We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect romantic getaway!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Charles Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect romantic getaway!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2009

This place was made for romance!!!
The Charles Inn is beautiful both inside and out with gardens, a golf course and a beautifully decorated lounge and dining room. We had the pleasure of spending an evening in the very elegant Newark room. It is on the second floor a has a balcony that overlooks the main street, a canopy bed, and a fireplace (yes, a REAL working fireplace with a log to burn). Our favorite part of the room was the rain shower and the heated bathroom floors! It was so great to walk on warm floors on a fall morning.

Upon arrival we were greeted by delicious home made cookies on our pillows. There were even terry cloth robes for us to lounge in and the room is conveniently equipped with wine glasses and a corkscrew- which made our evening in front of the fireplace even more relaxing and enjoyable after a day at the wine trail.

We also spent hours on our terrace sipping tea and taking in the sights of Main Street and the colorful leaves of fall.

The restaurant at the Charles Inn is superb and we really enjoyed our meals there. They also have an amazing selection of wines that you can even buy by the glass. Even if you don't stay the night, a visit to the restaurant is a must for anyone in the area!!!!!!

The location of this place couldn’t be better and we enjoyed many leisurely strolls through the town. We were within a minutes walk to the areas shopping, theaters and bars.

We also appreciated the Inn efforts to be “green” by placing recycling bins in the rooms and using a water cooler rather than supplying water plastic bottles.
This is the perfect place to stay for couples!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    67
    32
    13
    10
See reviews for
18
273
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

Finding the Charles Inn was like finding love all over again. That warm feeling of kindness and ‘attention to detail’ embraces you the moment your eyes gaze at this historic building and through the entrance door. We happened upon this Inn as last minute travelers with no pre-conceived notion of expectations. The Inns’ staff is professional, yet compassionate and has a sixth sense of guests needs. The list of amenities is extensive, there is nothing for want. The Inn, the people that work, is far beyond any other and absolutely impossible to fault. This is the Inn of your dreams.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InnSpyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

My mum and I stayed at The Charles Inn for 1 night and dined in their fantastic restaurant. We arrived very early but they already had our room ready with the plush sofa already made up for me with lovely bedding and a duvet. They brought up some chocolate home baked cookies for us as well which was a welcome treat.

The Charles Inn is an old Victorian Inn and very charming but also modern and furnished to a very high standard. The Poppy room has a communal screened veranda just outside the room but my mother and I seemed to be the only guests taking tea outside and it was beautifully overlooking the gardens toward the lake.

We had dinner in their atmospheric dining room and the waiter could not do enough for us. Truly amazing staff in both the restaurant and the hotel! The food was of a high standard and we were very pleased with the whole experience.

We went back to our room and lit the fire after dinner, which had already been prepared. We had a lovely rest of the evening in our cosy room watching our large screen television .

All in all a positive and memorable experience and I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The-Trip-Never-Ends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

Stayed here for two nights in early Sept as part of our honeymoon. From arrival to departure the wonderful staff ensured we had the best hotel experience of our trip!
We stayed in the Safari Room which was very well appointed and comfortable, the soaking bath and super comfy bed were especially nice! We were at the top of the Inn and the room felt very private. The continental breakfast was delicious and very filling. We had dinner one night in the restaurant which was amazing from start to finish. A special mention to Gavin who helped us choose a delicious local wine! We ate out the second night but returned to the Charles for desert and a glass of ice-wine!
This Hotel is very beautiful, full of character and the atmosphere is so relaxing. Although we were a lot younger than the rest of the guests we never felt out of place.
Every staff member we encountered went out of their way to be friendly and helpful to us. When I needed an item from the pharmacy Gail stopped by one on her way to work and picked it up for me (we did not have a car). We received delicious homemade cookies and a special honeymoon treat of chocolates on arrival. It's the extra little touches that make you feel you're a guest at a friends home rather than a customer of a Hotel. I cannot say enough good things about the Charles Inn, the only downside is that as I live in Ireland it may be a while before I get to return!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gill30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

My husband and I just returned from spending a night at the Charles Inn this weekend - for our 1st wedding anniversary. It was a special occasion for us and our stay at the Charles Inn was perfect! We stayed in the Library Room - with a cozy canopy bed, very comfortable sheets, a romantic fireplace and very enjoyable rain-style shower and air jet tub for two. There was a personalized note on the bed congratulating us on our anniversary and extra cookies (what a nice touch!). The room was immaculately clean and cozy, couldn't have asked for more. We dined in their restaurant in the evening - from the first bite of the dinner roll to the last of the dessert everything was literally perfect . . . the server added to the ambiance, was very friendly, explained what was on the plate and had a great wine recommendation. We lingered in the restaurant for 3 hours just enjoying even though the service was very fast and all the courses came at exactly the perfect time - we savored every moment. Breakfast was delicious as well - they have a hot breakfast menu but it's really unnecessary as their buffet offering is so good. Overall - what a great way to celebrate our first year of marriage - thank you Charles Inn!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chickenwrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
154 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

We stayed here for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The setting is beautiful - white Inn with upper and lower verandah and beautiful garden. The Inn is located on the main street in NOTL, Queen St., at the far end, but it is only a couple of blocks before you get to all the shops and restaurants. It is next to a golf course so it is very peaceful and quiet sitting out on the verandah any time. It is a great location. The Inn is a charming, elegant place with 12 guest rooms and the Charles Inn Dining Room. We stayed in the Poppy Room at the top of the stairs. It was lovely. The room had high ceilings, a wonderfully comfortable down covered bed, a fireplace, sitting area, desk, small closet, and large bathroom. There was a tv in the armoire and free wi-fi. I loved that they had a recycling bin in the bathroom. There were freshly made cookies by the chef waiting for us on arrival. The verandah was right outside our door and we enjoyed a glass of wine out there late in the evening. We listened to the night sounds - very romantic. Breakfast was on the verandah on the first floor. The food was in the lounge and for a continental breakfast, very good. They had fresh cut up fruit, pain chocolat, croissants, bagels, cream cheese, lox, granola and other cereals, orange juice and tea or coffee. The tea and coffee were brought to your table with a couple of small jars of jam and marmalade and some crystallized brown sugar. The coffee was in a french press and very good. Our server was polite and attentive. He was a local resident and willing to answer questions about the town. We also dined in the restaurant one of the evenings. What a delight! Our server, Jasmine, was friendly but professional and very attentive. She gave an explanation of each course she served from the amuse bouche to the dessert. The food was excellent. We spent almost two hours there and enjoyed every minute. The room itself was romantic and elegant. As the night came upon us the candlelabra and lights went up. I am so glad we found this Inn and were able to spend some time there. It made our trip to NOTL very enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plan2gosoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

After looking through their website and their assortment of themed rooms, I came away with a certain (high) expectation of The Charles Inn. I have to admit, I was not disappointed. After parking our car (free parking at back), we were greeted at the front desk by Amy (who seems to be there 24/7) who promptly asked if we needed a hand with our luggage, showed us around the different areas of the hotel, and then proceeded to personally bring us up to our room.

We stayed at the charming Onigahara Room, where we were greeted with a personalized note and complimentary cookies (prepared by the hotel's chef) on our bed. The room is a bit small, but not unexpected (you can tell based on the photos on their website). The room was clean, nicely made up and beautifully decorated. The large window in the bathroom lets in a lot of natural light and gives you an airy, comfortable feeling (which is important for bathrooms). The rest of the hotel was decorated with equal elegance and charm. As the hotel is renovated from an older building, the floor and stairs can be a bit squeaky, which isn't a problem most of the time except for when you're sleeping and early risers are walking about at 7 in the morning.

We dined in the hotel's four diamond french contemporary restaurant. The four-diamond ranking is definitely well deserved. The dining room is elegant and romantic with great ambience. Our severs were courteous, knowledgeable, informative, and extremely personable. The food itself was ABSOLUTELY amazing. Same goes for the desserts where the Crème Brûlée was properly made and the Chocolate Tart just melts in your mouth. Everything was just perfect.

A continental buffet breakfast is included with the price of the room. As soon as you walk into the buffet area, a server comes and asks if you'd like coffee or tea. If you say coffee, you get your own 3-cup french press coffee pot. If you say tea, you get your very own tea pot filled with tea. Nice! As for breakfast selection, there's the usual granola, yogurt, and selection of cereals, all nicely laid out in a beautiful spread. There were also fresh croissants, chocolate croisssants, fruit salad, cheeses, and smoked salmon. All nicely made and super delicious.

All in all, the Charles Inn is everything I expected and more. With its luxurious decor and beautiful locale, the hotel is perfect for a romantic get-away or to just get away from the daily grind. Since it backs into a golf course, is situated about 10 minute walk away from the main stretch of Niagara-On-The-Lake, a few minute drive from all the local vineyards, and a short distance away from Niagara Falls, I think the Charles Inn serves as a nice, luxurious "base camp" for getting away from it all - to just slow down, chill out, and just enjoy life.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Augusta888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Property: The Charles Hotel
Address: 209 Queen Street | Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment that you walk through the door, you will know that this 1832 Inn is truly a special place. This luxurious Manor House offers 4-diamond accommodation and dining. Many of the rooms have wood burning or gas fireplaces; glass enclosed rain-head showers or jet-air tubs and private verandahs to enjoy the view of the golf course, main street or Lake Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing