We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at Davy House is a real treat!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Historic Davy House B&B Inn
Certificate of Excellence
El Paso, Texas
1 review
“Staying at Davy House is a real treat!!”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We just returned from a five-night stay in Niagara-on-the-Lake where we were guests at Davy House. We are so happy that we chose this B&B among the many choices we had! Our room was very comfortable and charming, and the breakfasts each morning were absolutely amazing -- the food was delicious, and the presentation was very artistic -- almost too beauriful to eat! Our hosts, Flo and Jeff, made us feel very welcome, taking care of us like family. We highly recommend Davy House to eveyone looking for a first class B&B in the Niagara area. If we have occasion to return some day, we will certainly book a room at Davy House again!!

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor was perfect, but other rooms may well be just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jana285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
497
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Everything was wonderful, we had such a nice time at The Davy House. The House was Beautiful and had such a warm and cozy feel to it. The breakfast was outstanding! We would recommend The Davy House to everyone because it was such a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2011

There is no other word to describe it, this B&B is perfect! Rooms are comfortable, clean and decorated with great taste (so is the rest of the house). Backyard is gorgeous. Breakfasts are always delicious. Jeff and Flo are the nicest people. This is the place to stay when you are going to Niagara-on-the-Lake.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANT-MF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2011

This is our 5th straight year at the Davy House. We celebrate our anniversary. The grounds are beautiful and so close to the main street for shopping, dining and entertainment. The breakfasts satisfy both the sweet and savory. Jeff & Flo are so very outgoing and kind. The are by far the best hosts we've encountered during our stays at several B & B's in this region. That is why we come back each & every year!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottiej527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

It has simply been a joy and comfort to have stayed in Historic Davy House Circa 1842 B&B in the 2 nights I was here. Firstly, the convenient location of Davy House allows easy access to the Main Street of Niagara-by-the-Lake (Queen Street) without being sited in the busy street itself. Secondly, the free parking and internet are really great! Thirdly, the house itself is a beautiful, quaint and historic building that it felt like I was transported to back in time! Even though its historic, it remains very comfortable and homely - like a home away from home – from their fluffy bedroom slippers, big beds with rich silk pillows, rich cotton bathrobes and an in-room heater. Fourthly, the beautiful landscaped gardens at the back are an oasis of calm and a relaxing retreat for tired travellers at the end of the day. Fifthly, the freely available coffees and teas in the living room are a treat for guests, a are the sweets in our rooms (think lollipops and Werther’s Orginals).  Lastly but definitely the most appreciated are their gourmet breakfasts which are “to die for”! They are simply delicious, elaborate, indulgent and thoroughly enjoyable! Jeff and Flo are great cooks! And to top it all off, Jeff and Flo’s warm hospitality, friendliness and helpfulness are the “icing-on-the-cake” of my 2-night stay at Davy House. Jeff and Flo: Thank you for opening up your home to guests and giving us an experience as wonderful as visiting the beautiful and special town of Niagara-by-the-Lake.

A tip for visitors: The things you must do when in Niagara-by-the-Lake are:
1. Drive or cycle along the Niagara Parkway – as Winston Churchill said, it is truly the prettiest Sunday drive in the world – and have a picnic lunch on any of the benches or tables along the Niagara Parkway which gives you a breathtaking view of the Niagara River.
2. For yourself and as souvenirs for friends and family, buy:
- slabs of fudge from Maple Leaf Fudge.
- hand-made chocolates from Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory.
- fresh fruit from any of the orchards.
3. Indulge in a double-scoop of Cow Ice-Cream (it’s much better value than a single scoop).
4. Watch a Shaw Festival play.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerald_koh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We returned again this year (and will next year) to the Davy House and enjoyed a lovely stay in this exquisite B&B in Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, just literally steps away from the Shaw Festival Theatre, shops and fine dining establishments. Flo and Jeff are charming hosts who look after every detail to accommodate their guests. Their house is beautifully decorated, and they have a manicured yard and well-tended garden where you can stroll and even enjoy your breakfast if you like. Flo's baked goods are absolutely scrumptious, and Jeff prepares a gourmet hot breakfast to delight and pamper you every morning. I cannot say enough how utterly pleased we were during our stay there! You cannot go wrong with this choice!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhCanada8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We enjoyed the location - very quiet and yet an easily walkable distance from the theaters and restaurants on the main street. The breakfast arrangements were ideal: fresh fruit, granola, yogurt and coffee for the early riser and a gourmet hot breakfast in the charming 5-table dining room for all. This gave us a chance to chat with the other guests, compare theater reviews and get to know our charming hosts. The garden and koi pond were exceptional: a calming refuge after a hard day of wine tasting (!) where we could enjoy the in-house coffee or mini-putt a few rounds.

Room Tip: Older travelers might prefer the ground-floor rooms as the stairs are a bit steep and narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
471 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,987 reviews
0.1 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#7 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Davy House B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Davy House B&B Inn

Property: Historic Davy House B&B Inn
Address: 230 Davy Street | Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Historic Davy House B&B Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive, Romantic, Intimate and Cozy all describe our Heritage Home. A tasteful blend of Canadiana Pine mixed with Charming Decor and lots of Character. Meticulously Maintained and located right in the Heritage District of Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Historic Davy House B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing