We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing home away from home.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Davy House B&B Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Historic Davy House B&B Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A relaxing home away from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

The home is perfect in every way, inside and out. Comfortable beds, a lovely parlour to sit and read or write and beautiful surroundings, front and back. The backyard is landscaped to perfection with a gorgeous pond and big fish, a putting green, a dining table and umbrella and comfortable seating. I hope to come back with my hubby and enjoy the hot tub on a cool night. Flo and Jeff are a lovely couple, both share in the breakfast preparation. The meals are fit for royalty, not to mention the friendly guests. There's also a pre-breakfast buffet with homemade muffins, fresh fruit and cereal for the early risers plus coffee and tea. The 2 dogs, Abby and Dudley are adorable and lovable.

The location is perfect, close to the old town, around the corner from the Prince of Wales Hotel.

Room Tip: You can request 2 twin beds, which are on the main floor and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nogreatmischief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
486
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Picton, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

For many years my wife and I have been visiting Niagara each summer to enjoy the plays and musicals at the Shaw Festival. We always visit Fort George. We always tour the local wineries. And we always stay at the Davy House. This may sound boring and repetitive to some, but when you have discovered a perfect way to spend a summer long weekend, why change? Each time that we return to the Davy House it is like staying with friends. Jeff and Flo take infinite pains to make our stay a success. They provide excellent recommendations for theatre productions, restaurants and wines. The rooms are spotless, the garden is a wonderful refuge between plays, and the breakfasts are a gastronomic tour de force. So by all means make a reservation at the Davy House, but please don't take the last available room and make us stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Every room is clean, comfortable and well-equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank attercliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Spent two nights at Davy House over a weekend where we ventured out on a self guided wine tour on bike. What a lovely spot, beautiful and comfortable accommodations both inside and out. Jeff and Flo were fantastic hosts, who clearly take great pride in their B&B. The breakfasts were fantastic and the location was perfect - close to bike rental facilities, restaurants and shops, main bike paths etc. We enjoyed our weekend very much, in large part due to the great place we stayed!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emeyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Ontario
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We spent two nights at Davy House and could have stayed on forever. The house is beautifully decorated, comfortable and welcoming. The location is excellent - close to the old town and within walking distance to all the attractions this lovely town has to offer. Jeff & Flo are wonderful and made us feel right at home from the first moment we arrived. I loved the beautiful backyard - so pleasant, quiet, private and tastefully done. Our room had the most comfortable bed and a beautiful newly renovated bathroom. The pre-breakfast buffet in the guest's parlor was wonderful - fresh coffee, scones, muffins, granola, yogurt and fresh strawberries - who needs breakfast? However breakfast was amazing and we managed to consume it all - fresh fruit, crisp bacon, egg on a homemade cheddar biscuit- all amazing. We have stayed at many B&B's in NOTL as well as all over Canada, US and Europe. This one is one of our top ten places.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Countrygirl6841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

The breakfasts are truly gourmet in creativity and presentation. The outside garden is a lovely place to lounge before breakfast. Jeff and Flo are very welcoming hosts, and the house has ample public space - a lovely living room and a desk with computer for guest use.The location is ideal - on a quiet street steps to downtown and the festival theatres. We look forward to returning when we again visit NOTL.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank berncpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Home away from home only better. Flo and Jeff make you feel welcomed from the moment you step out of your car in the driveway. The house just radiates love and warmth. It is close by the town of NOTL and the Shaw Festival. We only stayed 1 night, but will be back for many more. The breakfast is unbelievable Jeff and Flo work as a team in the kitchen and the wonderful muffins, chive biscuits and eggs and of course the fresh strawberries. Looking at my calender to see when I can go back!

Room Tip: Our room was great...I would imagine they all are of the same quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoJo46756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarnia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We revisited the Davy House and feel this is the only place we will stay at for several reasons-
1) the home is meticulous, there is not any detail overlooked. Alot of attention for the comfort
of their guests has been taken into consideration. The bed's are so comfortable you feel
like your sleeping on a cloud ( luxury ++ )
2) the breakfasts are excellent, Jeff is a fabulous cook and Flo does homemade baking
every morning as well ( so delicious ) - you definately will not need lunch after you enjoy your morning breakfast.
3) the hot tub and putting green out back are fun for relaxing. It is a private oasis out there.
4) Jeff and Flo can recommend lovely places to eat or help with booking a great play or wine
tasting tour for you.
Another nice thing about the Davy House is the location - you can walk to almost everything.
5) We can't forget Dudley who keeps us laughing - the new addition to the Davy House.
He is always into some sort of trouble but he is adorable and we enjoy him so much.
( Dudley is Jeff and Flo's chocolate brown american cocker spaniel )
We have always felt more than welcome - it is like coming home again.
Jeff and Flo make you feel like your friends and not strangers. They are excellent at what they
do and compliment one another - it truly is a gift and Jeff and Flo have it +++.
Thank you again for an absolutely fabulous stay we will see you again in September.

Room Tip: We have tried 3 of the rooms and enjoyed all 3 of them. No issues with noise in either room. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarniaBelladonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.3 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Davy House B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Davy House B&B Inn

Property: Historic Davy House B&B Inn
Address: 230 Davy Street | Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Historic Davy House B&B Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive, Romantic, Intimate and Cozy all describe our Heritage Home. A tasteful blend of Canadiana Pine mixed with Charming Decor and lots of Character. Meticulously Maintained and located right in the Heritage District of Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Historic Davy House B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing