We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room didn't meet high expectations”
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Charles Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2010

My husband and I decided to treat ourselves to a romantic weekend getaway in Niagara-on-the-Lake for our anniversary. We booked the Sunflower Room at the Charles Inn and chose their Candlelight and Romance Package. We have stayed at many historic inns and bed and breakfasts over the years and had high expectations after viewing the photos of the inn online. Unfortunately, the inn and the room fell short of those expectations. The inn felt tired and in need of some updating. There were large water stains on the ceiling in the hall outside our room -- not a great first impression. The Sunflower Room was small, but we knew that from the online description. At $245 per night, we were expecting a well-appointed room. The furniture wasn't particularly historic. There was a cheap melamine coffee bar trolley and an IKEA-type bedside table (melamine wood grain). The room just felt like it had been furnished with garage sale finds. The bathroom had been renovated with some nice touches (chic shower stall, new sink and taps). Unfortunately, they missed the mark when they decided to save money by keeping the old, painted wooden vanity which was badly damaged at the bottom. We had dinner at the Inn and the food and service was excellent. The continental breakfast was good, although I'm not a fan of smoked salmon and cheese first thing in the morning. The breakfast wasn't particularly filling (a small bowl of yogourt with granola and berries and two tiny croissants). We ended up buying some muffins in town later on to tide us over until lunch time. If we decide to stay in Niagara on the Lake again, we wouldn't likely stay at the Charles Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love2travel1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 345 of 414 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2010

My wife and I spent a few nights at the Charles Inn late December following our wedding. We stayed in the Newark Room which was a delightful room with 4-post bed, real fire place and comfortable furniture. We really enjoyed the room and it is a great location at the end of the main street. I arranged a surprise horse and carriage for my wife, although this was over 20 minutes late in arriving, that was outside the control of the Inn. On departure, after the receptionist found nothing had been done for us as newlyweds, we received a bottle of Konzelman sparkling wine as a gift. We didn't get a chance to using the dining facilities, only for our breakfast, which was included in price. Overall, we had a great time in a very comfortable surrounding.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkandbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

I am so glad we discovered this amazing Inn. One of the best i've ever stayed at. Wonderful charm of Inn and staff made the trip! Rooms are beautiful and the balconies and gardens are just wonderful. Continental breakfast was one of the best ever! This Inn is quiet and peaceful, yet has a wonderful friendly staff that gives the Inn it's life and friendly face. We will definately recommend this Inn to friends and family, and will be back very soon!!! Magnolia room is roomy, with a great bathroom-heated floors glass shower. And the private balcony was fabulous. Sat out at night with candles, and during the day while it rained. Just beautiful! Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JADE1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

I had the amazing fortune of staying at the Charles Inn this weekend in beautiful Niagara on the Lake. It had been recommended to my husband and I by close friends, and their words didn't quite do our stay justice. The service was wonderful, the food was delicious and of particular value for the quality, and it was the best sleep either of us has had in a long time! Certainly worth a stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julescain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

The service at the Charles Inn was exceptional. The staff was extremely friendly and they could not do enough for you. Any request we had was handled immediately and with a smile. The room was very clean comfortable and quiet. The bed was very good quality and allowed for a good nights sleep.

Niagara On The Lake is a beautiful town full of history and the people are very friendly.

We enjoyed our stay at the Charles. The staff made us feel right at home. I highly recommend the Charles In and we are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emppplernest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

This was our first visit to The Charles Inn. We were greeted by warm attentive staff that knew us by name, showed us to our room and made us feel at home. Each room is a private little haven of its own; ours had a fireplace, beautiful modern bath and a remarkably comfortable bed. It was always easy to find someone to answer questions or help us with our plans. We felt like the only thing we had to think about was what we were enjoying in the moment - the details were in the hands of the very capable staff at the Inn. We took advantage of one of their weekend packages which included breakfasts and a dinner. Attention to every detail, a superb chef and some of the best wait-staff I've seen, made the meals delightful. What added to each meal was the impeccable presentation at the table by a knowledgeable waiter that described each course in a way that set the mood for a truly enjoyable dining experience. I know how this is supposed to be done – they actually did it. Special thanks to Sarah who made our stay most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wonderful-Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Just got back from a two night stay at the Charles Inn. We were looking forward to a nice post Christmas getaway. The Charles Inn is very lovely, and our room was exceptionally clean as was the large bathroom (spotless). There is a nice lounge with a bar and the service in that area was exceptionally good. Unfortunately other service was sadly lacking. The one dinner we had at the Inn was overpriced and average tasting. The Inn offers breakfast included with the room price. That turns out to be a small tray with one mini croissant, one mini chocolate croissant, some cheese and two slices of smoked salmon - for the two of us to share. There is also a small choice of cold cereal. We opted to add $7.50 each and go for a nice hot breakfast....big mistake. The toast was hard, dry and cold (no butter offered) - when I nicely asked the waitress if she'd substitute another croissant (and I mean these are 'mini') she said 'oh no'...there 'are no extras' - and (I quote)" the chef only prepares 'just enough for the guests" really? I thought we were guests! There was only one other couple in the dining room at the time so I hardly think they were low on croissants. My husband and I were in disbelief and I guess, having heard our rather upset tone, a few minutes later, the waitress came rushing back with two mini cold croissants - 'the chef found these'. Okay...mistakes are made. Now it's check out time. Our bill was $500 over what we should have paid...oops...another error. Searching through the records, the front desk did indeed discover all the mistakes, did indeed apologize and I paid the correct amount (this took some 20 minutes). Given the sour taste of these errors, one would think that perhaps the management would have subtracted the morning's breakfast (fiasco that it was). But apologies were the only thing offered. Fair enough....but we won't be back. The Charles Inn is beautiful but over priced for the service and meals offered. We had fabulous meals in town (at Bistro 61 in particular) with very friendly, considerate, and caring service. Too bad since the Charles Inn is a very elegant, old-world kind of place.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dray_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.4 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,771 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,233 reviews
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
955 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,564 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: 209 Queen Street | Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $137 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment that you walk through the door, you will know that this 1832 Inn is truly a special place. This luxurious Manor House offers 4-diamond accommodation and dining. Many of the rooms have wood burning or gas fireplaces; glass enclosed rain-head showers or jet-air tubs and private verandahs to enjoy the view of the golf course, main street or Lake Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing