We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Loved Ed and Irene! Very helpful with finding places to eat or things to do. Set up an afternoon wine tasting for us and it was the perfect way to see the wineries.....especially since it was the last weekend of the wine festival. Enjoyed a bottle of wine on the back deck of the inn which was very pleasant. Fun conversation over breakfasts. Highly recommend a stay here if you are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Loved having you and Mark here for the 2 nights. We had lots of fun that weekend and especially the diversified conversation in the morning. We are pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and thank you for the lovely review. Till we meet again, be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
254
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Ed and Irene added much to our Shaw Festival visit. We ate well at the restaurants they recommended, bought good wine at a recommended winery after a free tasting, and had pleasant chats over our delicious breakfasts. Our twin room was spotless and comfortable; we will definitely book in there on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
It was a pleasure having you and Faye stay with us. Thank you for taking time to write the great review. We look forward to more morning chats next year. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our stay at Abacot Hall was everything we had hoped it would be. Irene and Ed are perfect hosts, and their home is warm, charming, clean, quiet and beautifully kept. It was a treat to sit out on the deck overlooking a gorgeous back yard with an early morning cup of coffee or an evening cup of tea. Ed and Irene provided us with a lot of guidance and information about the area (even made our play reservations for us) and updated us on the goings on around town. The breakfasts were delicious, and the conversation always lively. I would not hesitate to recommend Abacot Hall to others and hope to get back there myself. It is a great place just to have a nice quiet break. We will have fond memories of this trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review Mary. We are so glad you and Helen enjoyed your stay with us. We felt like old friends were leaving when you headed home. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our first visit to Niagara-on-the-Lake was all the more memorable because of our delightful stay at Abacot Hall B&B, which couldn't have been more perfect. The charming home reflected the good taste and warm personalities of our host and hostess--Ed and Irene. Our room--the Victoria room--had a beautiful view of the park-like back yard, and attention to detail was evident everywhere. Our delectable breakfasts were made to order by chef Ed and who used local fruit, produce and jams. Our hosts, who are world travelers, provided us with all we needed to know to enjoy the beautiful Niagara area and gave us information other parts of the world that we expressed an interest in visiting. The scent of the roses at the entrance to the home remains....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
The roses have gone but our memory of your stay with us remains. It was a great 3 days with great company. Thanks for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We hope we shall see you again soon. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We found Abacot Hall to be a great resting point during our 2 week summer driving adventure. Niagra on the Lake was a lovely town and Ed & Irene welcomed us with friendly smiles and fantastic hospitality. Staying at Abacot Hall created fond memories for us this summer, and it was due in part to Ed and Irene and the people they are.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
It was really great to meet both you and Paul. We are so glad we helped make your trip memorable. We hope we will meet again. Thanks for taking time to write this lovely review its much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Delightful and relaxing stay at Abacot Hall in August at the start of a three week trip to Ontario. Ed & Irene had many suggestions for local activities. We chose a theatre visit (saw an excellent play), sampled ice-wine in town (new to us and a must-do) and took the river route to Niagara Falls. Ed also put in extra effort to buy in something that was not on the breakfast menu to serve on our second morning - black pudding is lovely! Ed & Irene strike an excellent balance in being unobtrusive and yet very friendly. We were recommended to this delightful B&B by a friend and are more than happy to add our unreserved recommendation to others.

Room Tip: They are equally lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thanks for for staying with us Nick & Brenda and for the great review. It's got to be Haggis next time. Hope to to see you again soon. We really had a great time with you both. Till then, Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We 've done three visits to Abacot Hall in the past three years and would not hesitate to do it again. The accomodation was clean and the hosts Irene and Ed were very friendly and informative about what to do in the area. The breakfast menu was very varied in choice and could satisfy anyone's palate. Would recommend Abacot Hall with no hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JVNEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for the great review N & J. It was really great getting to know you both better and we look forward to your return again next year. Regards, Ed & Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
0.7 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#6 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast

Property: Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Address: 508 Mississauga Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Georgian style Bed and Breakfast on large private property in the Old Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake. Easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, theatres. One block to bike trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abacot Hall Bed And Breakfast
Abacot Hall Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing