacious and at the same time, warm and inviting. Each room is so different and special. We try and stay in a different room each time we book.

Every breakfast has been outstanding. Fresh coffee, juice and fruit combined with the main dish. [it can range from waffles to delectable frittatas.] The breakfast is served in a cozy room where you can sit and plan out your day using their wide selection of local information guides.

We would highly recommend this B&B when you are in the area.

JR and CV

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.4 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast
The Butler House Historic Bed an...
#1 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.4 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#6 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Gables Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Gables Bed & Breakfast

Property: Victoria Gables Bed & Breakfast
Address: 427 Victoria Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L5G 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by dozens of exquisite wineries, the Shaw Theatres, historic golf courses and countless appetizing restaurants, we are pleased to invite you to our newly-refreshed Bed & Breakfast in this lovely area of Southern Ontario. Victoria Gables, built to host and welcome guests from around the world, is a custom home with large rooms, en-suite bathrooms and spacious hallways. Our main level features a welcoming sitting area, along with our breakfast dining area complete with coffees, teas and an array of biscuits and treats available at any time of the day. The front veranda invites you to sit and relax, read a book or daydream the day away. The 1/2 acre property offers plenty of space to wander in our gardens with surprise corners to explore, including the charming gazebo and tiered waterfall. We are a leisurely 10-minute stroll to the lovely Old Village of Niagara-on-the-Lake. Niagara Falls and its many attractions are just a short drive away, along with wineries, the Butterfly Conservatory and many more alluring historical sites. Guests can rent bicycles for the day to enjoy a short cycle towards the oldest golf course in North America, the Niagara Region bike trail, or countless other attractions in short proximity. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing