We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abacot Hall is not to be missed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The minute you walk into Abacot Hall you know you are going to be in for a treat!
The beautifully decorated cozy sitting room to the right beckons! (Make sure to go down a few minutes early for breakfast and relax there enjoying the background music)
The staircase leads you to your delightful room (which ever of the 3 you are lucky enough to have booked!)
Comfortable beds await you! Lots of hot water and pressure in the showers which was much appreciated after our day of cycling around the wineries.
Unlike other B & B's I have been to, this one offers you a choice of many items for breakfast. The coffee is excellent!
I am saving the best for last.....Your hosts Ed and Irene are the icing on the cake of this little gem down in Niagara on the Lake, Ontario! The warmth of their welcome coupled with their local knowledge helps you feel like you are indeed at a home away from home!
Town is about a 10 minute walk down tree lined streets with gorgeous heritage homes to ogle at!
All this can be yours if you choose Abacot Hall for your stay in NOTL.
I will return to this charming place when my travels next take me there.

Room Tip: They are all charming in their decor and all have their own bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thanks very much for your great review Heather. We really enjoyed the time you spent with us. It was our pleasure to try to make you feel right at home. We look forward to your next visit and meeting the other half !!!. Till then, be well. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 448 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at Abacot Hall. Ed and Irene are the consummate hosts. Their house is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. A lovely sitting area on the main floor to use, upstairs 3 bedrooms very nicely decorated, very clean bathroom with great water pressure for a shower. There is also a common area upstairs, fully stocked to make tea, coffee or to have a cool drink. A beautiful deck overlooking the gardens and back yard. We liked that they were able to convert the King room to two twins to accommodate 2 friends travelling together. Ed's breakfast was to die for! Cooked to order from a menu with lots of choice, home made bread, fresh fruit. Ed has put his own spin on eggs benedict, called Eggs Abacot. I highly recommend it. Both Ed and Irene are extremely helpful in deciding where to go, what to see and Irene offered us coupons for wine tastings and the chocolate factory in St. Davids. Ed sent us links to restaurants prior to arriving so we could make some decisions about where to eat. Their home is an easy walk to the shops in the village, along tree-lined streets with beautiful homes. I would highly recommend Abacot Hall if you are planning to travel to Niagara-on-the-Lake. Thank you so much, Ed and Irene. It was such a pleasure to get to know you both. I look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 957Annieb957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thanks for your fantastic review Ann, it really means a lot to us. It was our pleasure to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Your home away form home. We really enjoyed the morning banter and look forward to doing it again soon. Till then be well. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Ed & Irene are wonderful hosts - I cannot express enough the lengths they to make you feel welcome and serve above and beyond expectations. The house is welcoming and professionally set up for comfort. Everything you will need (and things you didn't think you need) are already there and available for use. The rooms are modern, however it is the "cleanliness" that will get you - I mean CLEAN. The bed & bath are impeccable. High thread count sheets and soft pillows. Hot, clean shower. We were interested in renting bikes - Ed offer his - he has 4 - brought all four out and let us pick which two we wanted. They will give you ample recommendations for shops & restaurants. We ate at REST (you have to ask to understand) and Bistro Six One. Breakfast was made to order - awesome breads, juices, coffee and omelet's. The pancakes and maple syrup were super! Without exception, I recommend Abacot Hall. One last thing - call them directly for the best pricing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doncl316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Hey Don & Sally. Thanks for posting the great pictures and for the fantastic review - much appreciated. Hope you can send us copies of the pics. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be up this way again and drop in to see us. We may see you in Florida before long. Till then take care and thanks again for the review. Ed & Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Fabulous hosts Ed & Irene, made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Ed...great breakfasts, good idea to have a menu, that way no surprises, you can choose what you want to eat....in my case it's pancakes all the way! Fabulous location, a lovely walk right into the centre of a beautiful village. Lots of valuable tips on all things to see & do. Wished we could have stayed longer....many thanks for making our stay such a memorable one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judyaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thanks so very much for the great review Judy & Mario we really enjoyed helping make your stay a memorable one. Hope the trip back home went smoothly. It was our pleasure to have you both as our guests and we hope we will see you again sometime in the future - here or there !!
Best regards. Ed & Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our 2-night stay at Abacot Hall was wonderful, we enjoyed the sites around Niagara and came home relaxed and refreshed. Ed and Irene were great hosts with lots of information about Niagara-on-the-Lake sites and restaurants. Breakfasts were fantastic; Ed makes a mean omelette!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thanks very much for staying with us and for the great review Wendy & Dave, it is very much appreciated. We are so glad we could help make your stay and experience at Abacot Hall a good one. We hope to see your both again in the near future, Regards Ed& Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've been staying in B&B's for many years, and Abacot Hall ranks right up there at the top! It's a lovely home in a great location - close to town, but not so close that there's no peace and quiet. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable, immaculate and light-filled. Ammenities are great, include a fridge, water, and coffee pot outside the rooms, and even a nice selection of DVD's for the players located in each room. Breakfast was delicious, and unlike many B&B's, it offered the unusual option of choice! But the primary reason to choose this B&B is its hosts. Ed and Irene are a delight, and couldn't be more warm, friendly, accomodating and gracious. We arrived as strangers, but as we left we felt like had new friends. NOTL is likely to become an annual pilgrimage for us (we live in the mid-atlantic States) and we will surely never stay anywhere else, now that we've discovered the gem that is Abacot Hall. Do not hesitate to book here, you will be glad you did!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and well equipped. We stayed in the King George room, which was nice becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittyville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thanks very much for the fantastic and descriptive review Erin & Tom. From the moment you arrived we knew we had some new friends. We had a really good time sharing with you and look forward to the next time. Thanks again. Ed & Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our first trip to NOTL, and what an experience!!! Ed and Irene were very gracious hosts! We felt really welcome and loved hearing about the local wineries and great places to eat! Every morning we would chat for awhile after one of Ed's fantastic b-fasts! Very good 4 Cheesie omlets!!! They were very willing to accomodate our request for a later b-fast since we wanted to sleep a little longer our first morning. Our room was very cosy and comfortable! We stayed in the Queen Elizabeth room.. The location was close to EVERYTHING! That was great too! Would highly reccommend it! Just join them for some conversation....they will keep you laughing for hours! Smile!

Room Tip: We went w/ several other friends and had the whole house to ourselves... All rooms were great...none...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaelene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape House Bed and Breakfast
Cape House Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast
The Butler House Historic Bed an...
#3 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
298 reviews
0.7 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#10 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer House Bed & Breakfast
Explorer House Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast

Address: 508 Mississauga Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $166 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Georgian style Bed and Breakfast on large private property in the Old Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake. Easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, theatres. One block to bike trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abacot Hall Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Abacot Hall Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing