We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy & Contemporary Pub”
Review of The Garrison House

The Garrison House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a casual gastro tavern that focuses on local food, beer and wine. As we are casual,we accept all our guests as they come to our door, no reservations required.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Cozy & Contemporary Pub”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Garrison House is a lovely addition to the NOTL community. We have returned several times for lunch/dinner and enjoyed their home cooking style. Daily soups are always worth a try. Must try the Bag O Tavern Chips served with curry ketcup, best fries ever! Always on the search for a good homemade burger and we found that the organic turkey burger as well as the Garrison Burger come close..melt in your mouth goodness. The roast free range chicken dinner brings back childhood memories..good comfort food. Make sure to end with their Milk Chocolate Tart..delightful!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saluticheers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    139
    38
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
421 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“This is a Pub that serves Food Not a Restaurant”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Overated. The food and the service are average and the noise level at dinner is very high. The seats are very close to one another. We would give this place a miss and would not return, there are many other outstanding restaurants in this area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank birtleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
225 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A fresh new upscale pub”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have eaten lunch and dinner here several times since it has opened. The food preparation and presentation is a notch above your normal pub and you pay a little bit more for it. All of the dishes we have eaten have been very good. Don't expect your typical American sized portions but all of our meals have be ample in size.

Favourites are the lamb Shepard's pie, the curry and the hangar steak.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colonel_Butler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Comfort food kicked up a notch”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Garrison House offers all your favorite comfort food with a fine dining flair. After several visits we have been impressed with the food, service and overall feel of this new restaurant. A little pricier than other pubs in town but the quality of the food and service warrants it. Go and enjoy one of Niagaras finest chefs in an affordable casual setting. Can't wait to have the steak frit again!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NotlerRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Small pub atmosphere with Great food and Service”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Come for the unique beers (try the special 1812 brew),
Stay for the local inspired gourmet/comfort food (creative and fresh),
and Return like family; every chance you get!
With the charm of old wood beams and the sleek pub atmosphere, locals just love to share this N.O.T.L. neighbourhood special!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mombd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garrison House also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to The Garrison House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing