We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About the best coffee I have ever had!”
Review of Balzac's

Balzac's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
Monroe Township, NJ
Level Contributor
120 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“About the best coffee I have ever had!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Open early and great coffee with at least three brews to choose from. Skip the Starbucks around the corner and give this place a try. You will go back!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank markweitzel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    74
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arcadia, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Coffee. Go Here. Now.”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

So what if the coffee girls aren't obsequious and fawning? They are real people, not smiley retail zombies. Their job is to make good coffee and they do. Good Coffee. Go Here. Now.

Helpful?
Thank Gus_Stiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Staff”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Coffee is not so good found coffee grounds in mine. In my opinion the atmosphere appears to be sloppy it looks as though it was converted but not professionally done up especially for this type of town.

Staff is not pleasant and very rude. Much rather prefer Tim Hortons or star bucks where the atmosphere is much much warmer..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have been to many of the other locations, I do find it below average but above average for the location. So it just above a tim hortons and your better off going to StarBucks.

It tries hard but really not a happy crew working there. Need a coffee and its closest, then good enough otherwise if its not a 911 coffee issue, go to star bucks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexmac131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great coffee and wonderful customer service!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We tried the cafe Canadien made with maple syrup; it was a really good choice. This charming little place has a great variety of beverages and treats. The place is spotless and offers a selection of fun mugs, postcards and posters available to purchase, as well as fresh roasted coffee beans. Truthfully, we rarely stop for coffee, but we needed Canadian coins for the parking meter since American credit cards and cash were not accepted in the lot, and the very nice staff at Balzac's gave us the change we needed with a smile. The variety of beverages and the kind staff will be the reason we come back here the next time we visit Niagara on the Lake.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jando24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balzac's also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Balzac's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing