We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, excellent meals, courteous and helpful staff”
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Charles Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable, excellent meals, courteous and helpful staff”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We just finished an anniversary weekend at the Charles Inn. We stayed in the Safari room, which was very comfortable and clean. The ceilings are low but it wasn't a problem (we're not tall--under six feet). The only minor drawback was that the gas fireplace had an automatic blower that was somewhat loud. The food was fresh and well-prepared. We got the continental breakfast both mornings (outstanding yogurt, granola, salmon, ham, croissant, egg) which was delicious. The waiter at dinner one night was abrupt and seemed rushed, but otherwise the staff were great. We'll stay there again.

Room Tip: The Safari room has low ceilings and an awkward entry with a steep staircase, but on the plus side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    69
    33
    15
    10
See reviews for
21
280
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffielduk
Level Contributor
238 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Niagara on the Lake is a charming small town 10 or so miles from Niagara Falls. The contrast is amazing. Whereas Niagara Falls is the brashest form of commercialisation Niagara on the Lake maintains its charm and makes for a very pleasant and relaxing long weekend. The Charles Hotel is convenient and is everything their website suggests. The building is old and characterful, it makes a pleasant change from a regular modern North American hotel. Our room was comfortable and the bathroom modern and clean, not withstanding the difficulties of providing modern accommodation in an old building. All the staff went to some trouble to make us welcome and I can recommend a stay here. The restaurant is good.

Room Tip: Check the hotel website
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indefatigable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We just returned from 5 nights/6days at Charles Inn. Everything was far better than we expected, the Inn is quaint, but nicely decorated, the staff is very attentive, the location is superior, close enough to everything, but far enough away from the noise and "tourists" (2 blocks). All the staff does their very best to exceed your requests. The continental breakfast is a refreshing change from the chain hotels, & the breakfast area is a nice way to begin your day.( Loved the french press coffee!!) We visited quite a few wineries in the area, Pellar Estates was the most dissappointing, slow service and overpriced wine. Dinner at Charles Inn (on the patio) is very reasonable and quite tasty! My husband & I were celebrating our anniversary (28 yrs) and we are both so pleased with The Charles!! We plan to return as soon as our schedule allows.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Magnolia Room, not huge, but nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKSanduskyOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My new wife and I stayed at the Charles Inn for a few days to unwind after our wedding. It was just what we wanted. Quiet, comfy and cozy. We had the Safari Room which is fantastic, but can be awkward if you're a little tall. There is a lot of 'character' in the room you can bump your head on if you've enjoyed too much Niagara wine ;). The staff are unbelievably friendly and service is top notch, as good as any 5 star hotel. The food is simply amazing. We've eaten there before, and the meals are always memorable, in a good way.

The Charles Inn is the perfect place for a quiet getaway in NOTL.We've done the B&B thing in NOTL before. But the Charles Inn is much better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank equipe0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We've stayed at the Charles Inn many times over the years. This time we were disappointed in how the owners have allowed this pretty property to deteriorate. The walkway up to the hotel is crumbling, the lovely screened in porch off the daisy room was filthy and paint is peeling/worn on floors and walls. The dining room is still very good and service at breakfast was very attentive. A little TLC will go a long way and for the price they charge, necessary!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MVFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay; guest feedback is an invaluable tool for us in our quest to provide the ideal guest experience. We have shared your comments with our housekeeping team and I can assure you that the verandahs are now always included in our daily housekeeping schedule. We are aware that our back walkway was showing signs of wear and I am pleased to advise that a new walkway was scheduled to be installed in early November, when we have fewer guests to inconvenience.

Thank you for your repeat patronage, the loyalty of our returning guests means a great deal to us. I look forward to an opportunity to show you our improvements when you next visit the Charles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were in town for a two night stay. The inn is really cute and is in a great location - is right on Queen Street which is the main road through NOTL. It is a short walk to restaurants, stores, bars, and Shaw Festival. The staff is excellent and very friendly!

However, the rooms need a thorough cleaning and fresh coat of paint. The corners of the bathrooms are dirty, there are spider webs on the mantle of our fireplace and lamp in the room. Also, we even saw two spiders in our shower on consecutive days. Our room was on the second floor and when going up at night, there are spiders and moths all over the corners of the ceiling. I understand that the time of year warrants bugs, however, there has to be a better way to keep these critters out of the inn.

Continental breakfast (amazing yogurt with granola and fruit, croissant, ham, salmon, cheese) is included in the stay which is nice, but it is a sit down and they bring the food to you. This can take a really long time, so if you're looking for a quick bite to eat this isn't for you. Also, there is an option to get hot food instead and that will cost $7.50.

Overall, this was a decent stay, but for the price, I would have expected a more cleanly experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cindyruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The rooms have an old style charm to them. Stayed in the Newark room twice and love the private balcony. The beds are very comfortable, washrooms clean and modern too. The staff is extemely friendly from the front desk to the servers in the restaurant. I would recommend this to anyone and will be back again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chefsimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.7 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
919 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
461 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,456 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Property: The Charles Hotel
Address: 209 Queen Street | Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment that you walk through the door, you will know that this 1832 Inn is truly a special place. This luxurious Manor House offers 4-diamond accommodation and dining. Many of the rooms have wood burning or gas fireplaces; glass enclosed rain-head showers or jet-air tubs and private verandahs to enjoy the view of the golf course, main street or Lake Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing