We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“maybe I am a fool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lakewinds Country Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Perhaps it is not in my (our) best interest to share this experience with you.
Perhaps this is a place one should keep as a secret hideaway. Nevertheless, my wife and are foolhardy and want to share such a wonderful experience.

The Harbour House Hotel in Niagara is great and we truly enjoy their hospitality. The Shaw young and bubbly, clean and boutique fresh.

We now move on to a whole different level of accommodation. First and foremost meet Jane and Steve. There obvious experience in hospitality sets the scene ....rest and relaxation is the flavour, no doubt.

Pool temperature 88...perfect! A warm greeting , simple and elegant like everything about this manor. A beautiful old sophisticated extremely well kept home. Comforts thought of at every turn and I don't think it realy matters which room you choose.

Breakfast,well I am not even going to elaborate. Suffice it to say , elegant and delicious!

That's it ....please don't stay here.... and if you do. don't tell anybody.

It's hard enough to get a reservation as it is!

Ps: Talk to Jane about where to dine!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakewind1888, Owner at Lakewinds Country Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

A wonderful review with a great sense of humour! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 332 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

Gorgeous private setting near the lake, but close enough to enjoy everything NOTL has to offer. Heaven is a beautiful room and we would happily return there. The owners provided amazing breakfasts and spot-on recommendations for restaurants and wineries. The only downside was that WiFi was spotty on the third floor which makes it difficult for Americans without cell service. All in all excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lcatcartier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakewind1888, Owner at Lakewinds Country Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

We are very pleased to help with local information and enjoy making our guest's visit as pleasurable as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife, Patricia, and I recently stayed two nights in Niagara on the Lake at the Lakewinds Country Manor, an exceptional, well maintained property located on the main street of a picture perfect town. Adding to the serene ambience is beautifully landscaped grounds and a wonderful built in swimming pool which we took full advantage of! Our gracious hosts, Steve and Jane, were very helpful (especially with driving directions)and the delicious gourmet breakfast offered each morning was a wonderful way to start each day.
Although the B & B is on the opposite end of Queen Street from the Shaw theater, the walk was lovely! We'll be back! Thanks, Tom and Patricia, Cape Cod, Massachusetts

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scouserwannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakewind1888, Owner at Lakewinds Country Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

We appreciate your kind comments. It is gratifying to have such a positive review. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I had the wonderful pleasure of staying here the first weekend of August and it was great. Jane & Steve greet you warmly and make you feel at home right away. We stayed in the Venetian Room - it was comfortable and homey. Late in the afternoon a snack is left on the table in the entry hall and at night delicious truffles await you when you return from your evening out. We can't wait to go back for another stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Typhoon925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakewind1888, Owner at Lakewinds Country Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you fro your kind comments and for taking the time to do a review. Enjoy the rest of this beautiful summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I came upon Lakewinds by chance and what an extraordinary recommendation it was.

My husband and I stayed at this magical B & B for our 25th wedding anniversary in the Venetian Suite from July 19 to 21. What comfort! What a beautiful house and grounds, and, most of all, what a welcome we received.

The room was lovely. It is spacious with a very comfortable king sized bed and a roomy seating area by two of the windows that overlook the golf course. The central air conditioning is quiet. The bathroom has a large bath with jets and the vanity and toilet are in a separate area with their own door, all ensuite.

Jane serves delicious gourmet breakfasts and all the guests sit around the dining room table every morning at the same time. This arrangement is very pleasant, since it allows everyone to get to know each other.

The grounds and gardens are beautiful. The billiard/pool table is a welcome addition.

In the evening, we came home to chocolates and sherry one night. Cherries another.

The house is a delight and the hosts/innkeepers kind, welcoming and thoughtful. My husband is a vegan and all kinds of breakfast accommodations were made for him.

The fifteen to twenty minute walk to the Shaw theater is a pleasure as it meanders along the golf course, past other beautiful mansions and their gorgeous gardens and down picturesque Queen street.

We were so taken by Lakewinds, beautiful Niagara-on-the-Lake and the Shaw festival itself, that, this evening, I have already made a reservation for this time next year. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

Thank you, Jane and Steve, for your wonderful hospitality.

Room Tip: The Venetian suite was lovely with a view on the golf course from two windows and on the garden from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakewind1888, Owner at Lakewinds Country Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will be back soon too. By the way, we have a couple who dropped by when we were doing our extensive renovations in 1994, came to us in the fall of that year and twice a year every since for a total of 37 times!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife and I returned this evening from Niagara On The Lake where we spent last night at the Lakewinds Country Manor. This wonderful B and B is the perfect place to stay when visiting Niagara On The Lake. Our room was elegant and comfortable and made us feel as if we had escaped to Paradise. The owners, Jane and Steve are attentive without being in your face every minute. Breakfast was fantastic!
Thanks,
Kristina and Arthur, Rochester, NY

Room Tip: ask to stay in Heaven, a perfect room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakewind1888, Owner at Lakewinds Country Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Kristina and Arthur, we appreciate your review very much. Thank you and come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Jane is lovely! Welcoming and accomodating (we needed to print some documents for the border) and the breakfast (blueberry french toast, fresh fruit, pastries, cereal, fruit juice and bottomless coffee) was to die for.

The pool was perfect, the gardens a veritable cacophony of wildlife and exotic plants, the suite was heavenly and the location was ideal. All the staff were delightful and the weather was perfect :).

The bikes for guests were a great touch and depite not having ridden a bike for 20+years, I found myself biking 20km around the wineries with my fiance. We had a perfect time, thank you, Jane!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakewind1888, Owner at Lakewinds Country Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

We are delighted you had a perfect time and thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,404 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfast
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfa...
#9 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
418 reviews
7.2 mi away
Woodbourne Inn
Woodbourne Inn
#15 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Darlington House Bed and Breakfast
Darlington House Bed and Breakfa...
#21 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
208 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
344 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast
The Butler House Historic Bed an...
#2 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakewinds Country Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakewinds Country Manor

Address: 328 Queen Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $214 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A special and unique experience awaits you at Lakewinds, a recently restored Victorian manor, offering the best of bed and breakfast experiences. Situated on a quiet acre of extensive flower gardens and mature trees, Lakewinds offers you unparalleled views of the golf course beside the lake. A short walk away is the centre of the old town where you will find the theatres, shops and restaurants. Acclaimed by media and repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Lakewinds Country Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing