We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Honeymoon Get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We visited the Abacot Inn for our honeymoon and arrived very late at night. Ed and Irene had kindly arranged with the other guests that breakfast be delayed until 10 am so that my wife and I could wake up well rested. It was a most appreciated accommodation!

We also appreciated the tranquility of the Inn. It is on the edge of town (but by no means far away; within biking and walking distance) and that meant that we could enjoy the peaceful back deck for a few hours and avoid the hustle and bustle of NOTL during a long weekend !

Finally, we are both avid cyclists and Ed and Irene had reserved two bicycles for us that we could use to wine taste and explore the environs. They were most useful and certainly the best way to get around the area. Wonderful bike paths line the Niagara river.

Of course our room was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious but the great virtue of the Inn is Ed and Irene. They are such gracious and welcoming hosts.

We hope to see them again !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Now remember what Ed told you at breakfast Michael - you're right - I'm wrong etc (Marriage 101) - Seriously, we were honoured that you and Yvonne chose Abacot Hall for your honeymoon and are extremely pleased that you felt at home here. Everyone has said what a great time they had that weekend. We look forward to stopping in to say hi. Our best wishes for your future together, cheers. Ed & Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 448 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

Found Abacot Hall online and it was great. Ed and Irene are very nice and helpful, Ed even tried to update our GPS. Breakfast is great and Eggs Abacot is the best. Everyone should stay here and we hope to go back soon.
Kathleen G.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kgatrell71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

So you managed to find you way home..haha Thanks for your review Kathleen & David it's greatly appreciated - we did have a good time didn't we. Hope to see you again soon. Be well, regards, Ed & Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This (I think) is our 11th year at Abacot Hall. The standards set by Mike and Pauline have been well matched by Ed and Irene. Every request catered for. Accommodation beautiful and breakfast conversation stimulating. We'll be back for #12 next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank somman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thanks so much C for doing a review, it is greatly appreciated. We are very proud that you consider us on par with Mike & Pauline as they were extremely successful with the B&B and also good teachers as they taught us well.. We look forward to seeing you and MB again next year. Regards, Ed & Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very very good in all Points! Service of Ed and Irene is excellent. They help you where they can. Very honest and straightforward. Breakfast ist excellent (Food and Service). And therefore i can highly recommend Abacat Hall Bed & Breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thanks for the great review Chris. We hope you had a good trip back home to Germany. It was really a pleasure meeting both you and Johannes and we hope we will se you in Germany some time in the future. Bis dahin wünschen wir Ihnen viel Glück und Gesundheit. Grüße Ed & Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

One could not write about Abacot Hall without bringing into the picture the gracious hosts behind the business establishment. We refer to Ed and Irene Nicol, the couple who host with passion. On arrival, a quick look at the grounds on which Abacot stands is enough to reassure visitors and guests about their stay. And, when minutes later one gets to be greeted by Ed and Irene, one is left with the feeling that the stay will not just be comfortable but memorable as well. Visitors are attracted to Niagara-on-the-lake because of its many attributes: a town born pretty, set in a bucolic environment, steeped in culture, but also because of Ed and Irene (and many others like them) engaged in preserving and bringing out the town's best. Of course, Ed and Irene do meet the most demanding expectations for service, cleanliness, and impressive knowledge of the area. And, in this latter category, we would count Ed's informed opinions about the restaurants to visit and the plays to see.

Aldo and Nancy Violi

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aldo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thanks for the fantastic review Nancy & Aldo. It was a great pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We found Abacot Hall online, and were pleased to arrive at a beautifully-appointed house just a minute from Queen Street's theatres and shopping in Niagara-on-the-Lake. The Queen Elizabeth and Queen Victoria rooms we stayed in were attractively decorated and spacious, with the bonus of a balcony view of the lush back lawn and garden. Our hosts provided very helpful information about the winery tours, so we were able to take advantage of tastings and make some purchases for our cellar. We enjoyed our delicious breakfast, and only wish we might have been able to stay longer. As it was, our enjoyment of the Shaw Festival productions of Enchanted April and Lady Windermere's Fan was made extra special by our stay at Abacot Hall. Many thanks to Irene and Ed for making our stay so comfortable and relaxing.

Room Tip: The three second-floor bedrooms are equally charming and well-appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Hello Ian, Thank you so much for your great review, it is much appreciated. It was truly a pleasure to have met both you and Ros and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to being able to host you again in the future. Regards, your hosts Ed & irene
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at Abacot Hall. Irene and Ed are wonderful people and were very helpful in providing information about Niagara-on-the-Lake. The house is charming and well maintained, with a pleasant deck with a small fountain that provides a relaxing environment. The number of choices for breakfast was impressive. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_Traveler033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thanks so very much for the compliments and for the excellent review P & D. We really appreciate you choosing Abacot Hall and thank you for staying with us. We will have the fountain tuned just for your enjoyment for next time you come stay. We really enjoyed your company and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape House Bed and Breakfast
Cape House Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast
The Butler House Historic Bed an...
#2 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#10 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
536 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfast
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfa...
#9 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
418 reviews
0.8 mi away
Historic Davy House B&B Inn
Historic Davy House B&B Inn
#1 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast

Address: 508 Mississauga Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $166 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Georgian style Bed and Breakfast on large private property in the Old Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake. Easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, theatres. One block to bike trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abacot Hall Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Abacot Hall Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing