We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best First B&B Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best First B&B Experience”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Our hosts Ed and Irene were extremely welcoming and hospitable. There were three people in our party, and we booked the Queen Elizabeth room. However since there was an extra unoccupied room, they allowed my son to stay in the extra room with their compliments. They were also very accommodating and allowing us to sleep in and delaying breakfast.

Their breakfast was very good and they had interesting ideas. Their Eggs Abacot is a must try!!! We definitely was very impressed with our first B&B experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbacotHall BnB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thanks very much for your review. We are so glad you chose Abacot Hall for your first experience at a B&B and that it was a good one. We try hard to make all our guests feel at home when they visit us. We look forward to seeing you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
281
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The owners Irene and her husband were amazing hosts. They warmly welcomed my girlfriend and I in and personally made us both feel comfortable and at home. We went for a delightful wine tour (great complimentary wine tasting voucher from hosts), which was conveniently located close by and had a great dinner (walking distance) at nearly restaurant. The main strip was also a short walk away. The facility was very clean and the rooms were warm and cozy. Breakfast was great! Irene and Ed really went out of their way to make our stay relaxing. They also were able to answer any questions we had about the area and the activities. Would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: * no pool or fitness centre *the B&B house has 1 room facing the back yard and 2 rooms facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarojani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbacotHall BnB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thanks for your great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and the time we spent together. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2013

My little group had a wonderful experience. Ed and Irene keep a very clean and comfortable B&B. They are fantastic hosts who do all they can to ensure that your stay is as best as it can be. Breakfasts were tailored to everyone's individual tastes and no one left the table hungry! I would definately recommend Abacot Hall B&B to anyone who is looking for a peaceful, clean and comfortable place to stay while enjoying Niagara-on-the-Lake.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NelleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbacotHall BnB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thanks for the great review it is greatly appreciated. We are so glad you all enjoyed your stay with us and hope we will see you all again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a fantastic time, Ed and Irene were Great! I highly recommend this wonderful B&B.
My wife and I enjoyed out time in Niagara – On – the - Lake.
Should you ever need to find a great place to stay you should contact Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast.
The owners Ed & Irene will treat you like family. They are also helpful when it comes to offering suggestions on places to visit and things to do why you are in the area.
The food was fantastic.
The décor was great.
The hospitality was above and beyond what we expected.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaredSc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbacotHall BnB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review, we really appreciate it. One never knows what to expect when you get a gift certificate, so needless to say, we are really pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations. We really enjoyed you company and hope we will see you both again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is the third time we've stayed at Abacot Hall. The location is excellent with easy access to the town and the wineries. Ed and Irene are great host and are carrying on the excellent work of former owners, Mike and Pauline. They are kind, keep the Hall very clean and in good repair and boy what a breakfast they serve! Ed is an excellent cook. We were there with friends of ours and we all enjoyed our stay. Irene was very helpful in offering discounts to the wineries and sharing some of their own experiences. They both make you feel very much at home. We will continue to stay at the Hall in the years to come. We highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: We prefer the Queen Elizabeth - it is off to itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbacotHall BnB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thanks for the great review Larry. We are so pleased that you felt at home, this being your first visit since Mike & Pauline left, and that we were able to carry on their tradition of excellence. It was a pleasure meeting you all and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Even Better than Last time!

The last time we stayed at this B&B was back in 2006 and we really enjoyed it so we decided to book our weekend getaway for Oct 25-26 back at this place. We ended up being booked in the same room as last time, the Victorian room and we were pleasantly surprised to see they had done some major upgrades to the room. A new ensuite bathroom and a corner closet was added which was a huge bonus!

They still had the shared snack and coffee station set up in the main hallway along with a shared fridge where we could store our cold beer which was great! There was a large selection of DVD's to watch if we were so inclined as well.

Unfortunately, the weather did not cooperate for us so we were unable to make use of the shared balcony.

We had no troubles connecting all of our various devices to the free wifi in the house and had no trouble with the connection speed.

The new owners are lovely people who go out of their way to ensure we have everything we need, all we had to do was ask. Ed made us yummy breakfasts with a nice selection of choices and all deliciously made fresh. Irene kept us entertained in the dining room while we wait for our main course and she is a wealth of information on what do to and where to go while in the area. They provided a list of recommended restaurants in the area to book have dinner or lunch at and booked us into our restaurant of choice which also included a 10% discount. We chose the The Stone Road Grille which was delicious and very conveniently located just down the street from the B&B.

We definitely look forward to our return trip to the Abacot Hall the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbacotHall BnB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thanks, Irene & Tim, for the super review and for the pictures. It was our pleasure to be able to offer assistance to you during your stay with us, and, we are so glad that everything met your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again and will order better weather next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We recently had a chance to take a brief trip to a place we had heard good things about - Niagara-on-the-Lake. Friends recommended Abacot Hall, and we are so glad we decided to stay there. The house is charming, clean, and very welcoming, thanks to the hosts, Ed and Irene. They were helpful regarding restaurants and wine tours, but mostly they were just friendly people - really made us feel welcome. And Ed is a great breakfast chef! We hope to make a return visit someday - thank you both!
Christy and Andre

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbacotHall BnB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thanks for the great review Christy & Andre. It was really a delight to meet you both. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return in the not too distant future. ps Ed showed the part about the great breakfast chef to Irene- she's still not convinced. LOL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
471 reviews
0.8 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,671 reviews
1.1 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,315 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,195 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast

Property: Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Address: 508 Mississauga Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Georgian style Bed and Breakfast on large private property in the Old Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake. Easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, theatres. One block to bike trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abacot Hall Bed And Breakfast
Abacot Hall Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing