We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our "second" home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Britaly Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
1 review
“Our "second" home”
Reviewed July 18, 2007

This is our "Home-Away-From-Home"where we as well as our dog Honey was more than welcome to stay. And the best breakfast is served there! Upon arrival you are greeted by Graham and Aldo, the most 2 most welcoming hostesses you'd ever met. If you are really lucky, Rufus will poke his head around the corner, wag his tail and greet you warmly! If you have a chance, please pass by in the summer time, where Aldo's and Graham's hard work has paid off: the garden is beautiful! This is where one should spend the morning before breakfast and have a tea or coffee and chat with other guests.

We have stayed there a number of times and have always recommended it to our friends. We hope that you will have as an enjoyable and comfortable stay as we have had. Enjoy!

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
Thank HoneyGirlToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
596
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2007

My husband and I just returned from a very relaxing 5-day stay at the Britaly while ours sons were away at a summer camp. We were looking for just a nice, quite, clean and well-located B & B, but Britaly far exceeded our requirements. From the delicious, homemade breakfasts to the charming company of our hosts, Aldo and Graham, we were bowled over, which is hard to do with seasoned world travellers like us.

Aldo and Graham pamper all of their guests. They are delightful and interesting gentlemen, who provide lots of recommendations and tips to make your time at NOTL enjoyable. When I casually mentioned that we are interested in Frank Lloyd Wright architecture and heard that Buffalo had a fair amount of it, Aldo unbidden researched it on the Internet and provided us with information that evening. Another example of their graciousness is that on the morning that we had to leave long before the scheduled breakfast to start the drive back to Chicago, they got up early and made us a lovely breakfast.

Their home is very nicely furnished and decorated from the beautiful bedrooms to the living room filled with antiques and the dining room, which along with the expertly landscaped and private backyard, they invite you to use as if at home. We stayed at the Canadiana Room , which is the only bedroom that did not have an ensuite bathroom. It was very comfortable and private with the bathroom just a few steps across the hallway.

We enjoyed our stay immensely from our B & B to the fabulous plays (especially St. Joan & Summer and Smoke) to the wineries, quaint towns like Jordan, antiquing & shopping and very good restaurants like Ginger (oriental), the Old Winery (Italian) and the gourmet restaurant at the Strewn Winery. This B & B and NOTL proved to be a great getaway.

  • Liked — Our hosts
  • Disliked — The stairs
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OntheGo630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntingdon valley, PA
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2007

The Britaly Bed and Breakfast was an experience in and of itself!
By the end of our 5 day stay we felt like family. Aldo and Graham have created an oasis in the Niagra area which offers creative and pleasant surroundings including the sounds of water falling and colorful plantings and warm and inviting furnishings. The breakfasts were a highlight each day. Not only was the food exceptional but the guests provided an extra dimension of food for thought.

Aldo and Graham attended to our every request and anticipated our every need.

It doesn't get much better!

Joan and Bob Sadoff

Abington, PA

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beauty13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2007

Two fabulous hosts, one charming B&B, in a truly delightful town close to vineyards and top notch theatre -- what more could you ask for. We spent two nights at the Britaly doing 'stuff' we love to do in the Niagara region -- can't think of a more accommodating, comfortable and welcoming place than the Britaly in which to stay for such a break. Perfect.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Happy005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2007

My husband and I stayed for two nights, what a nice little place! We received a warm welcome and overview upon arrival, and given a few hints on where to park closer to town without much hassle. Britaly is set in a quiet little neighborhood not far from town, and as others have mentioned, it can be walked, but it is a bit on the far side. There are nice bike paths though, to bring you into town and around the wineries.

Breakfast is a feast in the morning, and would probably be my only criticism. All guests are served promptly at 8:45am, and it does take a bit longer than I've normally encountered at a B&B, since everyone is served at the same time, vs. coming down within a set time frame and having your breakfast as quickly or as slowly as you like. But other than that, it certainly will fill you up and send you on your way for many hours! They even set out special red, white, and blue table settings in honor of July 4th! Very nice touch.

Graham and Aldo have traveled a great deal, and are a wealth of knowledge, especially regarding the NOTL area. Give this place a try next time you are in the area!

  • Liked — Quiet, friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Not much!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennalulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2007

We have just returned to the UK after travelling through Canada, New York State and Massachusetts. We stayed at the Britaly for two nights early in our stay having chosen The Britaly because of its Tripadviser rating. It's all true what they say so I feel no need to add to the many testimonials ,however, I must say that our hosts were so helpful that it deserves a special mention. We had problems with our rental car and Aldo very kindly telephoned the hirers for me and managed to arrange a replacement an upgrade as well.
We liked NOTL so much that we decided to visit again on our way home. Britaly was booked but Graham kindly found us alternative high quality accommodation.
Thanks fellas
John and Sue Anderson

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W. Bloomfield, Michigan USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2007

Britaly was beyond our expectations. The home was lovely, the garden was beautiful, and the gourmet breakfeasts were beyond belief. Our hosts were welcoming, friendly, informative, gracious, and made our stay a most memorable experience - one we hope to repeat soon. Ed & Marcia - West Bloomfield, Mi, USA

  • Liked — cleanliness, hosts, atmosphere, breakfeasts
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Eddie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
1.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#5 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.7 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britaly Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britaly Bed and Breakfast

Property: Britaly Bed and Breakfast
Address: 57 The Promenade, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly appointed home in old town. Very friendly atmosphere with a solid reputation for excellence in hospitality. Attention to detail is paid to every aspect of your visit. Relax in our elegant guest lounge or in our immaculately landscaped gardens. Gourmet breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Britaly Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britaly b&b
Britaly Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing