We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 days of bliss” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britaly Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Britaly Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Mariaville Lake, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“3 days of bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

My wife and I booked Britaly at the last moment for a weekend away because of the reviews.. We were so lucky to get a room at Britaly B&B. From the time we were greeted by Aldo when we arrived until the time we left we had the most wonderful time. Each morning I woke to the smell of fresh coffee. I finished on their deck overlooking their beautifully landscaped yard, Being one of the first up I was able to talk with Aldo and Graham while they made their spectacular breakfasts. They made us feel as if we were good friends and not just guests. Even Marcus, their dog, greeted us as old friends.
As a travel agent I always worry how my clients will respond to places that I recommend. With Aldo, Graham and Marcus I will never worry that my clients will have anything but a great experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable and well appointed. Book early to get a room as they are almost always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
596
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband and I went to NOTL for our anniversary and stayed at Britaly Bed & Breakfast. I have been to many B&B's and this place is the perfect example of what a B&B should be. It is Homey but not cluttered. The art work was beautiful. I also loved all the little decorative details inside and out, like the cool lighting fixture outside our door and the gorgeous well maintained back yard. It is also very very clean! But the best part were the hosts themselves, they were very friendly and just made you feel at home. Aldo and Graham are just wonderful people that obviously enjoy what they do! They are very helpful with whatever you want to do in the area. We stayed in the Italian room. It was very nicely decorated & romantic. The shower was very modern and cool, and I loved the chandelier! I loved the coffee outside our door each morning even more and the amazing gourmet breakfasts! Just little details that made it special, like Aldo and Graham remembering our names and whether we drank coffee or tea with our breakfast. It was also very enjoyable talking with the other guests about their day or what they did the day before or just about where they come from. For people that don't go to B&B's because of this kind of socialization..well your just missing out! I also have to say I really enjoyed their dog Markus, he was the most friendly, quite dog I have ever met, and just made the ambiance of the place even better! It is conveniently located to all the attractions and we were very comfortable there. I already miss the coffee outside our door and the wonderful food! Two nights just was not long enough. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

My husband and I were visiting Niagara on the Lake for the third time for a long weekend getaway. We booked at the Britaly because of all the great TripAdvisor reviews. We were NOT disappointed.

From the time we arrived, Graham and Aldo were the perfect hosts. We stayed in the English Room. The room is beautiful and overlooks a lovely garden. There were chocolates on the pillow and a menu for breakfast on the bed. We were staying with our lab mix dog and were given a map for walking directions and restaurant suggestions where we would be able to sit outside. Their neighbourhood is beautiful and very peaceful. It is a little off the "main track" but it was a really nice 20 minute walk which we really enjoyed.

One of the nicest parts of the visit was the FOOD!! The breakfasts were truly gourmet.The warm muffins, homemade granola and delicious main courses were an amazing way to start the day. Definitely a highlight!

Graham and Aldo are so welcoming and it was a pleasure staying with them. They were so gracious when dealing with our dog and their dog Marcus is a sweetheart and really makes the Britaly a home. We are already talking about staying there again before the season is over!!!

Room Tip: We adored the English Room. It was large, had a lovely ensuite and overlooks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muddy902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

It was our first time in Niagara-on-the-Lake and the first time my boyfriend and I stayed in a B&B. Graham and Aldo are extraordinary hosts! They have a beautiful home with a comfortable atmosphere and environment. They were very accommodating and it was great getting to know them. Excellent breakfasts every morning with Graham's homemade granola. Their dog Markus is very well behaved and a handsome boy! We stayed in the Italian ensuite. The shower was to die for several shower heads/spouts. It was just a 2 minute drive downtown and the winery route was close as well. I highly recommend staying there! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

My wife and I decided at the last minute(well,actually on a Tuesday) to go to Niagra on the Lake the following Friday.We were not able to find a nice B & B on line so I called the Chamber of Commerce and was given the name of 3 B & B's that had availability.
I then went on line and looked for the websites they mentioned and decided to try Britaly first.
I called them and was told that they just had a cancellation and did have a room available.
I booked it.
Great move on my part!
We got to meet Graham and Aldo the proprietors of Britaly-and their wonderful dog Markus
They were very welcoming,friendly and interesting.
Their home was beautiful.
The breakfasts were great!
Fun conversations with the hosts and guests
Everything we go to B & Bs for we found here
We have been to a number of B & B's over the years and I can't think of a better experience

Thanks
Jerry and Milta Mandel
Bainbridge Twp,Oh

Room Tip: I will hopefully book early enough next time to get the ensuite.Though the private bathroom was just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

As the title suggests we have been attending this very hospitable Bed and Breakfast for the last nine years and are looking forward to the tenth in 2012. The home of Aldo and Graham is impressibly decorated with their personal touch of family heirlooms and purchased antiques all of which have a prominent place in the home. The three bedrooms on the second floor each have their own theme named after the homelands of the more than accommodating hosts and the country in which they now live. Are favourite is the spacious English room with its on suite bath and is the largest of the three rooms with a four posted queen size bed. The Italian bath was redone last year and has a very spa like atmosphere to it. The Canadian room is the smallest but is quaint and homey. The breakfast is next to none. It is a four course meal starting with Graham's homemade granola, followed by a large muffin, assorted fruits and yogourt. The entree changes daily (we know, since we stay six days and five nights) all of which are very delectable. Tea, coffee and orange juice are continuously flowing.If time allows there is a spacious deck to relax on which overlooks the yard with its lush trees, bushes, roses and fish pond with a miniature waterfall. A great place to enjoy the sun or read a book or just relax (should you find the time that is). Aldo and Graham know the area well and are able to suggest and direct you to places of interest and restaurants to eat. They offer wonderful comradery and outstanding service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesb869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

We chose Britaly based on the reviews and the fact that they are dog-friendly. We can wholeheartedly confirm all the good reports! Aldo & Graham were gracious hosts and Marcus, their adorable lab, added his warm welcome to theirs each time we entered. The B&B was beautifully decorated, the rooms comfortable and well equipped, and the breakfasts delicious. We appreciated that coffee and tea was available each morning at 8am in the hallway. Another nice touch was that a small guest refrigerator was available for use and complimentary bottled water was provided. We spent two nights in the Italian Room and wished we could have stayed longer. The location is perhaps a 20 minute walk from town. Though we'd originally hoped to be closer to the main street we didn't mind the pleasant walk. The nearby park even has a leash-free area if you'd like to be able to give your dog a good run. We appreciated how welcome we were made to feel and hope to return!

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GiddyupBorzoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
1.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
1.1 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#5 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.7 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britaly Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britaly Bed and Breakfast

Property: Britaly Bed and Breakfast
Address: 57 The Promenade, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly appointed home in old town. Very friendly atmosphere with a solid reputation for excellence in hospitality. Attention to detail is paid to every aspect of your visit. Relax in our elegant guest lounge or in our immaculately landscaped gardens. Gourmet breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Britaly Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britaly Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Britaly b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing