We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charles Inn ... truly a magical place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Charles Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora,Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charles Inn ... truly a magical place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2008

My husband and I decided to spend 4 wonderful days at the Charles Inn from October 26 to October 29th. The moment we walk into the Inn we were greeted with a warm welcome from the front desk and some of the dinning staff. From that moment, we knew that this place was something special.

Our room was spectacular, we enjoyed our stay in the Safari Room. When we put down our bags, I notice the welcome card along with two delicious cookies made from the Chef on site. That lay on top of our pillows. Unfortunately my husband ate them both, but he did save me alittle piece to enjoy.

The dinning staff were fantastic. We enjoyed the many laughs and conversations with the morning and dinner staff. Each one truly represented the Charles Inn and the beauty it possess. If you have the pleasure of enjoying a breakfast meal at the Inn, please try the Eggs Benedict. The dinner menu was mouth watering, it was so difficult having to decided from a very tasty menu. But our hats go off to the Chef and kitchen staff for the fantastic presentation of their food. Not to mention the wonderful feeling our taste buds had when we were enjoying our meals.

Along with it's beautiful atmosphere, the Charles Inn is truly a gem. The moment you walk into the Inn you are taken back in time. No Inn or Hotel could possible offer 12 different beautiful rooms to stay in, but the Charles Inn can.

It was truly a pleasure having stayed a such a wonderful place. No Inn or Hotel could hold a candle to the staff at the Charles Inn. It was even a pleasure meeting Gale and having a few giggles at the front desk with her. It goes to show how wonderful of a owner she is, because her staff reflect that positive and wonderful energy.

We were truly sad to leave the Inn, and have made a promise that we will return on our next anniversary to enjoy another wonderful few days at the Charles Inn.

I would highly recommend the Charles Inn, they offer many packages for couples to enjoy. From wine tastings to horse carriage rides in the heart of Niagara on the Lake.

  • Liked — the overall experience
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DMT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    67
    32
    13
    10
See reviews for
18
273
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2008

Situated at the far end of town, we expected our stay at the Charles to be peaceful and quiet. In addition, our room over looked a golf course, so how could we expect anything else but a relaxing tranquil evening -- listening to classical music, reading our books and watching the fire crackle in our in-room fireplace? Little were we to know that at 5 pm, the dinner crowd begins to arrive and the dining room was directly under our room. The clanking and clattering and chatting and chopping when on until about 11 pm. This is not to say that our stay wasn't pleasant, it was. The room was wonderfully appointed, we had cocktails on our deck and enjoyed a stole through the gardens. We were even close enough to walk into town, saving us the hassle of finding parking downtown. The only glitch is the dining noise, so our only word of caution is if you plan to stay at the Charles, avoid the suites over the dining room.

  • Liked — Fireplace, huge balcony, nice decor, walkable to downtown tourist area
  • Disliked — Dining noise making its way into suite
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank twoguyswhotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas, ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

My wife and I had the great pleasure of staying at the Charles Inn this past weekend to celebrate our first wedding anniversry.

We stayed in the "Verandah Room". I have not seen any of the other rooms (outside of the pictures provided on the website), but it was amazing. Even the pictures on the website cannot do it justice. ~10 foot celings, double doors that open onto a private screened verandah, luxurious linens, and a quaint sitting area make this a perfect weekend getaway.

To say that the food at the Charles Inn's dining room is "extrordinary" is certainly an understatement. It is a true culinary experience. The chef was providing an "amuse bouche" while you waited for your first course - an unsolicited (and free) morsel of food. A beautifully creamy chilled asparagus soup dressed with some creme fraiche. A great conversation piece while waiting for the food! It goes without saying that the food was absolutely top-notch.

The service at the Charles Inn is what ties all of its excellent pieces together and makes a truly memorable experience. Every interaction that we had with a staff member was absolutely positive and left us with a great feeling. Our server at dinner was amazing and really transformed it from a "meal" to an "experience". The front desk staff are fantastic - never to be seen without a smile on their faces, and more than willing to help you with any request you might have. They arranged everything for us on our weekend - a carriage ride around Niagara-on-the-Lake (it was our first time in NOTL, what a beautiful town!), and spa treatments at a local spa with which they are affiliated (the spa was fantastic as well!)

The Charles Inn seems to know that it's the little things that make a great experience. Something as simple as putting a card in the room before check-in congratulating us on our first anniversary really made for a great stay.

This review may sound overly "gushy", but we only checked out yesterday and we're already trying to think of an excuse to go back.

  • Liked — Customer Service
  • Disliked — Wish we could stay longer!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cousiad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2008

My wife and I stayed at The Charles Inn for our 21st Anniversary. We were put up in the "Safari Room", which should have been the first tip off that things would be unusual. Firstly, the room should be renamed Mt. Kilimanjaro for the number of stairs and slope to get up to the room! Secondly, the attempt to turn the attic into an African-themed loft getaway, fails miserably. At $370/night, one expects something more than a rattan furnished "frat-pad" with low ceiling clearance and lousy plumbing. While the bed was comfortable, the room itself is somewhat drab. The washroom was a bad design concept of Ikea meets Conrad's Heart of Darkness. A nice soaker tub is spoiled by inconsistent plumbing. The shower (if you can call it that) is a converted closet, with a sloped ceiling and snake-like shower head which sprays water alternating between ice cold and scalding. The sloped ceilings both resulted in my wife and I banging our heads in the middle of the night. Needless to say, the room was a disappointment and not worth the money we paid.

However, the service at the Charles Inn is exemplary. The staff are friendly and helpful. The meals were delicious. (My wife and I received complimentary glasses of sparkling wine during our anniversary dinner.)The continental breakfast had smoked salmon and freshly baked croissants. The Inn itself has charm, with a wrap around veranda and balcony, and a nicely manicured garden.

In all, over-priced accommodation.

  • Liked — Great restaurant, friendly service.
  • Disliked — Over-priced, lodging not up to par.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TorontoRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2008

We booked a one night stay with dinner (wish it had been two...or more!) wonderful peaceful stay - friendly welcoming staff and dinner was close to the quality of our local Michelin starred restaurant.

Our own verandah added a special touch. Free wi-fi also useful
Close (but not too close) the centre - a few minutes walk - if that.

Will return and stay longer as soon as we can!

  • Liked — Food and excellent local wine selection
  • Disliked — On busy road (at times) - but this did not have a negative effect
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Scene-set
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2008

We stayed for two nights at the Charles Inn and couldn't be more pleased with the experience. I contacted the hotel in advance to ask for one of the special packages along with a few add-ons. Gail, the manager, corresponded directly with me and with very little detail provided exactly the experience we were seeking. A wine tour the first day in set the tone, taking us to some truly remarkable little local wineries where we received personalized attention from the sommelier. A dinner at the Charles Inn restaurant was luxurious and our waiter, Shawn, perfectly attentive and attuned to our needs and preferences. The continental breakfast was better than average and the hot breakfast for a moderate extra charge was truly superlative. We also took advantage of the Divine Wine spa treatment at the Shaw Spa and were practically floating at the end of that experience. Our final add-on was a request for tickets to one of the shows at the Shaw Festival. Despite this being a fairly last-minute request, the Charles Inn managed to secure tickets for us that were so close to the stage we were practically part of the cast! Everything was within walking distance so once we arrived and parked our car we never had to use it again until it was unfortunately time to depart. We stayed in the Poppy Room which was large, comfortable and had not only a working wood fireplace but also its own individual temperature control for the room and a private terrace outside where we dined al fresco one evening. The bathroom was large, luxurious, had a rainshower shower head and heated floor. The bed was to die for and provided the best night's sleep I can recall in a very long time. I would like to thank Gail and the entire staff of the Charles Inn for an extraordinarily pleasant vacation experience. I have a strong suspicion we will be back!

  • Liked — The attentiveness and knowledge of the staff.
  • Disliked — I can't think of a thing I didn't enjoy.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Chantal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2008

We stayed at the Charles Inn for a few days this past week to celebrate our first anniversary. We booked a two night "Candlelight and Romance" package and stayed in the Safari Loft. We were thoroughly impressed. Not only was there a little welcome note with fresh baked cookies from the chef in our room but there was also a personal "Happy 1st Anniversary" note with chocolates on our bed when we arrived. It was such a nice touch! Our package included dinner in the dining room and the food was unbelievable! The wait staff was great too. Our package included continental breakfast both mornings which we found to be enough for us and we had no need to order anything extra. The staff looked after booking a couples massage for us at their sister property's spa "The Shaw Spa" and we really enjoyed this as well. My favorite features of our room would have to be the bathtub and the extremely comfortable bed! Our room, being in the attic of the home, was also very quiet and private. All in all we really loved our stay at the Charles Inn. Another thing that I have to mention is that the staff, namely Gail, went above and beyond after our stay. Once I unpacked at home the day after we checked out I realized that I had left behind a nightgown that had been a wedding gift. I phoned the Inn and they could not find it in the room but told me they would call their linen service and track it down for me in case it was mixed in with the linens. Gail phoned me back right away with good news and has arranged for the item to be mailed to me. Great Inn - Great Staff!

  • Liked — Food, Room, Service/Staff, Little Extras
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ananas29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Property: The Charles Hotel
Address: 209 Queen Street | Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment that you walk through the door, you will know that this 1832 Inn is truly a special place. This luxurious Manor House offers 4-diamond accommodation and dining. Many of the rooms have wood burning or gas fireplaces; glass enclosed rain-head showers or jet-air tubs and private verandahs to enjoy the view of the golf course, main street or Lake Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing