We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes”
Review of Treadwell

Treadwell
Reserve with OpenTable
Treadwell is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Victoria St
Description: Since opening in May 2006, Treadwell has become one of Canada's most critically acclaimed restaurants. Located in the heart of Niagara on the Lake, Treadwell's "Farm-to-Table" philosophy allows Chef-Owner Stephen Treadwell to showcase the very best of seasonal produce from Niagara and Southwestern Ontario. The wine list, created by Sommelier-Owner James Treadwell, is often regarded as Canada's finest for Ontario wines. Please check our Special Events page for a variety of unique events held at the restaurant.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Yes”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

What a pleasure. We went for lunch. Order the scallops with pork belly whether your like scallops or not. Some of the best scallops I have ever had. Outrageously tasty. The Fish and Chips and the mackerel were also fantastic. Ask for wine recommendations. As I was walking out I saw the bolognese which I shied away from thinking it would be boring order. I almost sat back down to order it. Very gentle food.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank djopm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,045
    268
    91
    44
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lindsay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best restaurant for a foodie!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Sat at the chef's table. I had the short ribs and a salad. My salad and dressing prepared individually. I loved that all the sauces were prepared on site. The slightly sweet hoisin ribs on a bed of pureed potatoes and some veggies were perfectly complimented by the tart sauteed rapini. I will drive the 3hrs. to eat here again!!! Great service, also.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank r0se65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“a small jewel of a restaurant in NOTL”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

four of us enjoyed lunch here on a blustery winter day just after Christmas. We arrived without a reservation and staff were very accommodating. at first we weren't going to order too much since we had enjoyed a bountiful breakfast at our B&B earlier that day. However, after reading the menu and listening to the specials, we all ordered an amazing selection of items. They are particularly adept at seafood and the mussels were superb. I ordered the mackerel which was extremely well done. another person in our group ordered the lobster club house which was delicious AND filling. all in all it was a terrific way to end our mini holiday in NOTL. When we are back in warmer weather, we will certainly make a return visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CWiebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very nice...”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Small place. A table for two was not available when we arrived, so they offered us the Counter. It was actually nice watching the Chefs prepare the dishes. Their attention to detail was nice to observe.
We both had the Soup of the Day--Mushroom soup with their Rosemary French Fries on the side. Nice little lunch. Both were delicious. Our Server was friendly, professional and helpful. (Inv. #4150) The decor, simple with a bit of elegance.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, MA
Level 6 Contributor
533 reviews
346 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Excellent Service & Delicious Food”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We fortunately had reservations for lunch and we were able to "snag" a table on the patio. The service was excellent and the food equally so. We shared a dish featuring local prosciutto. My wife had a dish of mackerel and I had a sandwich featuring marinated vegetables. For the quality of the food and service, the price was reasonable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikeb1Falmouth_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Treadwell also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Treadwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing